Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Cornell University Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a nice town to live in, albeit slightly expensive for the middle of nowhere(in 66 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, work environment and location in NY Fingerlakes region(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "No downsides; winters are cold in Ithaca(in 131 reviews)

  • "It can be a bit too cold during winters(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great institution, great treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    I've only worked as a student worker, but the institution is very benevolent and caring about its employees, from what I've seen in my research. The ILR School's pressure I think makes a significant impact.

    Cons

    Like any large institution, especially one with many interests other than profit, the bureaucracy is huge and hard to break through. It takes patience to get through it all and get things done.

    Cornell University2013-07-08
  2. "Working as a TA at Cornell University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    I feels good to help students.

    Cons

    The time each week is a little bit long.

    Cornell University2019-11-19
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues and excellent research support

    Cons

    None come to mind. It is an awesome place to work.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Cornell University2019-11-16
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Dean in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team, valued, good balance

    Cons

    No Cons for Cornell Iniversity!

    Cornell University2019-11-13
  5. "Fun but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a TA at Cornell is a lot of fun since you get to help students learn material better, and it's genuinely interesting to get to know how people conceptualize course material differently than you do. It's also a good way to make connections within the computer science major.

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, but there lots of non-monetary benefits to being a TA, so this isn't that big an issue.

    Cornell University2019-11-21
  6. "Great workplace@"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ugrad Advisor in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, hours, culture, pay, inclusion.

    Cons

    Ithaca is a small town and it gets very cold in the winter.

    Cornell University2019-11-04
  7. "Teaching Post-Doc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Temporary Lecturer 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, work environment and location in NY Fingerlakes region

    Cons

    Mine is a Limited Term Appointment; long, cold winters

    Cornell University2019-11-03
  8. "Great environment and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people, good location, great nature

    Cons

    Small city, not much opportunity for professional development

    Cornell University2019-11-02
  9. "Amazing family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff who become like family, great personal growth opportunities in leadership, facilitation, education, and team building.

    Cons

    Ironically, based out of a basement with no windows. They deserve better!!

    Cornell University2019-11-01
  10. "Nice community & work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fitness Monitor 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, fun community to be apart of

    Cons

    Weather is not that great

    Cornell University2019-10-30
Found 1249 reviews