Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1962 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
675 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salaries, better opportunity for bankers to make their sales goals(in 103 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of growth opportunities and upper management micromanages(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Citizens is fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Financial Advisor in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Look, banking is a tough, competitive industry. And I work for the wealth management division. But I work for the greatest firm, for the greatest boss, with the greatest people.

    Cons

    Bank employee do their best. Let's make sure we acknowledge that.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-10
  2. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Community involvement. Citizens truly cares about its employees.Senior leadership are great role model to living our credo. Citizens always looking to improve our systems to make it easier for our colleagues & customers.

    Cons

    I wish the benefits will be a little more affordable& get daycare reimbursement will be a huge attractive benefit to moms.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-10
  3. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Banker in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally a pretty positive environment, decent time off, solid training, overall good company

    Cons

    If you have sales goals, even though a holistic environment is preached, it's solely about the numbers

    Citizens Bank2019-05-31
  4. "Lots of good training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great training with Reimbursement for expenses

    Cons

    Unreal quotas, no bathroom in the in store branches, must use the retail store bathroom. yuck.

    Advice to Management

    Set better expectations and if someone leaves you should give them their commision for that quarter.

    Citizens Bank2019-05-28
  5. "Great people but focus on sales rather than customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Banker in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good training and benefits.

    Cons

    Emphasis on cold-calling and the Managers weren't always the best.

    Advice to Management

    Ask your Branch Managers to focus on getting to know their customers rather than spending most of the day on endless conference calls.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A toxic culture, wasting an amazing opportunity to be great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great retail presence, and a staff in the field, that I genuinely believe wants to do the right thing and always do the BEST thing for the customers.

    Cons

    Leadership and technology are archaic at best and unfortunately, that trickles down through the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Please make the investment in diversifying leadership. I understand that technological changes require large investments and time to implement, but you can do something more timely with leadership. I understand the concept of "Citizens Listens", but those of us in the field, feel more like the attitude from leadership is "be quiet and listen to us"

    Citizens Bank2019-06-06
  7. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Personal Banker 

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      Stressful environment and goals you have to achieve

      Citizens Bank2019-05-24

      Citizens Bank Response

      June 10, 2019Sr Project Analyst

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your hard work with us. Keep up the great work.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Number of job openings says it all"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      PTO, bank holidays, 401k Helping customers financially Big initiative for volunteering, community involvement

      Cons

      Upper management and company not authentic Big shift in culture over past couple years Feels more like Jim Jones cult Rapidly changing policies as to not look like Wells Fargo but an incentive plan and extreme pressure to make daily sales goals that don’t align. Very little opportunity for growth for manager Extremely high turnover in store branches leaving managers to consistently work upwards of 50-55 hours a week...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Do what you preach. Be good to your colleagues

      Citizens Bank2019-06-05
    • "Good place to work, but you make your own luck"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canton, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Decent opportunities for growth, but don’t expect your manager to help. Generally great environment

      Cons

      Pay scale needs significant adjusting Too much emphasis on shareholder rather than employee Managers stunt growth of good employees to keep them Too much micromanagement and chest pounding , and as a result very little actually gets accomplished Organizational structure is too rigid

      Advice to Management

      Start caring more about employees and they will reward you. Pay commensurate with skill and locale. Encourage or even mandate cross department shadow days/weeks/months. There is a lot of talent being underutilized.

      Citizens Bank2019-06-03
    • "Average Company and Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

        Pros

        Average Company and Experience

        Cons

        Nothing terrible, nothing great

        Citizens Bank2019-05-30
      Found 1962 reviews