Chubb Senior Programmer Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Chubb Senior Programmer Analyst Reviews

Updated 28 Sep 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Chubb Chairman and CEO  Evan Greenberg
Evan Greenberg
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Programmer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Warren, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company provides respectable salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of professional mentoring, training and long term career opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Your front-line employees are your most valuable assets.

    Chubb2017-09-28
  2. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Abundant opportunities,

    Cons

    Location is not central to the city.

    Chubb2017-02-02
  3. "Just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not a crazy intense environment. I mean, it is Insurance... Most co-workers are team players.

    Cons

    Not my cup of tea... I mean it is insurance.

    Chubb2016-04-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "It's ok if you have a high tolerance for horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Warren, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are decent. Coworkers are generally excellent.

    Cons

    IT management "leads" via buzzwords. The CIO was incapable of telling us what his vision actually meant. They whole lot is pathetic. There are reorgs every 2 years and each brings with it a whole new set of nonsense. In the past ~6 years we've used 3 different time trackers, 3 different PTO databases, and 3 different management structures. Each AVP has 20+ developers reporting to them making promotions all but impossible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. Seriously, Go do something else. You are so inept it's not even funny.

    Chubb2014-07-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "15 years. Started as programmer trainee. Now Senior Programmer Analyst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very high-quality IT department, but going downhill fast.

    Cons

    Poor jjob security, declining morale, no room for advancement, frequent layoffs, highly political, moving from a one-of-a-kind superior insurance company to generic property and casualty insurer. Though it's stock does okay, it is a company suffering from internal decline, poor morale and horrible upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Get a heart. You have 3 groups of stake holders. Customers, shareholders, and employees. You seem to think you have only one, and it is none of the above. A self-promoting of senior management team.

    Chubb2013-07-31
  6. "traditional insurance company, changing in fast pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Warren, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good traditions; good inter-department relations; good compensation in average, company is trying to stay in a first row, one of a hundred best places to work just few years ago

    Cons

    jobs not stable any more; limited opportunities to grow; stopped to support learning process; restructuring is no sense, - it turned to cutting positions...

    Chubb2013-06-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Backstabbing Cretins - you have been warned!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Warren, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health Benefits are good, salary competitive and I honestly can't remember what else was good about this company, I am sure there are more, I guess the cons have overridden the pros.

    Cons

    I worked in Claims IT and was assured by others who came into Claims IT from other departments and who eventually left the group, that the rest of the company is not like this. When I left I had to pull all of the knives out of my back. I advise anyone to stay away from this group. Chubb as a whole I hear is a good company to work for, but I wasn't sorry when they layed me off, the grass is greener on the other side, trust me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to foster an atmosphere where in order to get ahead that you don't have to stab your co-worker in the back.

    Chubb2012-10-25
  8. "Good Life Balance, not good for software geeks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Programmer Analyst in Warren, NJ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb

    Pros

    Good Life Balance Training/education is available Benefits - over 20 vacation days You can get by without too much stress.

    Cons

    There are limited opportunities for interesting IT work. Training in IT Technical areas is limited. Because there is not a lot of turn over, you have to be there 3-5 years before you get any interesting projects based on seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Business decisions should be made by business people. Technical IT decisions should be made by technical IT people. The Business - IT relationship should be a partnership rather than a hierarchy.

    Chubb2010-05-07
  9. "Formerly a great place to work, still a good place, but headed the wrong way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Programmer Analyst in Warren, NJ
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb

    Pros

    In good financial shape. Good support from lower management. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Little regard from upper management for employee welfare. A lot of recent reductions in employee benefits and flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    Reward employee loyalty. Use layoffs as last resort. Give better financial recognition. Realize that your employees are as important to your success as the current quarter's financials

    Chubb2008-12-27
Found 9 reviews