CNA Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

CNA Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
CNA Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Dino Robusto
Dino Robusto
103 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "SYS/SOFTWARE ENGINEER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great management and location was very nice

    Cons

    Not being able to reach goals due to lack of training.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training.

    CNA2019-12-05
  2. "Good people, technology lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Consultant 

    I have been working at CNA full-time

    Pros

    The people who work in this office are great. There is a real community feel, which is something I have felt is lacking in this industry at other places I've worked. Benefits are also some of the best I have ever seen.

    Cons

    Technology and policies are behind the times. The IT department and functionality are frustrating and business casual dress on all days except Fridays is outdated.

    CNA2019-12-04
  3. "Working at CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and a great working environment. Company is investing a lot in innovation and next-gen technologies lately which is starting to pay off already. The company renews its vision and adapts itself to the ever changing technology landscape. There has been strong focus on delivering results for the business stakeholders and has been the motto for several years or at least for the years I have... been associated with the company. The company offers great benefits for the employees and the salary has been competitive in the midwest area. Happy to have been part of the CNA journey particularly on the technology transformation over the years and feel accomplished.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons for now. Things are going good!

    CNA2019-12-01
  4. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerical Support in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been and employee for 17 years and have really no major complaints no job is perfect.

    Cons

    No real complaints with CNA

    Advice to Management

    Honor your employees that work hard and make sure management is advised to recognize this we make the company what it is though yes we can be outsourced we are the gears of the corporation in my option.

    CNA2019-11-27
  5. "It started great...then"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Internal lateral movement opportunities. Much improved PTO and work from home policies.

    Cons

    Politics and favoritism. Not that good of team atmosphere. Individual focused.

    CNA2019-12-03
  6. "Depends on your department but overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible with work schedule Ability to move and advance through departments lots of opportunities to grow and network

    Cons

    Understaffed in all departments Ironically the insurance benefits are not that great

    CNA2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No room for growth for underwriting Assistants/Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, office located in SF, FiDi next to Trans America to May commute easy

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, old systems, poor work life balance, lack of mentoring programs and over worked employees, etc

    Advice to Management

    Listen and develop a mentoring program for underwriting technicians - they may have values and ambitions that may help your company go.

    CNA2019-11-21
  8. "Not bad for fresh grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at CNA full-time

    Pros

    Lots of room for development and learning. Treat interns really well.

    Cons

    Pace is slow and goals are not always clear

    CNA2019-10-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A wonderful company gone bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many amazing employees but too many left due to terrible management

    Cons

    Management! Once a great place to work and then senior management moved in from Chubb. Very aggressive culture of blame and fear. Our team once had 1 vp and 2 avps. When I left they cut claims handlers in 1/2 and had 5 avps! Basically top loaded people telling you what to do and no one there to do it. Then criticized for poor documentation when handlers had over 200 claims and zero support. Mass exiting of... quality professionals with zero reflection. Management took position that those that left could not handle it! Meanwhile they were amazing simply tired of being disrespected and beaten down. People actually left on the spot stressed and would rather be unemployed then continue on

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire and retain quality employees. Less managers and more workers.

    CNA2019-11-09
  10. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rating Specialist 

    I worked at CNA full-time

    Pros

    Always able to find someone to help when you have questions

    Cons

    difficult to meet goals

    CNA2019-10-03
Found 681 reviews
</>Embed