CenturyLink Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

CenturyLink Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
CenturyLink CEO Jeff Storey
Jeff Storey
389 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also there is not much room for growth UNLESS you are close friends with upper management(in 121 reviews)

  • "Falling flat on basic customer service(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Finance experience & well rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink

    Pros

    Lots of scope to learn & gain experience. Good systems, & systems migration work. Very international, working with many colleagues from different countries. Good bonuses.

    Cons

    Busy month ends, with extra hours required. Challenging managers who put some pressure on staff. Limited internal promotion possibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Was good experience, continue to try to get the balance right, between hard work & a content workforce.

    CenturyLink2019-10-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A diseased and toxic mess of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time

    Pros

    In my department at least, the work was varied, sometimes even cutting edge.

    Cons

    Staff are underpaid around 20 to 30% below the market value of their work. This in turn leads to needless churn of staff with irreplaceable experience. So when one leaves to join a real company, they inevitably recruit their colleagues, so I saw specialist teams gutted of 75% of their staff in a six week span. HR in particular openly abuses the staff. They lied, ignored complaints, forced pay cuts on staff and... denied staff their benefits by simply ignoring requests. I personally managed about 15% of all traffic on the planet, and was paid less than a municipal bus driver. Other delights I experienced included a corrupt and incompetent senior manager actively sabotaging my department, and putting $100m in annual revenue at risk, just so he could ingratiate himself with his new manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management are utterly oblivious and divorced from reality. They don't know who the company is, what it does or how it does it. And the result is thousands of innocent staff and customers being hurt. Management there is beyond salvaging.

    CenturyLink2019-11-09
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time

    Pros

    Nice and friendly work atmosphere. Well organized and great performing. A lot of inside job oportunities and room to grow.

    Cons

    Budget cuts could sometimes get in the way of traveling or training. Beurocracy sometimes took longer than expected and needed.

    Advice to Management

    Think fast, cut the paperwork to stay ahead of the competition. Look into taking more care of your high performers.

    CenturyLink2015-05-18
  4. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    take really good care of you

    Cons

    none so far, and I am still new

    CenturyLink2019-12-04
  5. "Centurylink"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Denver, CO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people and good environment

    Cons

    Not much that I can think

    CenturyLink2019-12-04
  6. "Great Team Environment, Poor Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, including paternity leave and immediate death benefits to spouse. I had a great team with an amazing manager.

    Cons

    Poor direction from upper management

    CenturyLink2019-12-04
  7. "Very Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAP ABAP Technical Consultant 

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance . Good Learning opportunity. Good Pay master.

    Cons

    No cons as such to mention.

    CenturyLink2019-12-02
  8. "Awesome company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Team Leader in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning opportunities Work Life balance Cafeteria is good Good culture

    Cons

    Nothing as of now I have to talk

    CenturyLink2019-12-02
  9. "Great place to work if you like to stay busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is a lot of opportunity to stay busy here, allowed to work without a lot of micro management.

    Cons

    Too much work to be done

    Advice to Management

    More staff to work more efficiently

    CenturyLink2019-12-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stable career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable company for long term careers

    Cons

    no real opportunities for advancement

    CenturyLink2019-11-25
Found 4029 reviews