Care UK Care Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Care UK Care Assistant Reviews

Updated 16 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
8 Ratings
  1. "My Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Care UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Supportive Team and Good Communication

    Cons

    Staff Room Needs to be Refurbished

    Care UK2019-12-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Employers don't care about their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Care Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with the disabled and elderly feels really rewarding.

    Cons

    Management do not care about their staff and seize employment without due cause.

    Advice to Management

    This is a company which provide a service of care, but there is too much internal stigma and staff need treated better.

    Care UK2019-11-18
  3. "Sherwood Grange Care Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant environment - you are allowed to eat with the residents at no cost.

    Cons

    Training not conclusive - seem to be all over the place !

    Advice to Management

    New applicants should be given more time per floor ie 2 weeks on ground floor before moving to either 1st or 2nd floor.

    Care UK2019-08-06
  4. "Working for care uk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant Bank in Thorrington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making peoples lives better. Helping people maintain there independence. To care and listen and be a friend to some people who have no one. Support from line manager and management. Work as a team.

    Cons

    No cons , just pros working for care uk

    Care UK2019-06-07
  5. "Care uk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training if you have little to no experience

    Cons

    Poor pay. Little motivation

    Advice to Management

    Value staff more

    Care UK2019-05-16
  6. "Not too good, I’m afraid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK part-time

    Pros

    The residents are the best part of the job

    Cons

    Pay below par, national minimum wage on 12 hours shift. No benefits whatsoever, no mileage, care Perks are some online vouchers that you can find anywhere!

    Advice to Management

    It’d be helpful if the managers would stick less notes on the doors and walls. I don’t need to be reminded that “the food bought by Care UK is for residents only”.

    Care UK2019-03-27
  7. "Very Happy!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with people who care about you and how you are feeling, they really look after you on your suite. I came here after a long time at my pervious job and I have never been happier. I love it here!

    Cons

    The shifts are long and sometimes hard.

    Care UK2019-03-06
  8. "Work at Care UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making a difference in elderly peoples lives. Working as a team. Some Unity amongst colleagues. The opportunities to do an Apprenticeship.

    Cons

    Shortage of staff. High staff overturn.

    Advice to Management

    Employ more valued staff with the right qualities. Provide more incentives for current staff. Increase Carers wages to reflect the work we do. Provide Long service awards for staff working less than 5 years e.g. for every year of service. Improve communication between Management and Carers. Often is the case that information is not passed down the chain of command.

    Care UK2019-03-06
  9. "Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Cobham, Surrey, South East England, England

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a exellent place to work every one is caring ppl are understandind and home manager has a good sense of humour

    Cons

    There can be long hours

    Advice to Management

    You may need to push yourself but if you show prospect it is better

    Care UK2018-09-20
  10. "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Care Assistant in Paddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Trainings to make you prepared for job.

    Cons

    None supportive management, very bullies, too much staff turned over, continuously staff shortage and no time to take breaks that putting too mach pressure on care staff making them to leave the job. If you raise an issue with management they tell you if you are not happy you can leave.

    Advice to Management

    Management to show empathy, listen to care staff and put themselves in carers shoes to realise how is to work 12 hours shifts standing up and doing a lot of moving and handling especially when you are short of staff and not even able to take breaks.

    Care UK2018-09-03
Found 21 reviews