Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
748 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 109 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "So happy with my choice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Senior Business Support Manager II in East Providence Center, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    After a long and arduous job search, I received offers from three companies in one week. Choosing Citizens was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my career. Solid growth opportunity, strong leadership, kindhearted colleagues who live the credo, great benefits... just a few of the positives. If you’re talented and hungry, come work here!

    Cons

    Internal technology has some catching up to do.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-01-14
  2. "Survey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Building great customer service

    Cons

    Under paid Need more tellers less bankers

    Citizens Bank2020-01-13
  3. "Corporate always feels a bit out of touch, but management a bit closer to home always seems to care about the individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There's a solid pay structure in place

    Cons

    The ability to make bonus is iffy when you're in a lower population area.

    Citizens Bank2020-01-07

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 17, 2020Project Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a response. Happy to hear you appreciate your managers and their styles — it makes a great work environment! Keep up the amazing work in 2020.

    Continue reading
  4. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork, easy to know your purpose and goals

    Cons

    Large company so isn't understanding of some case-by-case situations with customers

    Citizens Bank2020-01-07

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 17, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a response. An old but still profound adage: teamwork makes the dream work! We're sad to see you go, but hope you can take what you learned and apply it with the same passion at your next opportunity. Good luck!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good opportunities with this company.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Citizens Bank2020-01-01

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 8, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for your review! We're happy you experienced opportunities during your time with us. We know you're #MadeReady for 2020 — best of luck!

    Continue reading
  6. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Analyst Specialist in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great bank to work for that is very involved in the communities where it operates. Good upper management. Great fellow employees. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Outdated technology and computer equipment.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-12-30

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 8, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. Great to hear you enjoy working at Citizens, and that you're feeling involved in the community in Glen Allen! Know that we're also actively taking steps to update our legacy systems to modernize our work environment and simplify our processes even more. We hope you had a terrific New Year!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Culture is Toxic in Enterprise Data Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Johnston, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart, supportive colleagues who still value humility, have integrity and do what’s right.

    Cons

    New management arrived and rules by fear. They want the “yes man” mentality. If you disagree, then they’ll stop talking to you or you’ll get “laid off”. People are afraid to speak and are dropping like flies. Those who are around are not motivated and are actively looking for another job. People leave the dept and are not replaced (existing staff have to pick up the slack). Zero work/life balance. CYA attitude.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-01-11

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 17, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us wasn’t what you hoped it to be. We take all concerns seriously and would like to better understand your perspective. Please consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced so that we can look into and address as appropriate.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Incentives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Weymouth, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company has really good Incentives if you make their goals

    Cons

    Base salary is lower than some competitors

    Citizens Bank2019-12-24

    Citizens Bank Response

    December 31, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for your review for 5+ years with us! We hope your time with us has you made ready for the next leg of your career journey. Know that Citizens is committed to pay equity, meaning we continually evaluate our practices to ensure our compensation and benefits are fair and competitive for all our colleagues. We wish you the best of luck in your next opportunity, and happy holidays!

    Continue reading
  9. "Solid company with opportunity to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They promote within when appropriate. They care about their colleagues and upper management is very visible and ready to help. They have great promotions and create an exciting environment to work in.

    Cons

    Way too focused on checking accounts. They are important but they make you feel like nothing matters if you don't hit your checking goal. They push it so much that most new accounts turnover quickly because they are not quality. Also, Instores should close just like the rest of the traditional branches and consolidate them..way too many branches, its inifficient. The general public does not need 7 day in person banking. It's almost 2020.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-12-23

    Citizens Bank Response

    December 31, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a review, and for your over 8 years with us! We appreciate the thoughtfulness of your feedback. Know that a ton of research goes into the setting of sales-related goals, like checking accounts. The majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. Additionally, we're actively preparing for the future of banking and adapting to customers' rapidly changing needs through our Branch Network Transformation initiative. Keep up the amazing work going into 2020 — we hope you had a lovely time during the holidays!

    Continue reading
  10. "Depend on who you working with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my colleague.

    Cons

    Sale goals is difficult to make.

    Citizens Bank2019-12-19

    Citizens Bank Response

    December 23, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your response. So happy to hear that you love working with your colleagues — it makes coming to work that much better! Additionally, a lot of research goes into the setting of sales goals and the majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. We hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

    Continue reading
Found 2112 reviews