British Heart Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive  Simon Gillespie
Simon Gillespie
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, work around your prior commitments(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "In being a charity it’s to be cutting edge in terms of innovation(in 30 reviews)

  • "No cons at all great place to work(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Editor 

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    A great cause, friendly people, good benefits (eg 30 days' annual leave, in-house exercise classes),

    Cons

    Work life balance often good but could be improved

    British Heart Foundation2020-01-15
  2. "Great working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Innovation Executive 

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Culture and work life balance

    Cons

    In being a charity it’s to be cutting edge in terms of innovation

    British Heart Foundation2020-01-06

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for the review! You'll be aware that a focus of our People Strategy is to create an open, healthy and positive work place for everyone, so it's great to hear how this is having a positive impact on our culture. We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  3. "Friendly staff and nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The staff are lovely and always welcoming - The customers are mostly friendly too - Good banter with staff - Good experience and helping the community out

    Cons

    - Volunteer so no pay - Manager did not learn my name - Repetitive work so gets a bit boring and no chairs so standing up for hours

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-01-06

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 10, 2020Volunteering Team Co-Ordinator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Genuinely, without Volunteers such as yourself, the BHF couldn't function as well as it does - THANK YOU. I hope your role with us will evolve and the experience will lead to paid employment. Clare - Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Great cause, generally good people. Held back by culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnership Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cause Great office Generally good people to work with Decent salary and work/ life balance

    Cons

    Little proactive engagement from senior management in solving cultural and personel issues

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-01-16
  5. "A great place to help build your confidence!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Fun! You get to meet all types of people and work in a dynamic and fast paced environment. The team are really friendly and supportive in helping to you to learn and develop!

    Cons

    Meeting a wide variety of customers means sometimes you need to be prepared to handle difficult scenarios.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-12-18

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 19, 2019

    It’s great to hear that you have such a friendly and supportive team to help you progress in your role. We're also really please that, despite the fast pace nature and the challenges of retail, you still gave us a 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to share this with us, wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Front End Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work and good work life balance.

    Cons

    People leave very often and that seems normal

    British Heart Foundation2019-12-16

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 19, 2019

    Thanks so much for your 5 star review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed working with BHF, and that you had a good work life balance. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Good company - Low pay - Senior HR not approachable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company who provide lots of training materials to grow knowledge.

    Cons

    The pay is very low and when asking to shadow HR department, no one other than the HR BP replies. Very disappointing.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-12-29
  8. "Furniture and Electrical."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive and challenging. You have to be assertive.

    Cons

    Unusual risks eg. trip hazards or glass/both. It's easy to be distracted by other tasks and leave a hazard forgotten about.

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    December 10, 2019

    Hi Thank you for the 5 star review . Volunteer feedback is so very important to us . We take the well being of all our volunteer and staff very seriously and want to make sure everyone is working in a safe and comfortable environment . I'd be keen to discuss the points you have raised in more detail so we can make any improvements that may be needed . Please contact me direct at vaadvice@bhf.org.uk Jo - Volunteering Team

    Continue reading
  9. "Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Pontefract, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, friendly volunteers and a learning experience!

    Cons

    Stressful at times but no complaints

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-22

    British Heart Foundation Response

    November 27, 2019

    Thanks so much for your review! It%E2%80%99s great to see how much you enjoy your role as Sales Assistant, despite the challenges of retail. We're so pleased that you are learning new skills and have such an amazing team. We wish you continued success with us!

    Continue reading
  10. "Opportunities To Learn A Lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Volunteer Retail Sales Associate in Cheadle, North West England, England

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Voluntary Sales Assistant British Heart Foundation - Cheadle I am a chatterbox. I can talk about anything and everything. Volunteering allows me a fantastic opportunity to let my chitchatting dreams run wild. As an outgoing and enthusiastic volunteer, I love meeting and greeting customers. I talk to the customers, make them feel welcome, help them find the things they’re looking for and inform them of Gift-Aid Club memberships. I keep the sales floor looking fresh and inspiring, and thank everyone who brings in their donations and custom. I am a part of a friendly and helpful team in a relaxed environment. My manager provided me with all the support and help I need. Perfect for enhancing my CV gaining valuable work experience and new skill set.

    Cons

    I have no Cons to talk about

    British Heart Foundation2019-11-20
Found 345 reviews