Bullhorn Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bullhorn Reviews

Updated 1 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bullhorn CEO Art Papas
Art Papas
238 Ratings
Pros
  • "The commitment to employee development and continuing a great culture seems to always be at the forefront of the Senior Leaderships initiatives(in 24 reviews)

  • "Amazing team camaraderie, this is no surprise considering there is a free lunch every Wednesday and breakfast every day(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "As the company has grown, there will be growing pains(in 19 reviews)

  • "Bullhorn has been acquiring companies like crazy, so if you're afraid of change and working in a fast-paced environment, it's not the company for you(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Technical Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +The work itself is interesting enough +Pay

    Cons

    -The micromanagement system is really bad, there is no personal time off the phones in case you need to use the toilet, when you are on the phone they want you to be on the phone and don't go anywhere. -they operate on a customer satisfaction basis "on a mission to create incredible customer service" and yet their account managers take ages to respond to clients -bonus is not achievable -OPS team mess up the... schedule all the time -management keeps talking but not delivering -Free lunches and drinks are a thing in the contract but not in reality. Haven't had a free lunch once. -Higher management tends to promise stuff and then they send an email saying "we have to take that one back". -You will have to stay on the phones until the end of your shift, if you receive a call you have to finish it, but you will be advised that no overtime will be paid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more, also, don't pretend you care about the clients as you clearly don't.

    Bullhorn2018-09-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place for excellent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good leadership, good teammates

    Cons

    Location, commute time, and work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Bullhorn2019-10-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good parental leave policy: 3 or 4 months if primary caregiver. This enabled several of my coworkers to have really meaningful time with their newborns, even if they didn't give birth. - Bullhorn promotes from within: There are many people who started in support and are now in development, leading teams, or making product decisions. This might be my favorite thing about Bullhorn. It makes the teams stronger and... smarter and rewards employees, and has a big positive impact on the culture. - Representation in development of women & minorities is better than anywhere else I've worked. Still room to improve, especially in upper-level management. - Management: I had a great experience with my manager; they set the bar for what I expect from management, period. Our feedback loop was quick, informative, and insightful. - R&D upper level management is competent & responsive (and also got promoted from within). - They're flexible and adapting to the idea of remote work reasonably well. - Employee Resource Groups: Allies and Herd are doing great work.

    Show More

    Cons

    - I get the feeling Bullhorn is a bit behind the industry in how it recognizes senior-level engineers. I've felt confused on both sides of the line, learning someone is senior who I would have assumed was mid level and learning someone was mid-level who appeared super senior. On the plus side, management is actively pushing folks toward the next role and being proactive in helping people improve & grow. I... offer the following two cons with the qualification that I think Bullhorn is making progress (and made significant progress while I was there) in empowering employees to fix them: - The technology isn't always the best. It can be a struggle sometimes to feel inspired while working through so much legacy code, or bits of product that were made with no regard to best practices. Sometimes it's great, though! - Development feedback loops are too long; little quality of life things like how long it takes to refresh a build, reload a dev server, deploy to a vm, run tests, etc really add up and lead to frustration. I think a number of people are aware of this but in general the standard is not high enough here, and the people who can fix these things often have too much on their plates already. An initiative was announced recently to start spending sprint time to address issues that might include issues like this, and I hope that is where they'll focus. The payoff in terms of productivity would be absolutely huge.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are considerable gains to be made in productivity by improving little things, tightening feedback loops, and writing cleaner code. I think it requires raising the bar of technical excellence and nudging development culture more in the direction of doing things the right way vs. getting it shipped. I experienced so many instances where I had a much harder problem to solve for a simple feature because someone... chose the "get it shipped" route for a short-term gain and a long-term loss. Sometimes it's the right call to get it shipped! It can't always be the right call. Find ways to support people who have intersecting underrepresented identities e.g. a person of color who is disabled and LGBT. They're doing a lot more work to just exist in the office than you probably realize and they need you to be literate about issues they may be facing and to have your support. Keep sticking to your values as you have been! It was a pleasure working at Bullhorn and I'd consider coming back.

    Show More
    Bullhorn2019-10-11
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, good benefits, good hikes,team outings

    Cons

    Politics,favourism,no cab facility,overtime work hours

    Bullhorn2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Worst job I’ve had as a designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn

    Pros

    Really none from my perspective

    Cons

    So first of all, based on some of my experiences, I am apprehensive of potential retaliation from management for writing this review. This felt important to write, however, because when I was considering offers, I could find very little direct feedback about the design team at Bullhorn. To start, around the start of the year, I worked on a team made up equally of men and women. At the time of this review, I don’t... think there are any women left on that team. Management styles and behavior seem to make this a toxic environment for a lot of people. During my time at Bullhorn, management appeared to act in manipulative, condescending, and even dishonest ways, while also seeming to act very differently in front of higher ups. I experienced members of management gossiping about direct reports to their peers, and other negative, potentially demoralizing behavior. The really unfortunate thing about Bullhorn is, from what I can tell, upper management believes middle managers over IC employees every single time — so if someone chooses to foster a toxic, politically stressful environment that seems to impact female employees most significantly, he or she can spin each employee’s departure and each misstep as a totally isolated issue unrelated to his or her own management style, and the same roles can be rehired again and again. Aside from what was in my opinion a tumultuous, emotionally manipulative environment, there isn’t really anything redeeming about the work. Many projects are victim to poor execution and bringing up concerns and suggestions about timelines and quality really don’t historically lead to improvements (on the design team specifically, you may get knocked for not having a “positive outlook,” which can obviously demotivate team members who care a lot about their work). There’s also a lack of genuinely experienced senior level talent, so many roles don’t have mentors or people to learn from.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow up with some of the people who have left recently and try to understand the whole story. Pay attention to actual people managers’ behavior more closely and make sure managers have appropriate training about how to treat employees.

    Bullhorn2019-11-01
  6. "Company is Good but management is not Coprative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good company to work but management is so bad

    Cons

    management is so bad, Art CEO dont know what going on

    Advice to Management

    already know

    Bullhorn2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, culture, and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Operations in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bullhorn was an incredible place to start or grow a career. You're surrounded by smart, driven, and accountable people, who are committed to the company and customer. There is a genuine culture that goes beyond the standard office perks and the leadership team is aligned and transparent.

    Cons

    Benefits are great but company needs to work on compensation vs market to attract/retain the talent they desire.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be transparent on company performance and strategy. Invest internally on people and infrastructure as well as growing revenue.

    Bullhorn2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tier I Support Analyst 

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time

    Pros

    Environment, benefits, bonuses, unlimited pto, lots of great people

    Cons

    Hard to get pto approved.

    Bullhorn2019-09-07
  9. "An amazing company that I couldn't stay away from..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was previously employed by Bullhorn for 5.5 years and had an amazing experience. Another role arose that appeared to be very good opportunity, however, after a short period (11 months), I returned to Bullhorn. Bullhorn has an amazing culture that is promoted, lead and driven by the entire Senior Leadership Team, everyone works as one and constantly drives towards excellence. As a fast growth technology... company, Bullhorn has never forgotten the importance of making everyone feel valued and ensures that everyone has the opportunity to voice their opinions. An inclusive organisation in every sense.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to add here

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Excellent communication, leadership and vision for the future.

    Bullhorn2019-08-30
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Tone. Deaf."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are great, but that's pretty much it at this point.

    Cons

    All of Support sat through meetings today going over the result of the most recent "compensation study", in other words, the second time in 2 years leadership is admitting they're sitll not paying their employees enough. JR introduced a new pay structure for Tier 1 employees that sounds great on paper, I guess. But it also means that someone who's been with the company for a year is now making the same amount as... someone whose been with the company for 2 or 3 years. Outside of Tier 1, nothing changed significantly. Again. They keep raising Tier 1 pay significantly and not raising any one else's. The difference between Tier 1 and basically any other job other than a senior enterprise rep is now about $3k-4k, when befor it had been 8-10k. It is a constant slap in the face to the entire rest of the support org for leaders to be gushing about how much they value everyone when its clear they only value butts in the seats. Behind the scenes work? Sucks to be you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe try valuing all of your Support employees. Almost every single person not in Tier 1 walked out of that meeting angry and determined to look for a job somewhere that will actually pay us what we're worth. Twice in 2 years, you guys have done this. It's ridiculous. Good for you retaining Tier 1. I guess you'll need a big group to promote from when the rest of us rage quit. No I'm not going to respond to... whatever corporate person tells me to. You're going to defend the actions of the company, which is your job. But there is no way anyone on that list of roles who are making just over $40k are being compensated fairly. JR even admitted its hard to get good data because your job titles don't match up well to common ones. That's fine. Maybe listen to your actual people and air on the side of caution by paying them more. Not like you guys are hurting for money.

    Show More
    Bullhorn2019-09-27
Found 300 reviews