Canada Drives Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Canada Drives Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Canada Drives Founder and Co-CEO Cody Green
Cody Green
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "FREE FOOD - Unlimited lunch/Breakfast(in 50 reviews)

  • "Canada Drives is a great place for young adults to get experience and grow(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours but trust me you make yourself do that(in 34 reviews)

  • "I have no negative feedback about my life at Canada Drives(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Brilliant Working Environment, But At A Price"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time

    Pros

    1) The young workforce would definitely be the company's strongest asset. Everyone has great fun and nobody takes themselves too seriously. 2) The free food helped me to save money, which was great. 3) The training period was very interesting and taught me a lot of valuable information in regard to credit scores, personal finance, etc.

    Cons

    1) From the get-go, I felt as if I was being initiated into some sort of weird, money worshipping cult, whereby the people of Canada were just pawns on a chess board, standing as the only obstacle between a 6 figure salary and I. However, I happen to be a very clued-in individual, and could see through all of the smoke and mirrors. While there is obviously a market for Canada Drives and they are a very profitable company, I'm also a very compassionate person. I found it impossible to see past the fact that I was playing a part in getting Canadians with terrible credit scores approved for large amounts of money, knowing that they were only digging themselves deeper and deeper into debt. 2) The manner in which they speak of people they're getting approved for loans is extremely derogatory. While I believe that the team managers were good people once, they have lost sight of what life's truly about. Your standard of life may improve as a result of having more disposable income, however your life, morals and the manner in which you treat others shouldn't depend on how many 0's there are in your bank balance. 3) The team managers refer to basic manners and respect for people as "passive language" and employees are told quite regularly to be as forceful as possible to customers when trying to sell their products. I found this behaviour quite shocking, as in the previous offices that I have worked in, this would be a major issue. 4) The company churn through employees like you wouldn't believe. Of the 14 people that started when I did, there were only 2 people left after 2 weeks. This should be the perfect indicator as to what's really going on in this company.

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2018-08-02
  2. "This is a first time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Canada, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Canada is a best place to work, this is opportunity of my family to find job in canada

    Cons

    Challenge, because first time, exciting

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-03-12
  3. "GREAT PLACE TO WORK!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen, downtown location, transit pass, culture, career opportunities and team building events.

    Cons

    Sometimes very long hours but it really is just a con of sales in general rather than this specific company.

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-03-10
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best things the best things about working here is the people. There is such a diverse group of people and everyone is super friendly and willing to help. They will also reward you well for working hard. I have been here 9 months and have worked in 3 different departments as my work and my attitude got me noticed. There is so many opportunities and departments that you can easily work your way up the company, or find something that fits you.

    Cons

    There is a lot expected of you, and it is sometimes a very demanding place to work, but if you are willing to put that work in then they will look after you.

    Canada Drives2020-02-27
  5. "Best place to work in the lower mainland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unreal people, lots of fun, great incentives for working hard.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons with working here.

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-02-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, but the company is unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative and Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits - massages, dental lunch coffee bus pass fun team events

    Cons

    When I was in the interview, they asked me if I was ok with the ethics of the company. At the time, I said yes. Three years later and I am still ashamed that I was a part of a company that preys on low-income, uneducated clients who have no other options to get money. If you join the CSR, sales or spring department, your goal is simple: try and deceive as many clients into signing up for a "credit building loan" that take money OUT of their account. These people applied for a loan, and without their knowledge, they are signed up for a program that puts them into more debt. This is a WARNING to really think about if the pros above are worth being involved in a predatory company that tricks people into signing up for a program that takes money out of their account without their knowledge.

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-03-07
  7. "Great Work Environment & Recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Canada Drives is a great place for young adults to get experience and grow. When I started at Canada Drives I had limited experience in sales but was willing to put in the hours and effort. In a very short period of time my hard work was recognized and I was rewarded with a promotion. It is incredibly rewarding to work for a company that rewards and appreciates hard work. More than that, financially you are in complete control of your salary; as a hardworking salesperson, what more could you want!

    Cons

    We spend long hours in the office, there is coffee but no snacks or food, that would be a nice bonus.

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-02-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Zero out of 10."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Advisor in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked the team I worked with.

    Cons

    vEverything! You are expected and encouraged to LIE . Management WILL lie to you. You are encouraged to withhold information from you clients in order to make a sale. You are encouraged to put IMMENSE amount of pressure on your clients. You will be required to call you clients up to 7 times a day, plus emails and texts for as long as it takes for them to become incredibly irate. Only then can you stop calling. You are expected to work for free, even as a finance assistant earning a minimal $13 an hour and having to do 10 hour days - NO commission despite having it promised in an interview. On to of that they have the audacity to pressure you to work MORE overtime AND sacrifice your Saturdays to work for FREE. The management are happy and comfortable to ridicule and call you out in front of the entire company but when you ask for help none is given. The pay is worse than when I was 13 years old stacking shelves in a supermarket after school. I saw cars where the underside of the carriage is connected by zip ties and they still try to sell these pieces of junk! You will be required to send pictures of vehicles to clients that the company does not even possess in its inventory, just to arouse interest in the client again. Which as part of your VSA and AMVIC licensing - is illegal, and also better know as "BAIT AND SWITCH". Typical type of scam. I heard stories of staff being fired because they were too sick to work and the company is notorious for not paying its staff. The last noticeable point I could be bothered to waste time on this company is this: If you are a client of Canada Drives and you send in any personal info such as a license or picture ID, this picture will be sent around the company on the inter office message software "slack" and you will be made fun of amongst the entire company. I had to write this review 4 different times until what I wanted to say was accepted by glass door - to really explain how bad this place is!

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-03-20
  9. "Potential for money, high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great training even for people who do not have experience in sales. - You'll be very knowledgeable on credit after training - Several team events and outings - Great opportunity to meet people

    Cons

    - Long hours (10 hrs minimum) - Low Pay for the amount of hours worked - Zero Job security - Talked down to like kids if underperforing

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-02-28
  10. "Read this for your own sake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Drives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free carrot sticks and celery sticks for most of your shift

    Cons

    MANAGEMENT: I can't even begin to describe how horrible these people are. They treat you as human garbage hence they have such a high turnover rate. They hire groups of 3 to 5 people every 2 weeks with about 95% quitting within their first few months solely because of management. During my time here I caught managers writing fake reviews on this website at least twice a week, it is ridiculous, just have a read on all these 5 star reviews with cons like: " have a better toaster! ; room can get too hot sometimes ; long hours but put your head down and keep working!" etc... You will be yelled at for no reason, they pick their favourites and if you're not on that list, good luck. They don't believe in calling in sick, once you make it senior when you supposedly start making money, part of your contract says that for each time you call in sick or show up late to work they will take $5 off EVERYSINGLE unit you sold. You will work 6 days a week and you better not complain about it. You are told to not listen to your clients, they celebrate when you sell a product that the customer has no idea on what it is aka finessing. I heard managers say things such as " I want to kill you every time I listen to your calls " to multiple workers. Super toxic workplace

    Continue reading
    Canada Drives2020-03-11
Found 230 reviews