Cover image for Blue Octopus Recruitment
Logo

Blue Octopus Recruitment

Is this your company?

Blue Octopus Recruitment

Add a Review

Blue Octopus Recruitment Reviews

Updated 30 Oct 2020

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 19 of over 19 reviews
3.8
69% Recommend to a Friend
100% Approve of CEO

Found 19 of over 19 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Blue Octopus Recruitment Managing Directors Chris Coleman and Liam Coleman (no image)
Chris Coleman and Liam Coleman
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Keep Positive!

    29 Oct 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Otley, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve always found Blue Octopus a friendly and happy place to work, where your hard work is recognised and appreciated. Working for a local company where you are more than just a number is great. I love what the company has to offer so its nice being able to make clients and candidates happy.

    Cons

    Recruitment is always a competitive industry where you have to work really hard both to win and retain customers. The Covid-19 pandemic is making it harder than ever but I guess that’s the same for all recruitment companies.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great to work for

    30 Oct 2020 - Administrator in Leeds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a great team spirit, having been here for a few years and meeting a lot of people along the way, I have to say it is an excellent company to work for. We are treat with respect and the owners are great. The office environment is brilliant and they offer flexible working too. I'd recommend Blue Octopus to anyone.

    Cons

    The move to Leeds city centre wasn't great move but this was sorted in the end as moved back to Otley

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Blue Octopus Recruitment team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pandemic Situation Handled Excellently

    2 Jul 2020 - Client Delivery Manager in Otley, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Whilst a number of recruitment companies made redundancies even with Furlough leave in place. Blue Octopus has supported myself and other staff on ensuring that we receive our furlough pay. I feel fortunate to of been in receipt of the allowance when the majority of my contacts on Linked In were being made completely redundant. Like any job, you have to put in hard work to be successful, but the rewards are given if you do!

    Cons

    Nothing to mention for the cons

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    forward-thinking and responsive company who take a caring and considerate approach to staff and clients alike!

    5 Aug 2019 - Client Delivery Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    family owned and progressive in terms of business. Transparent and honest service and product offerings

    Cons

    still only a SME - however growing steadily

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor management & dishonest

    25 Mar 2017 - Sales in Otley, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Difficult to consider positives when you've had such a poor experience. They have managed to work with some good clients over the years, most they don't keep long.

    Cons

    The management is very poor across the board. Their people are treated terribly, not a clue on how to manage employment situations. They're dishonest with their employees and clients. Simply want to make a few quid. Complete 'cowboys'. Please consider whether the good reviews on here are genuine, because they're not!

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Sales

    20 Apr 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Blue Octopus is a supportive and fun working environment. Great communication links from the directors with a "door is always open" mentality means that changes within the company, goals and plans are shared with us so we really feel part of it. Individual/team successes are always noticed and shared which ensures that everyone feels valued and recognised for their hard work. For a fairly small company there is plenty of room for progression which isn't always the case in small-medium organisations.

    Cons

    I guess the only "con" is you have to put the work in to build a connections, a strong client base and pipeline but when you do you are rewarded.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A nice, friendly company that means business :-)

    20 Apr 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Blue Octopus are a forward thinking, innovative company. They realise that their people are key to their success and they cultivate a friendly atmosphere, where everyone really cares about each other. Its great to be part of an organisation that has grown and seen many successes since 2010. Also, unusually in the recruitment world, they have an abundance of solid, long term relationships with clients, and many happy clients who enjoy benefiting from the honest, friendly and enthusiastic approach that the team here take to looking after them. Its really refreshing to be part of, in an industry that can otherwise be quite cut throat. Very different from your typical city centre agency. I feel that working here, you can be 100% yourself at work as well as feeling truly valued and inspired to be the best that you can be.

    Cons

    If you are looking to work for a more 'agency-like' company and want to be part of a recruitment world that involves late night partying, city living, champagne drinking and splashing cash around, this isn't the right place for you. However, on the plus side, I would say that as long as you honestly want to work hard, look after people and do things properly, you will find an extremely rewarding career here.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A great company.. what more can I say?

    21 Apr 2016 - Client Delivery Team Leader in Otley, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Blue Octopus is nothing but a pleasure to work for! The Directors / Senior Management team are nothing but supportive and there is plenty of progression on offer. I love my job and love coming to work every day. We have an amazing, award winning team which we are immensley proud of and we continue to go from strength to strength. We're like one big family.. we work hard and are rewarded well because of it. I dont think there are many companies out there who throw summer BBQ's, hold days out at a theme park or take their staff away for a spa / golfing day weekend!

    Cons

    I wouldnt still be working here if there were any!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing service and team!

    21 Apr 2016 - Key Account Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Blue Octopus provide an excellent service to clients, supporting them through their recruitment process and building strong relationships with them. Working for the company is a pleasure as the team are so friendly and are very close knit. I have been here just over 2 years and I have created an extremely rewarding career so far!

    Cons

    None! (Otherwise I wouldn't still be working here)

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A fulfilling and supportive company to work for

    21 Apr 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Blue Octopus for over 3 years. They recognised hard work and dedicated staff, support and training was available and everyone worked together as part of a happy team to get the job done. The team there gave exceptional service to clients and job seekers alike and I see they're continuing to flourish in the recruitment industry.

    Cons

    I had a really positive experience there.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Blue Octopus Recruitment? Share Your Experiences

Blue Octopus Recruitment logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Client Delivery Manager(2)

Blue Octopus Recruitment Job Seekers Also Viewed

Hays Logo
Hays

3.8

5,473 reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 19 Blue Octopus Recruitment reviews submitted anonymously by Blue Octopus Recruitment employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Blue Octopus Recruitment is right for you.