Broadcast Music Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Broadcast Music Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Broadcast Music President and Chief Executive Officer Michael O’Neill (no image)
Michael O’Neill
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Underpaid for doing the same work as full time employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "This does not feel like a NY headquartered company in the new age digital music industry(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Music Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Music Researcher in New York, NY

    I worked at Broadcast Music part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good Pay -Travel included -Job is out in the field

    Cons

    -Hours not guaranteed -Unconventional Job -Little opportunity for growth

    Broadcast Music2020-01-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place to work on music row"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None. I don’t even know what to say that is positive.

    Cons

    Literally everything . Toxic toxic people.

    Broadcast Music2019-12-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bad career move for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music

    Pros

    Some of the people were nice. Pay was ok...

    Cons

    Before I came to BMI, I worked in healthcare IT. I thought the music business would be a nice change. After experiencing the climate and IT management at BMI, I decided to go back to healthcare, but I had a hard time finding a new job at that point. When I interviewed, having music industry experience was seen as a negative, and working for the IT management at BMI, who largely came from healthcare - with a terrible track record there, made things difficult for me. My advice would be to consider a possible career move to BMI carefully, especially if you are ever interested in working in healthcare later. I figured it out, but it wasn’t easy, and I never experienced this kind of issue prior to working at BMI.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice since it’s clear, from my experience, they don’t care to listen.

    Broadcast Music2019-11-01
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great Peers, phenominal benefits, decent pay but toxic management and high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some really great people , the healthcare benefits are the best i've ever had, pay is competitive

    Cons

    Management and, work culture and environment are toxic to say the least - after 6 months, I found myself extremely anxious and depressed dreading to go to work and decided to leave

    Advice to Management

    PRACTISE your core values - none of them are. VALUE your employees, and promote those that are worthy, not over and over the same ones that do not even produce anything except high turnover

    Broadcast Music2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Do not work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are kind and trustworthy.

    Cons

    Most are not to be trusted because the culture is Dog Eat Dog. People do not want to lose their jobs so they bald face lie and cover their own butts. Very High Stress over selling Licenses to protect Songwriters. Not sure who gets paid but the highest ups. Vice Presidents attitudes toward employees is sad and hateful. Directors take your ideas and make them their own with no credit to the workers.

    Advice to Management

    Needs a complete overhaul starting with VP down and HR which is worthless for employees. Nothing Human or resourceful. They are there to do the bidding of the VP. Very sad and sick culture. Felt like I was in grammar school. No room to move up in this company.

    Broadcast Music2019-07-24
  6. "Great benefits and incentives!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcast Music full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and awesome co-workers

    Cons

    Being challenged by the work can sometimes be difficult.

    Broadcast Music2019-05-20
  7. "Great Company, with some room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Broadcast Music full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people.

    Cons

    Slow upward mobility, some antiquated systems, and antiquated project management.

    Broadcast Music2019-05-11
  8. "No upward mobility, Too big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcast Music full-time

    Pros

    There are some lovely humans there.

    Cons

    Management's hands are tied with unrealistic expectations from supervisors.

    Broadcast Music2019-04-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Distribution and Administrative Services Analyst - Works Registration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great manager in the Works Registration area who is transparent and willing to try and help you succeed. Work isn't too difficult, but is tedious and requires good attention to detail. ability to work from home and make you own schedule within reason, only after you have been there a while. Good Benefits Solid job in the music industry, especially for entry level candidates. Overall this was a comfortable job where the perks and benefits potentially outweighed the cons. It just depends on you and your situation. worked great for me who had other passions and jobs outside of BMI.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement Seems like the company is more interested in spending money elsewhere instead of investing in their employees. Outdated programs and systems (Although this was supposed to change at the time I left)

    Broadcast Music2018-11-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Date entry clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Date Entry Clerk in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcast Music full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None super low salary and low class management

    Cons

    The dregs of society work here -- real low lives. They exploit cheap labor from the worst neighborhoods in the outer boroughs. Gutter trash managers. The pay is so low you cannot pay your rent by working here. Minimum wage salaries. Cut throat. Biggest perk when I interviewed was that you get free hot chocolate. I am not kidding. They talk to you and treat you like a gullible child to be exploited while upper management salaries are well over 1 million dollars a year. Yes they rob their employees so the fat cats can get fatter.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Broadcast Music2018-10-03
Found 89 reviews