Brightwater Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 of over 93 reviews

4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Brightwater Managing Director Barbara McGrath (no image)
Barbara McGrath
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "I wish us, all of us that are really Team BW, luck, success and credit in time for our hard work and bravery in really challenging times(in 12 reviews)

  • "good base salary and commission structure(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "they are not good enough and are being sent to interview purely to make other Brightwater candidates look good(in 12 reviews)

  • "abrupt and rude behavior displayed by senior management(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 31, 2022 - Recruitment in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, great people, training and salary

      Cons

      none to note at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company and people!

      Mar 22, 2022 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of career progression Great support and work life balance Excellent clients and highly competitive commission structure

      Cons

      None Very good at listening to feedback Open to opinions and wfh options Committed to changing with the new work life

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to learn

      Apr 27, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Management team and good career prospects

      Cons

      It was overall a positive experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      The real truth!

      Apr 24, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none, nothing comes to my mind

      Cons

      -it was a nightmare and I'm still living with a trauma till this day -needed to seek medical help for the bullying, harassment and crazy levels of micromanagement -stuffy and smelly office- a lot of issues with heating and water supplies, on one occasion toilets not working and staff was told to go to Foodie -very clique environment consisting of horrible people -no support, unethical practices consisting of bullying, stealing candidates, extreme micromamagemt, psychological abuse -cult environment where the greed is the god and people are being named and shamed - the positive reviews are written by staff who is being forced to write them, if you want an honest opinion ask former employees on LinkedIn

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Brightwater Response

      Managing Director

      I find it hard, if not impossible to reconcile your version of Brightwater with how Brightwater actually is. I’m sorry you feel that you’ve had a bad experience working with us as we have so many internal and external supports available including access to wellbeing programmes. Recruitment is a high pressure environment, that is true, but we believe in encouraging and supporting our staff as well as providing them with all types of support. To break it down, the time that the facilities were not working over five years ago was when there were major building works going on behind us which affected the facilities for part of one day and we made a quick decision to cover staff for the part of the day that was affected. We have an open door policy where if you have problems with a colleague, you are actively encouraged to go to your manager/director or come to me as your MD directly. It has never been a part of our business to name or shame anybody in any aspect of life including your working life. As our business is sales, good performers are absolutely highlighted in our company wide meetings as are our corporate services staff for their support of the sales function. Across the business, we believe in rewarding and recognising excellent performance. At no point in Brightwater’s history have we condoned stealing of candidates, it’s just not part of our culture. We have absolutely never asked staff to write reviews on this site. That said, I wish you well and if you’re working now, I hope you’re in an environment that suits you better. I wish you well in your career, Barbara

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not that bad

      Mar 1, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      professional, pacey, challenging environment where you can learn a lot.

      Cons

      Micro managing and sometimes clicky. A lot of pressure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good workplace

      Jan 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People and well known name in the industry

      Cons

      Lack of communication with staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Professional, ethical, hardworking, respectful environment

      Sep 11, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working at Brightwater for the past 4 years. I have a good few years recruitment experience, having worked in a previous agency and grounded from having previously worked in a sales environment. I'm used to targets and KPI'S When I joined the Brightwater team it was entering a process of new and positive change. I wasn't aware of this when I started but I have seen significant and hugely positive changes since then. I am writing this because a former colleague left a review above that I cannot associate myself with at all. I will preface by saying, I am not the highest biller in the company, I am not a manager and absolutely no one has asked me to write this but I do feel compelled to. I work hard, some months are good for me and some I do not have the success I aspire to. I have never been pulled up on that. I have always felt supported, I have always been encouraged and bolstered to do my best. I am not the loudest voice in the room, I keep my head down and focus. It is worth my while to do so. If ever I am struggling, I am always guided. I have been mentored and supported even when I did not vocalise my own concerns. I cannot fault the management team, led from the top. Barbara, John, Aoife and all the Senior Management team are very mindful of all of us that they know are doing our best and working hard. I know my colleagues feel the same and that is why we are still here, working hard, wholly committed and giving our best. I am disappointed that someone who didn't really work that hard or add to our team and therefore didn't really have much success, purely because of that, would write a review as posted on August 17th. It is entirely unfounded and inaccurate and quite honestly, downright unkind. We are in incredibly difficult times, with no precedence, unchartered waters entirely. We had Brexit and all of that uncertainty and then a Global pandemic. I could not have felt more supported. I also could not have done more to make sure my productivity and work ethic was still at my optimum. For me, you get out what you put in and I wanted to continue to show my support for my employers when they were showing me how much they were supporting me. This is all based on my factual experience. I am actually really disappointed that someone who didn't work or try as hard as the rest of us could be so unkind, untruthful or utterly inaccurate of their assessment of what it is like to work here. I wouldn't swap it for the world. I wish us, all of us that are really Team BW, luck, success and credit in time for our hard work and bravery in really challenging times. There is nowhere else I would feel more supported or rather be.

      Cons

      None now. Apparently in France currently, adding value.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Brightwater Response

      Managing Director

      There are really no words to say how much we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. You’ve perfectly described the company and the staff that we recognise and that we all work together as a team to support. We will get through this difficult time together as we always do, focused on supporting our clients, candidates and colleagues. Thank you, so much! - Barbara McGrath, MD

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      a

      Aug 6, 2020 - Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible hours, great for college

      Cons

      Can go some weeks without shifts at all

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      They worked hard to get me into office temp positions

      Jul 8, 2020 - Temporary Worker in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This agency doesn't forget about you, they pick companies that match what you want and regularly check how you're doing in temp placements.

      Cons

      Some workplaces are reluctant to take you on as a permanent employee as they don't want to pay Brightwater extra commission during the first year you start permanently.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Brightwater Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you for your kind words - our Temporary & Contracts team work hard with our candidates to make sure they're in the best possible roles that suit their skills, experience, location and other requirements. We're delighted you're partnering with us on assignments and we look forward to working with you in the future - Barbara McGrath, MD

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unethical and Unprofessional

      Jul 21, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Commission structure / low threshold - Gateway to a career in recruitment / sales - The day you hand in your notice (though not your notice period when management stops speaking to you almost entirely)

      Cons

      Too many to list them all! - Bullying - there is no qualified internal HR team so you have no real grievance process. - Pressure to lie to candidates and clients - Pressure to commit to fees to bill when you are only at client briefing stage and could thus have no indication of likely success beyond having a crystal ball! - Was once told by a manager that I was very deliberate in the CVs I was sending - “throw more [insert expletive] against the wall, some of it will stick” - Referring to some candidates as "interview fodder" - i.e. they are not good enough and are being sent to interview purely to make other Brightwater candidates look good - Tampering with references taken over the phone. One of the consultants had a candidate who had clearly lied about working somewhere. When they alerted their manager to this they basically called the candidate in and "suggested" a story to them of how the discrepancy had occurred - the fee was more important than integrity When someone leaves the company their reputation is torn to shreds internally on a very personal level MASSIVE turnover - even for recruitment. The phone list I had when I started was almost unrecogniseable when I left just over a year later - on average two people leave per month. I joined this company at the start of my career and was somewhat blissfully unaware of what a truly awful place it was to work - there were absolutely no benefits not even sick pay! The MD was doing interviews in the media about the importance of paid maternity leave whilst the company didn't offer any such benefit to their staff. There wasn't even a lunch room, leaving your options to be go out and pay for lunch or eat at your desk whereby there was a subtle expectation that you would continue to take calls. There was a weird intimidation culture: - you had to read a list of about 15 KPIs in front of the whole company on a Friday, I still do not see the purpose of this (nor have I encountered it elsewhere). -You would be excessively chastised like a naughty child if you were 2 minutes late in the morning or back from lunch. -You would be formally called to room 7 any time you did something to displease management (such as be marginally late, wear a cardigan rather than a blazer or some other minor infraction) -Managers would openly whisper about consultants on the floor -"Feedback" from managers was extremely personal and unprofessional - I know of one consultant whose manager told them they had written "Debbie Downer" in their notes beside their name. -If for some reason you could not attend a company organised social event (out of hours) you were questioned endlessly about it and made to feel like you were calling your commitment and work ethic into question

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Brightwater Response

      Managing Director

      I’m really sorry that you feel this way about your time with us. As a company, we will always do our best to improve the working environment for everyone whilst still recognising where we need to improve. That said, we are a highly professional company and much of what you have said does not ring true. We have a very collaborative workplace where sales targets are jointly set between management and consultants. We specifically do this in order to encourage individual ownership of desks across the business. We also have high standards so when targets are agreed, we expect consultants to reach them and we work together at all stages to ensure that they do. Under no circumstances would we treat any member of staff, client, candidate or job with anything other than respect and professionalism and if this was not the case, I am disappointed that you did not approach me directly to discuss your concerns. Our HR is covered by our Director of Operations and our Finance Director with full support from Ibec so if you felt for whatever reason you could not approach me, despite our open door policy, you could have approached either of these professionals with your grievances. In terms of our reputation in the market, we have won numerous awards as a recruitment consultancy (2019 Recruitment Agency of the Year – NRF) and are extremely well respected by our peers for our training programmes and the quality of our staff. You mentioned “lifers” – the majority of our senior staff do have longevity with us. They would not have that if they were not highly successful in their roles as well as highly respected and capable. We also have a broad range of benefits which expand considerably as our consultants progress in their careers. As you were only with us for a short time, you would not have experienced the same level of benefits that we use to reward hard work and loyalty. Our mantra is always to offer the best in class service to our candidates & clients. As a result, we do expect very high standards of work from our consultants. That said, we have to acknowledge that our high expectations and focused way of working will not suit everyone. I wish you the best in your future - Barbara McGrath, MD

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 90 Reviews

    Brightwater Reviews FAQs

    Brightwater has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 93 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Brightwater to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Brightwater employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Brightwater. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    89% of Brightwater employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Brightwater 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Brightwater Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Brightwater? Share Your Experiences

    Brightwater logo
    or