Bord na Móna Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bord na Móna Reviews

Updated 24 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
36%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Bord na Móna CEO  Mike Quinn
Mike Quinn
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "machine driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bord na Móna part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the pay was very good the people i worked with were excellent working mates.the management overall were very good.

    Cons

    the only con i could find is was very dusty during the harvesting season and the machinery was very hard work.

    Advice to Management

    my only advice to management would be to treat all their employees with the same respect and patience that was shown to me personally.

    Bord na Móna2016-07-20
  2. "General Operative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Operative in Edenderry
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bord na Móna part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your day was never boring you and had a varied day, all the lads on the bog were very helpful.

    Cons

    The peat gets everywhere into every crevice and I mean every crevice.

    Bord na Móna2019-11-24
  3. "full time maintenance electrician ---"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Electrician in Tullamore, Offaly
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bord na Móna full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good holidays each year, flexible staff

    Cons

    weather in winter makes life difficult

    Bord na Móna2019-08-29
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bord na Móna full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Location very handy. Team and people on the lower levels are lovely.

    Cons

    Management, loosing good people everyday not doing anything to keep them. Salary very poor. Very high volume workload expected to do alot extra for nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Start looking after your staff on the ground level and not just the management in . Bring everyone's salaries up to meet outside companies. Impliment flexi time.

    Bord na Móna2019-08-08
  5. "Customer Service Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bord na Móna full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful team on the ground level

    Cons

    Company more concerned with policies than the staff themselves

    Bord na Móna2019-07-02
  6. "good for experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bord na Móna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good to gain experiance

    Cons

    pay is very bad, management

    Bord na Móna2019-06-26
  7. "General operative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Operative in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Bord na Móna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours ok but very early start

    Cons

    6day week only day off is Sunday

    Bord na Móna2019-06-18
  8. "Lovely people - Inefficiently run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Department in Newbridge, Kildare
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bord na Móna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people are lovely. - Quarterly site visits help to understand the enormity of the company.

    Cons

    - It felt like a boys' club at times. - Meetings were often unnecessary. - Quite easy to appear productive without actually doing a lot. - Salary/bonus quite low. - Distinct lack of appreciation for the IT department.

    Advice to Management

    - Invest into IT more. - Improve salaries/bonuses

    Bord na Móna2018-08-15
  9. "Lab personnal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bord na Móna full-time

    Pros

    People are friendly, great team

    Cons

    Need to pay more for certain roles

    Bord na Móna2018-06-28
  10. "Head of Advocacy and External Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bord na Móna full-time

    Pros

    My direct manager is very encouraging and helpful vis a vis my professional and career development.

    Cons

    Chances of promotion and career advancement overly dependent on your relationship with your line manager.

    Bord na Móna2018-01-31
Found 21 reviews