Canadian Blood Services Reviews

Updated 16 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
35%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Blood Services CEO Graham D. Sher
Graham D. Sher
79 Ratings
  1. "Supply Chain Logistics"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and work-life balance

    Cons

    Not easy to climb the corporate ladder

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2019-01-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Territory Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Regina, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Even though the pay was far less than my typical earnings, I took the job because of the community focus, importance of blood donation to help save lives, working with local business leaders to advance the cause. Those elements made the work personally rewarding.

    Cons

    A stressful and overworked environment in the position I was in (Donor Relations), Generally speaking it was a cult of personality across the board. Much ado about employee engagement amounted to lip service only. Management was extremely poor and consistently played favorites, leading to good people leaving or getting their positions "eliminated." I came from professional sales and marketing and I was truly surprised from the beginning just how little objective decision making and good business practices were evident. I spoke up, I was honest and direct. That eventually led to someone who was far junior to me "winning" a competition for a position when a contraction of positions took place. It was a complete farce. I was out of favor. It may sound like sour grapes, but that is exactly what happened. But as it happens, that ended up being a stroke of luck for me for many reasons, least of all that I literally earn double what I was paid at CBS.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2019-01-17
  3. "Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, amazing values, we save lives!

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of at this time.

    Canadian Blood Services2018-12-13
  4. "Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Very transparent leadership.

    Cons

    There is no Cons working at Canadian Blood Services. We are always evaluating. Always seeing how we make make things better.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2018-11-24
  5. "Procurement"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services full-time

    Pros

    Culture and people and ability to grow

    Cons

    Politics, location, no development in employee

    Canadian Blood Services2018-11-03
  6. "In constant transition"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services full-time

    Pros

    Great cause, great people, interesting and challenging work.

    Cons

    Long distance managers based at headquarters

    Canadian Blood Services2018-10-24
  7. "Volunteer Coordinator"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services part-time

    Pros

    -meaningful work -volunteers and community get it

    Cons

    -leadership often communicates poorly -professional growth is rarely discussed

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2018-10-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services

    Pros

    Good benefits, pension, fufilling work

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, little room for growth

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2018-09-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A worthy cause but poor culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Blood Services full-time

    Pros

    Being able to help Canadians is very rewarding. The benefits including vacation time and sick leave are good.

    Cons

    The culture is very poor. Constant pressure to cut costs while taking on more and more projects. No prioritization of corporate goals, resources are stretched very thin. Little opportunity for advancement or development. Very heavy reliance on consultants.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2018-08-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "They take advantage of your good nature. Pretty toxic culture."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administration 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Blood Services

    Pros

    Enjoyed the job itself. Philanthropic work. Feel good at the end of the day by helping make the world a better place. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Toxic environment. Will take advantage of your willingness to advance the cause. There is a lot of bullying in the work place that goes unnoticed or is swept under the rug. Nothing seems to be done. HR is not helpful. You will be stressed all day at work. The corporation is very VERY top heavy. Keep cutting the workers, but now the upper echelon. If you work in the clinic, the pay is good. Anything else is undervalued and you would make so much more elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Blood Services2018-06-29
Found 154 reviews