Coles Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Coles Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Coles CEO John Durkan (no image)
John Durkan
331 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and excellent conditions(in 149 reviews)

  • "Great management team and flexible hours(in 81 reviews)

Cons
  • "They will implement changes without discussing with team members first to get opinions(in 60 reviews)

  • "Long hours, repetitive work etc(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Varied hours, each day different

    Cons

    Some managers lack people skills

    Coles2020-01-22
  2. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Benalla
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working environment for you to work I

    Cons

    Weekend and late nights hard on familys

    Advice to Management

    A

    Coles2020-01-20
  3. "easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Member in Warrawong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    so easy, no cleaning when your up on service (wiping down your register) it’s easy to learn, customers are usually always nice. my managers are so kind, especially when i’ve had to go home sick sometimes, their so understanding. i obviously don’t take advantage of that. in school holidays i work 31 hrs / week and school weeks between 10-26 hr / week. i get pay and a half after 6pm and on saturdays and double pay sunday’s. managers are so good with your availability and i usually do get asked to work on days of, which i usually decided to go to and work. but if i need time of, i ask, and i get time off.

    Show More

    Cons

    you are left to be very independent but that’s ok once you know what you are doing, you can always ask for help. i really want to learn self serve though. i’ve only been there for 5 months so i’ll give it some time, but i love what i do and it’s the best job i’ve had so far. staff discount is 5% at coles, coles express, liquorland, office works, target and kmart. 10% during xmas period and u sometimes get deals. i wish it was a bit more, and that i didn’t have to pay a lot more excess for work uniforms, but i get 3 for free per year, but i don’t know if i wanna pay $40 for a jacket.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    keep being fair to us & maybe extend training periods, because i wish i had a bit longer training (especially because my first few shifts were busy shifts and i was overwhelmed)

    Coles2020-01-20
  4. "butcher meat manager perth wa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time

    Pros

    having stability within the workforce

    Cons

    more hours for same pay

    Advice to Management

    na

    Coles2020-01-18
  5. "Coles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delicatessen Assistant 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Good for uni studies at

    Cons

    No growth. Bad managers. No

    Coles2020-01-19
  6. "Not a bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    The jobs are pretty easy. The customers can be quite rude but if you're lucky enough to have a good management team/ other team members to back you up then they're not too bad.

    Cons

    Because I worked at the checkouts, I also had to work at self check-outs. There are a lot of thefts that occur and management places pressure on the team member to check everyones' bags etc.

    Coles2020-01-15
  7. "A good place if you can work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coles Services Team Member in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of hours available as compared to the other departments.

    Cons

    Working outdoors during summers, reduction of penalties

    Coles2020-01-15
  8. "Coles Team Member Carlingford Court"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    fun easy convenient pays well

    Cons

    there actually are no cons

    Coles2020-01-13
  9. "Good company. Secure future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programming in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Secure future with plenty of shifts

    Cons

    Less salary. Too much hard work

    Advice to Management

    Team members who works hard should be appreciated

    Coles2020-01-27
  10. "Good store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fresh Produce Team Member in Revesby
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team and great enthusiasm towards work

    Cons

    biggest con is going home

    Coles2020-01-12
Found 1163 reviews