CAMH Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

CAMH Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
CAMH President & Chief Executive Officer Catherine Zahn
Catherine Zahn
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "growth limited, bureaucratic, not supporting, hidden politics, no room to grow(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management micromanages a too much(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Analyst (SLAIGHT)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CAMH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great colleagues/fellow research analysts - contributing to mental health research

    Cons

    - Lack of opportunity for growth - Disappointing management team - Lack of autonomy due to tremendous micromanaging - Declining morale across entire research team (extending months before my arrival) - High turnover amongst team due to the above

    Continue reading
    CAMH2020-01-16
  2. "Good research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at CAMH full-time

    Pros

    Outstanding research clinicians and facilities.

    Cons

    Students/staff who work on short contracts may not be eligible to apply to within-CAMH positions.

    CAMH2019-12-25
  3. "Interesting experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CH&E Specialist (Knowledge Broker) 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CAMH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - local, national and international reach - growing field and awareness of mental health and addictions

    Cons

    - bureaucratic environment - some departments use a matrix management structure

    CAMH2020-01-08
  4. "Overall positive experience at CAMH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Volunteer 

    I have been working at CAMH part-time

    Pros

    Excellent training, supervisors are very approachable and willing to mentor students who hope to continue in the field of mental health

    Cons

    some research locations are located on the same floors as outpatient care

    CAMH2019-12-12
  5. "Quiet place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at CAMH part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - fun place to work -great environment

    Cons

    - bad benefits - kind of boring

    CAMH2019-12-12
  6. "Great experience and good teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education & Research Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CAMH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -I really enjoy working in my department and I find my job satisfying on a personal level. I like that this is work being done to improve the lives of people with addiction and mental health issues. -Very strong union, good job security. I work with people who've been with CAMH for 15+ years. -A good sense of community.

    Cons

    -Constantly shifting management for my department. -Hiring process is slow. HR is very lethargic in their response times to simple/quick questions. -Pay is *okay* but we're underpaid compared to other hospital and academic systems. -Benefits, PTO and sick days offered are also below standard. -As with any large organization across multiple sites, departments, and teams, not everyone you encounter is going to be professional, constructive or pleasant.

    CAMH2019-12-11
  7. "below average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at CAMH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunities to have many experiences

    Cons

    very toxic culture at work

    Continue reading
    CAMH2019-12-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CAMH full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to training, benefits, salary

    Cons

    Domineering leadership at CAMH has lead employees demoralized, used, and frustrated. Avoid looking for positions in SLAIGHT. Interactions are often hierarchical and preferential. Micromanagement and indifference to employees concerns are commonplace. Staff are criticized, devalued, and feedback from employees are ignored. Communication and direction from leadership are long winded, overbearing, and convoluted. Senior management uses various methods of coercion, including gaslighting and creating silos. There is an ingrained culture of FEAR and differential treatment. Leaderships’ primary focus is on optics, maintaining prestige, control, and accumulating resources and power.

    Continue reading
    CAMH2019-10-27
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - PhD Graduate Student 

    I worked at CAMH full-time

    Pros

    Good research experience, access to state of the art equipment

    Cons

    Supervisor will determine your experience

    CAMH2019-10-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worse place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CAMH part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it is hard to find any pros, perhaps location and facilities.

    Cons

    Very low pay. No career growth Posts tons of fake jobs that are pre-filled and conducts interviews wasting candidate's time. Unbelievably poor management Over politicized organization Poor organization of clinical processes

    Continue reading
    CAMH2019-11-16
Found 125 reviews
</>Embed