Clevertech "remote work" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Clevertech Employee Reviews about "remote work"

Updated 30 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Clevertech Founder Kuty Shalev (no image)
Kuty Shalev
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "this is not a con of CT itself, but of the remote work style(in 18 reviews)

  • "No benefits usual for non-remote companies, like medical insurance (for USA), gym, cafeteria or corporate parties(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "remote work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Freelance agency style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Full Stack Developer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - remote work - quality projects with interesting tech - great for people accustomed to freelancing: no need to seek out clients - competent and experienced folks on staff if you can find them on slack

    Cons

    - teams work in silos - basically working as temps, little connection to overall organization - need to set up a business for the business to business relationship - you won't feel like an employee; more like you're working for an agency

    Advice to Management

    - check in with staff individually, let them know they're valued - coordinate performance evaluations; provide feedback

    Clevertech2019-10-30
  2. "Best company I've ever worked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Voronezh, Voronezhskaya Oblast'
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fully remote, a great balance of traveling/ working/ spending time with family/ seeing how your children grow ; Up-to-date tech stack; Great opportunities for personal growth; Good compensation; Open-minded management; Paid vacation; Direct communications with clients, good senior devs around, no over-management;

    Cons

    There are no cons if you love, and you are ready for remote work.

    Advice to Management

    Continue all your great efforts to make devs life more comfortable, attractive and well paid 🙂

    Clevertech2019-08-07
  3. "If you are ready to create value through your actions, then that's the right place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Of course, being physically detached from your workspace and the unmatched freedom of working remotely is an amazing opportunity to look for. But actually, the most satisfying aspect of being part of the team is the trust we build together through our actions. Being in a place where evaluation is based on value-added and not timesheets or some vague assumptions, is exceptional. - Work-remotely, i.e. from anywhere you like - Evaluation based on contribution and value, not timesheets - Self-development and growth are encouraged and supported - Feeling safe to openly communicate with management - Warm community of curious professionals

    Show More

    Cons

    Working remotely has its own challenges, especially on the soft-skills layer of communication and trust. If you want to move the needle, it's not enough to bring tech expertise. You should be curious and willing to improve your non-tech-skills too if you want to exceed the expectations and succeed in any remote-based environment.

    Advice to Management

    It's going good! Keep up the ongoing investments in PeopleOps, personal-development, and transparency.

    Clevertech2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Great Company, Top Talent, Fantastic Remote-First Employer, Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked remotely for over 15 years. Clevertech does this style of work better than any company I've worked with in the past. Clevertech is a great place to work for many reasons: Remote! (if that is your thing) Management trusts their employees. Management is engaged with the employees Management invests in their employees. Management is genuinely interested in their employees' happiness. Very competitive salaries. Good benefits package. Fairly flexible schedule ... within reason. You are part of a high-talent team. Interesting projects. Work with top talent from around the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    Remote work is not for everybody. Generally, you need to be a self-starter, good with remote communication tools, fairly organized, and occasionally available to work odd hours due to the worldwide team structure. These aren't really what I consider cons, but you need to make sure working remotely fits your MO.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Your recent initiatives to help your workforce improve their knowledge and home-office work environment are fantastic.

    Clevertech2019-01-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "My experience @ Clevertech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Blockchain Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clevertech for less than a year

    Pros

    Clevertech is a complete remote company, consider this while reading my review. - Freedom. Even as a remote company, I believe the freedom in CT is high. They trust the teams to deliver on the projects. - Flexibility. As expected of a company that embraces a remote work style, you can pretty much define your working hours as long as the project is progressing well and the team acknowledges it. - Community. There's a community in CT, which is nice because one can always find help. It's great to see discussions about a topic happening in a Slack channel. I'd say this is one of the strong points about CT. - Possibility to get a hold of management. It's nice to be able to talk with management, even if briefly. Sometimes you have questions that only the leaders can give a proper answer, sometimes you just want some attention and a little pat in the head. I appreciate that in a company. - Payments are sacred. Payments are treated with utmost priority, which is nice. After setting the account, which might not be so straightforward, every month payments will happen without hassle. - Internal opportunities. I learned some devops, a lot of back end, some front end and I was a Blockchain Engineer! Being able to grow surely is nice. - Inside tooling and documentation is doing well.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Little social interaction. this is not a con of CT itself, but of the remote work style. As a remote, one got to compensate the lack of social interaction in some way. Else, it's not socially and psychologically healthy over the course of time. There are some initiatives to approach this inherent difficulty, such as the coffee buddies group, where one can attend to coffee chats with other people (I enjoyed those), but I believe CT could put more effort into that and acknowledge the issue openly. - Payment and benefits are low when compared to the market. I wish CT would make room for higher benefits/payments. - Too much freedom can be a curse if not used wisely. As they say: "Remote is not for everyone". - The communication inside the company is somewhat lacking. I felt no direction at times, had to reach out to management when there was no real need, a better information flow could've done it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My suggestions for improvement: - Have someone, ideally an executive, check on the project status often, I'd say daily. It motivates us to see that management cares a lot about the projects. - Invest in passing more value to the developers. The pay rates are low when compared to the market. I wish I had asked about this to management when I was still at CT. - Don't break teams mid project. It costs a lot of effort and energy to get into an ongoing project, that burdens the developers too much. - Invest in crafting better communication and information flow inside the company. Specially from management to teams and vice versa.

    Show More
    Clevertech2019-01-25
  6. Helpful (17)

    "If you want to get pay what you are not worth, this is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Javascript Engineer in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work remote and that's about it

    Cons

    A lot of work, a lot of stress, bad benefits, bad pay. Their developers aren't starts liek they think they are.

    Clevertech2019-02-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Remote Dream Work, basically"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PHP Developer in Saint Petersburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Never ever saw any ridiculous control over work time like in TopTal. Amount of trust Clevertech gives us is surprising. There's only two restrictions: you have to be available for calls in your work time, and you have to deliver results before deadline. How you structure your actual work is up to you. 100% remote work: zero commute time, work from wherever you want, whenever you want. Paycheck at least comparable to first world countries but no matter where you actually live. And in USD, not in local currency! Payments are exactly at the payday, saw only one delayed payment in almost 7 years of being here. Package with swag every Christmas. Corporate training sessions on actual tech and management topics. Recent addition is annual separate budget for "personal improvement" whatever you want it to be. Like a paycheck increase but only for specific expenses.

    Show More

    Cons

    Contract is corp-to-corp, so you need to handle your taxes and pension yourself. No benefits usual for non-remote companies, like medical insurance (for USA), gym, cafeteria or corporate parties. It's not like there's absolutely zero benefits, though. 100% remote work: you have to find your own workstation and workplace to do your job. Also you must be online in your work hours, and you have to have your own higher-tier Internet connection overall. You have very little chance to actually meet and talk with your colleagues in person.

    Show More
    Clevertech2018-12-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Freedom. Growth. Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom: Clevertech allows you to plan your life around your personal needs and priorities and not the other way around. Being able to take your job wherever life might take you is something most can only dream about. Growth: Every day we create solutions for exciting complex projects and I am consistently learning new things and seeing growth in my career. Culture: they do remote right. Everyone is set up with the tools they need to be successful remotely. We may not be in the same office, but we have face time with our teammates everyday, fun dedicated channels to keep us connected and dedicated team members to make sure our culture is top of the line.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think you would only find cons if you can't be motivated to work hard at home. Clevertech sets you up for success - it's just up to us to be able to work remotely and be self-motivated at times.

    Clevertech2018-12-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Unique sense of team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work from wherever you want, with the freedom to work how you want. - Incredibly responsive management team (I've never seen a team move so quickly on feedback from staff). - Not the lonely island remote work vibe, every person on the team actually wants to be a part of a team and puts in the effort to create that environment with enthusiasm. - Management actually values your opinions and ideas - Plenty of opportunity for professional AND personal growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    - If you struggle with time management, it may not be the place for you. The company puts a lot of trust in those they hire, therefore, you need to be someone that can manage their responsibilities without constant oversight.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive momentum! This is a thoroughly enjoyable team to be a part of and I'm excited for the future.

    Clevertech2018-10-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "One of the best places to work for -- really"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * You get challenged everyday to be better and produce better code, so you never get bored! * You work with amazing people -- really! The people I work with is among the best I've ever worked in my life, the quality of the produced code and the care about the code is simply amazing * The projects are important and you feel like you are being valued and making impact on big things, that's a huge plus for me * Remote work -- is always a plus to work from whenever you want in the world

    Show More

    Cons

    * There's not much interaction between the employees because we all work remotely, but the company is doing it's best to improve it, we have "coffee buddies", we have plenty of channels to chat about many different subjects, we have newsletters, company-wide events, get togethers, etc. The company is really doing it's best to create a very participative remote environment, all considered.

    Advice to Management

    * Managing your own workspace can get expensive, so it would be really great if we had some sort of monthly (or even yearly) budget to invest in our own work environment * Keep doing an amazing work and pushing forward culture improvements as you have been doing the past months/years, as someone who has been around for more than 3 years, I noticed all the improvements and I encourage the management to continue improving it! I feel proud to be part of Clevertech :)

    Show More
    Clevertech2018-10-08
Found 32 reviews