Children's Hospital Los Angeles Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Children's Hospital Los Angeles Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Children's Hospital Los Angeles President and CEO Paul S. Viviano
Paul S. Viviano
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "CHLA was a wonderfully supportive place to work(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good working environment with co-workers(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Almost entire IT leadership team has been laid off or left after current CIO returned to CHLA in October(in 12 reviews)

  • "there are no cons at this moment(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bio Statistician 

    I worked at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and affordable to live near

    Cons

    Felt micromanaged in my office

    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-02-18
  2. "The Ideal Workplace to Learn, Grow, and Heal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Partner 

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The teamwork, collaboration, and culture of this hospital is something that is so positive, it can immediately be felt to anyone who steps foot in the hospital. People work in hospitals all over LA county who may pay higher salaries, but then they come to CHLA and don't leave which says a lot about the culture.

    Cons

    CHLA is constantly changing and adapting to improve itself, so keeping up with all of the changes can prove to be difficult at times.

    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-02-13
  3. "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CHLA was a wonderfully supportive place to work. Everyone, from housekeeping to administration, fosters an environment of equality and teamwork. As a RN I always felt supported in any of my endeavors, questions, or concerns. Any issues were immediately addressed. Families were encouraged to be as actively involved in their child's care as possible, and were invited daily on rounds with the physicians, RNs, pharmacists, and other specialty teams. It truly was a fantastic place to work!

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive as it should be, hopefully administration will work on this!

    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-01-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Other in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The cafeteria Is delicious, clean facility, colors make you happy. Decent pay great benefits

    Cons

    Management could use some work not enough training time. Too much gossip

    Continue reading
    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-01-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Children's hospital los Angeles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, hospital, and benefits

    Cons

    Management is always out to fire you

    Continue reading
    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-02-06
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The department I work for has grown a lot since I started so that means more work which I felt I was being recognized

    Cons

    Pay could be higher but might have to ask for raises

    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-01-17
  7. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hospital and good environment

    Cons

    Very small yearly raises (50 cents at most) and the raise didn’t go up when minimum wage got increased in LA

    Continue reading
    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2020-01-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The Good, The Bad and The Ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Good: They're one of the best children's hospital in the west coast. The hospital's mission and vision. The children who comes to get treated by the best doctors and nurses. Good benefits but needs to improve (e.g, tuition reimbursement).

    Cons

    The Bad: Too much politics between top executives and divisions. There is a ridiculous severe high turn over (e.g., upper management) within the hospital. Only has seven holidays which is the lowest compared to similar hospitals in the country. Staff (e.g., Research) are not compensated based on the current market value but they still work because they love what they love do doing SCIENCE. The Ugly: The hospital has been sued copious times (e.g., by nurses, a psychiatrist) in the past 5-10 years. They lost a lot of money in those lawsuit.

    Continue reading
    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2019-12-18
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making a difference. Team approach. Great Hospitalists.

    Cons

    No cons. Keep it up.

    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2019-12-28
  10. "Gold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fellow 

    I have been working at Children's Hospital Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, love it

    Cons

    None That I can think of right now

    Continue reading
    Children's Hospital Los Angeles2019-12-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 275 reviews