Chanel Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Chanel Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Chanel CEO  Alain Wertheimer
Alain Wertheimer
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Projets / Cadre de travail / Proximit(in 27 reviews)

  • "ductions permanentes sur les produits parfums beaut(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "rimaires cdd stagiaires tout le monde y passe(in 14 reviews)

  • "Long hours and it can be too pretentious(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Dream Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chanel part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional environment, prestigious, refined, inspiring, fashion Great communication between management and employees. Great career opportunities

    Cons

    I could not think of any cons during my stay in this brand

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work ethics and quality service delivered to customers

    Chanel2013-02-23
  2. "Overall experience was good. Good benefits, good salary. You really have to be passionate and loyal to the brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and nice working enviroment

    Cons

    Very little room to progress.

    Chanel2013-06-23
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Chanel full-time

    Pros

    It is such a great company to work for.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the salary isn’t that great.

    Chanel2020-01-13
  4. "Best in the beauty hall..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great commission scheme + base salary - useful training days and materials offered - supportive management

    Cons

    - not allowed Saturday's off - not allowed to take holiday from Nov to Jan - sometimes unrealistic targets

    Chanel2020-01-12
  5. "Great comptant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Paris

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management involve in the journey if their employee

    Cons

    Hard to evolve if you are not at the HQ

    Chanel2019-12-24
  6. "CHANEL look after you!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have a great trainers that help you learn very quickly

    Cons

    Chanel is a lifestyle not just a job

    Advice to Management

    Always support your Supervisors as they are the bridge between FAs and the Management team.

    Chanel2019-12-19
  7. "Needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fashion Advisor 

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, loyal clients, nice discount

    Cons

    Horrible management. Constantly micro managed and being watched. Very competitive environment. Everyone talks bad about each other.

    Chanel2019-12-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Chaotic and under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chanel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Great perks Good people are staffed there

    Cons

    No one knows what they are doing. All management manages from a place of emotion which bleeds into the staff. Staff is undervalued monetarily. Full time staff is on public assistance while working at Chanel because the pay is so low. Several employees left because they were going to lose their homes if they stayed.

    Advice to Management

    Start over. New management, new staff. Connect with a cosmetoligy school so your staff can afford to be paid so minimally.

    Chanel2019-12-05
  9. "Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chanel full-time

    Pros

    Great brand, very qualified teams

    Cons

    Internal politics and low salary increases

    Chanel2019-11-23
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing brand with such heritage. Training is good, perks are great. Management very approachable and good work ethic. Commission structure is very rewarding.

    Cons

    There is no free allocation like some other brands.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, I love that all of my managers (area, regional) are so down to earth and understand what it's like to work on counter, the highs and lows.

    Chanel2019-11-20
Found 459 reviews