City of Seattle Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

City of Seattle Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
City of Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan (no image)
Jenny Durkan
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay would be better in private sector (duh(in 7 reviews)

  • "Bureaucracy & unions, negative employees(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Legislative Aide 

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time

    Pros

    The City is a great place to work. They have great benefits and support employees.

    Cons

    Working as a legislative aide is very dependent on who your boss. I've loved my boss, but the role changes a lot based on who you work for.

    City of Seattle2019-11-26
  2. "City Cop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule (sometimes) and great benefits/retirement. Will be out of here at 53 with about 120k a year in pension

    Cons

    Over-management of political appointees, short staffed, long hours of overtime to make over 150k a year.

    City of Seattle2019-11-21
  3. "It's fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Planning & Development Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    stable, low stress, convenient, friendly

    Cons

    no advancement, lack of direction, conflicting

    City of Seattle2019-12-04
  4. "Develop Leadership Skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Opportunities for Growth, Ability for one to have an impact

    Cons

    Political turnover, interdepartmental conflict, resistance to change and transformation

    Advice to Management

    Operate as a Single entity and stop allowing middle managment to focus on building empires and measure the success of your employees on their ability to improve customer experience with City Services and their ability to streamline processes

    City of Seattle2019-11-21
  5. "Sr. Grants and Contracts Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great co-workers. Great work and life balance. People who worked in my department were public servants and wanted to do good work.

    Cons

    Very political place. Hard to get things done when you have to work within the confinement of politics and sometimes you felt the positive impact was minimal. The growth opportunities felt out of reach.

    City of Seattle2019-10-28
  6. "Sr. Budget Analyst (Seattle City Light)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Budget Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros: Benefits including pension and health insurance, culture, meaningful work, public service, opportunities for growth and career advancement.

    Cons

    Salary may not be as competitive as at large tech firms (i.e. Amazon), though with all the benefits and pension plan, it could pay more if you're looking for a longer term career with the City.

    City of Seattle2019-10-21
  7. "Assistant City Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant City Attorney in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and flexible schedule to allow for traffic condition

    Cons

    Changing support staff and some internal policies

    City of Seattle2019-10-19
  8. "Great pay and benefits. Horrible red tape!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Advisor 

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits and pay are awesome -Great opportunities for advancement -The majority of the people are great -Public Service

    Cons

    -Responding/reacting to City Council and Mayor -Red tape

    City of Seattle2019-09-05
  9. "Department of Education and Early Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at DEEL in a temporary position, and the impression I got was of a generally friendly, collaborative work environment, particularly compared to other City departments I've worked in. It is also considerably more diverse and skews younger than other departments, which I think plays into a more open work culture.

    Cons

    Typical bureaucratic issues like resource constraints, and dealing with growing pains of a new department that is working to restructure itself.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    City of Seattle2019-09-06
  10. "Organization operates like a dinosaur. Culture is very toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable Pay Health Care benefits are okay

    Cons

    Bad Culture Toxic Environment Racial implicit Bias Dated Practices

    Advice to Management

    Focus on trying to improve the environment by listening to employees. Try to solve the implicit biases and racial tensions. Stop hiring people bases upon favors but more so by qualifications and innovative ideas. Accept its time to integrate new innovation to help us do better at our jobs. Also market rate pay that's comparable to other companies.

    City of Seattle2019-10-09
Found 301 reviews