Coast Capital Savings Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Coast Capital Savings Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Coast Capital Savings CEO Calvin MacInnis
Calvin MacInnis
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never thought such positive work environment would even exist(in 13 reviews)

  • "I have met nothing but great people in my few years here(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "This has instilled fear into team members and discouraged them from sharing their actual honest feedback on surveys(in 4 reviews)

  • "upper management is focusing more on sales(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Coast Capital Savings Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings part-time

    Pros

    Amazing corporate culture, encourages personal and professional growth and easy to transfer between branches.

    Cons

    Communication between managers and employees.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-11-06
  2. "Pretty good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time

    Pros

    I really like the company culture there. Everyone was very inclusive and friendly.

    Cons

    The management in my department was pretty poor as they were introducing lots of changes. They could have handled that better

    Coast Capital Savings2019-10-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stay far away - doesn’t want to pay for talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings

    Pros

    None really. Only been here for a short period of time

    Cons

    My suggestion to everyone who is considering to apply for Coast under their EPMO structure. Stay far away! They refuse to pay for talent, constantly try to lowball individuals with offers far below market data point. I really don’t understand what they’re trying to achieve as a company since they’re trying to grow.

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2019-10-12
  4. "Pretty good culture, pretty relaxed, decent pay compared to other FIs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher pay compared to other FIs. Relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Becoming more and more like a big bank all the time. Systems are old.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-30
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, very helpful. Goof resources to learn.

    Cons

    Slow movement upwards. Less chances of growth.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-26
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lending Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great camaraderie with the branch staff, amazing people to work with. Team building opportunities were fantastic. Benefits are good! Hours are good. Opportunities for self improvement for taking courses are amazing!

    Cons

    compensation for hard work was only paid out if the beach reached their totals.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-14

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback. We really are proud of the amazing people we have to work alongside here at Coast and always love hearing when that is reflected in the camaraderie of a branch or a team. We’re also glad to hear that you have been able to take advantage of some of our learning and development opportunities!

    Continue reading
  7. "Too much micro managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Services 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefit package

    Cons

    Long hours...extremely busy office. Micro managing.

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-14
  8. "Good experience and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - MSR/Teller 
    Recommends

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people who are motivated and willing to help! The culture is close and tight knit. Great place to work.

    Cons

    There is a certain amount of stress that comes with working in a financial institution (knowing regulations, being very detail oriented, etc.) but that’s not Coast Specific and they provide good training for it

    Continue reading
    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-27

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback! Past and present employees like yourselves are to thank for our amazing culture. There is definitely a lot to learn in this constantly changing industry and we are always looking for ways to better support our employees. We hope to continue to deliver an exceptional member and employee experience with continued feedback. Thank you for being a part of our journey and best of luck to you with your future!

    Continue reading
  9. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    everyone is a professional. we cater to our customers like our own family

    Cons

    not much to share. the environment is professional and family oriented

    Coast Capital Savings2019-07-25

    Coast Capital Savings Response

    August 26, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience working. At Coast we are committed to delivering a culture of care in our day to day practices - for both our members and employees.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coast Capital Savings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary within the financial services industry

    Cons

    I worked at Coast Capital for 2 years in total, I worked full time and part time. Management is extremely unprofessional, and nosy. I would ask for a half day off with a months notice, and they would decline my request. Then both my managers would leave early or not even show up to work on the day I had requested off. I had to go to a doctors appointment, and was asked in front of the whole team why I had to go to the doctors, what my blood test was for, and why I had to go to an appointment so last minute. Coast Capital management made it very clear that they did not care about my privacy at all, and did not care about putting me in an uncomfortable position in front of the whole branch team. Managers were firing individuals with no cause, which put everyone in the branch on edge. The employee culture was consistently going down steadily, and nothing was being done to change it whatsoever. If you expressed you wanted a change in position/department you would not be given opportunities, YET punished for wanting to leave your current role. I ended up resigning due to this toxic work environment, and my manager then proceeded to try and argue with me via email about why I was leaving. I did not reply to these emails, as I wanted to leave on a "good note". The HR department has no confidentiality, and people being terminated or let go was being spread throughout the company. Everyone knew when an individual was being "transferred" out of the company, or when someone was written up. It needs to be understood that people's privacy should be held to the utmost importance. Coast Capital does not take this seriously at all, and needs to be held accountable for the emotional turmoil they have pressed upon their current and past employees.

    Coast Capital Savings2019-08-21
Found 136 reviews