British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, work around your prior commitments(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "In being a charity it’s to be cutting edge in terms of innovation(in 32 reviews)

  • "No cons at all great place to work(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "BHF sales assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with lovely people Get trained in all aspects of the business Staff discount

    Cons

    can sometimes have to deal with very unusual and difficult people but that just gives you the skills to manage any situation that comes your way.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-05-08
  2. "Amazing place to wok"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So nice to work for a charity with such a good cause

    Cons

    Can be hard to get new ideas running

    British Heart Foundation2020-05-05
  3. "Great fun volunteering here!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - volunteer cashier 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, lots of flexibility with regards to hours, great retail experience

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    British Heart Foundation2020-05-05

    British Heart Foundation Response

    May 14, 2020

    Thank you for the review , so pleased to read that you had a great experience and found the team friendly and enjoyed the flexibility too. Take care Jo - BHF Volunteering Team

  4. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Meeting new people, broadened my experience

    Cons

    Unfortunately part time no pay

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-04-21
  5. "Hated working here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some lovely people A lot of training sessions available

    Cons

    Some really toxic managers Big emphasis on hierarchy and a lot of pressure put on teams that ends up put on lower down workers Don't listen to new opinions and ideas Don't care about the people, just making a profit to be "the best charity" Dirty offices, mice live in the vents and poo on the desks Bad cross team collaboration. A lot of pressure to meet team targets rather than whole organisation targets, so teams fight over income streams.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Non profit. Good controls on corporate expenditure in comparison to many firms. Some really good employees. Great volunteers. Varied work. Relatively short working week, 35 hours, no late nights or long shifts.

    Cons

    Major conflicts between the charity image & the business requirement. Too much pressure on target & kpi achievement, a charity which threatens letters of concern is not my idea of an understanding employer. They encourage whistle blowing & safeguarding yet a line manager will say "we don't talk about such things". Far too many area & regional managers & directors, not required. Ill thought out notions of what is required while ignoring what the employees & customers need.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-03-25

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 31, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you don't feel that we, as an organisation, are listening to you. If you feel that we can be of any support in this area, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. We value your feedback, so this and your other points regarding targets and our use of letters of concern, will be shared with the relevant teams. Recruitment Team

  7. "great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff, very welcoming

    Cons

    sometimes quite on shop floor

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-03-07

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased you’re enjoying working with your colleagues,; we believe it’s our people that make BHF such a great place to work. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

  8. "amazing experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    it was a good experience. built a lot of different transferable skills.

    Cons

    sometimes other employees did not carry their weight.

    British Heart Foundation2020-03-07

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased that you had the opportunities to build new skill. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

  9. "Improvements happening"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation

    Pros

    Good training programs in place, work as teams writhing stores.

    Cons

    Heavy work if you don’t have a good volunteer base.

    British Heart Foundation2020-02-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Our people are at the heart of everything we do and we invest heavily in their careers. Therefore we're so pleased to hear you're able to take advantage of our training opportunities. We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

  10. "Great."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Erdington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff. Great environment. Enjoyable.

    Cons

    Bus journey can be long depending on traffic.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-02-15

    British Heart Foundation Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review! We wish you continued success with us! Recruitment Team

Found 360 reviews