Cornell University Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a charming town (as long as you don't need the stimulation of a big city(in 68 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and people(in 59 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salary compared to cost of living in Ithaca is low(in 139 reviews)

  • "No downsides; winters are cold in Ithaca(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great institution, great treatment"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    I've only worked as a student worker, but the institution is very benevolent and caring about its employees, from what I've seen in my research. The ILR School's pressure I think makes a significant impact.

    Cons

    Like any large institution, especially one with many interests other than profit, the bureaucracy is huge and hard to break through. It takes patience to get through it all and get things done.

    Cornell University2013-07-08
  2. "Great place to feel supported"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Doctoral Resident in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive space that aided in my personal and professional development.

    Cons

    Parking can be very difficult and in the winter forget about it. You may as well get dropped off!

    Cornell University2020-05-21
  3. "good place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, close to restaurants

    Cons

    parking is expensive/not widely available

    Cornell University2020-05-15
  4. "good experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Good experience, good people, good food

    Cons

    No cons at all in my opinion

    Cornell University2020-05-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Survey Research Institute a great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at Cornell's Survey Research Institute (SRI) in early 2019. I began as a temporary research assistant, working 10-15 hours a week. I thought it would be a dead-end job, but I ended up enjoying the people I work with and the fast pace office call center setting, and was able to apply for a promotion. I'm now working at SRI fulltime and love to interact with the fulltime staff as well as the temporary research assistants. I think it's a really fun and young group of people, which can be rare in a workplace. Management keeps employees interacting with each other with kick-off meetings before calling projects and a celebration when those projects are done. Management has also been proactive during COVID-19 to keep staff employed.

    Cons

    Cold calling people on the phone is a difficult job and requires a lot of persistence. It's not the right job for everybody, and the learning curve with regards to the equipment functions and protocols to memorize is steep.

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2020-05-08
  6. "Something for everyone"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Supportive intellectual community and great resources

    Cons

    Isolated, lack of non-academic opportunities

    Cornell University2020-05-11
  7. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Athlete Tutor in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Scheduled own hours, got paid well, rewarding work

    Cons

    no cons, it was a great job

    Cornell University2020-05-12
  8. "Survey Research Institute"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commitment to employee development and improvement. Interesting projects. Friendly, supportive, and engaged staff. Access to Cornell resources. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Fast pace and high expectations. Requirement to speak to difficult respondents (cold calling). Little opportunity for advancement.

    Cornell University2020-05-08
  9. "Good benefits, beautiful campus"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, beautiful campus, accommodating work environment

    Cons

    Bureaucracy was a bit too much even for a university

    Cornell University2020-05-22
  10. "Yep"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    big operation, well-meaning people, pockets of hope

    Cons

    not sure if they actually know their goals, seems like a big money-making operation rather than a school.

    Cornell University2020-05-20
Found 1332 reviews