Brown Thomas Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Brown Thomas Managing Director Donald McDonald
Donald McDonald
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Management are on top of everything, excellent canteen, good staff discount(in 15 reviews)

  • "Nice place to work, good discount, normal pay(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours however its great and I love it(in 10 reviews)

  • "There are unsociable working hours occasionally(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stylist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brown Thomas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff benefits, best customer service training

    Cons

    Poor and unfair treatment, very busy

    Brown Thomas Response

    April 27, 2020People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working here at Brown Thomas Dublin. We've taken all your comments on board and really appreciate you leaving a review. If you'd like to share anymore insight with us, especially around your cons, feel free to reach out- glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  2. "Toxic work environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Brown Thomas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience. Nice staff. Discount.

    Cons

    In bt2 dundrum, the managers were horrible people, thought they were superior to everyone and demonstrated very aggressive behaviour to staff. Very immature and terrible attitudes- constantly felt as if I was going to get verbally attacked, like walking on egg shells even when asking a genuine question. If you don’t treat your staff well they are not going to want to listen! Very simple. No respect for anyone but themselves.

    Continue reading

    Brown Thomas Response

    June 19, 2020People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working here at BT2 Dundrum. If you’d be open to it, I’d welcome a conversation to talk about specifics- feel free to reach out. glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  3. "Overall okay experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brown Thomas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work but lots of standing around Great discount Good work location

    Cons

    Lots of standing around pretending to be busy Pay is not great

    Brown Thomas Response

    May 7, 2020People Team

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on your former role with us. Thank you also for being with us for 2 years - we're sure your team were sad to see you go! If you’d be open to it, I’d welcome a conversation to talk about specifics- feel free to reach out glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  4. "Okay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brown Thomas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere between new people and lower workers.

    Cons

    I was an ambassador for a brand and dealt with a lot of richer clientele and they can get away with saying a lot to the staff and the managers will do nothing if they are spending money. Basically, like most retail jobs except the pay is the same and you are expected to go above and beyond for the same pay you would get working any other low maintenance retail job.

    Brown Thomas Response

    April 27, 2020People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working here at Brown Thomas Cork. We've taken all your comments on board and really appreciate you leaving a review. If you'd like to share anymore insight with us, especially around your cons, feel free to reach out- glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  5. "Lots of career experience available"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Brown Thomas full-time

    Pros

    In this fast paced retail business, you will take ownership of many elements and work with many stakeholders and brands to bring amazing projects to life

    Cons

    Available resources and support is not what you would imagine or what is required. If you don't have self motivation you will not succeed. This is not a financially rewarding place to work.

    Brown Thomas Response

    April 27, 2020People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working with Brown Thomas. We've taken all your comments on board and really appreciate you leaving a review. If you'd like to share anymore insight with us, especially around your cons, feel free to reach out- glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brown Thomas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Canteen, employee discount, hours and flexibility

    Cons

    Management can be difficult to work with

    Brown Thomas Response

    April 27, 2020People Team

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on your former role with us. Thank you also for being with us for over 4 years - that's a great achievement and we're sure your team were sad to see you go! If you’d be open to it, I’d welcome a conversation to talk about specifics- feel free to reach out glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  7. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brown Thomas part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Great staff that are really helpful

    Cons

    There are no big cons at all other than customers sometimes being difficult

    Brown Thomas Response

    March 30, 2020BP Generalist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on your former role with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here & we wish you all the best for the future!

  8. "Pleasant work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brown Thomas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of friendly staff, reasonable pay

    Cons

    There was not many cons.

    Brown Thomas Response

    March 30, 2020BP Generalist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on your former role with us in Brown Thomas Cork. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here so much. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to welcome you back in store again soon!

  9. "Good employer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brown Thomas full-time

    Pros

    Good community spirit with great workers

    Cons

    Not many benefits for staff

    Brown Thomas Response

    April 6, 2020People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working at Brown Thomas. We've taken all your comments on board and really appreciate you leaving a review. If you'd like to share anymore insight with us, especially around your cons, feel free to reach out- glassdoor@brownthomas.ie

  10. "Lovely place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brown Thomas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Making friends, good customers, training, canteen

    Cons

    No parking for staff

    Brown Thomas Response

    March 30, 2020BP Generalist

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on your former role with us. Thank you also for being with us for over 3 years - that's a great achievement and we're sure your team were sad to see you go! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here so much. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to welcome you back in store again soon!

Found 125 reviews