Bloomberg L.P. Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bloomberg L.P. Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bloomberg L.P. CEO Michael R. Bloomberg
Michael R. Bloomberg
1,163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food for lunch in the Princeton office(in 362 reviews)

  • "good work life balance in machine learning team(in 262 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (55)

    "Best culture. work place, colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing office, great ambiance and vibes, transparency, free food If you perform well, they will invest so much in you from knowledge to mental health wise Philanthropy Diversity Great culture Dynamic work, never dull

    Cons

    Really I don't have much. Just the fact that if you quit, even if for personal reasons like do a MBA or a family matter, it is impossible to go back in

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-02-06
  2. "Infrastructure Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, work life balance not so bad

    Cons

    Hard to climb up the ranks. Alot of hard work seems to go unnoticed at times

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-02-21
  3. "Product Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P. full-time

    Pros

    Long term thinking and investing in products coming from the philosophy of the major share holder

    Cons

    Sector is static given the mood for cutting back in all their clients

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-02-18
  4. "Senior Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging work Good pension, health other benefits and perks Friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Poor communications Strategy a bit scattered, can change from month to month

    Advice to Management

    Improve communications

    Bloomberg L.P.2018-02-23
  5. Helpful (34)

    "Data Operations Analyst, Bloomberg Polarlake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Data Operation Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P.

    Pros

    Free snacks. Casual dress. That's it.

    Cons

    Very unprofessional environment. Training non-existent. Disorganized, clumsy and unqualified personnel promoted into staff leading positions. Staff very unhappy and terrible atmosphere within the office. No one knows what they are doing from one day to the next.

    Advice to Management

    Extremely disrespectful of staff. Need to remove key members of "management" team.

    Bloomberg L.P.2016-05-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales and Analytics Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P.

    Pros

    Free Food, Very smart people, Great training. The training is very good and the time spent in analytics is by far the highlight because you don't spend any time doing the actual job, you just go to classes and participate in team projects.

    Cons

    glorified call centre, no job progress after being a sales rep, huge turnover in staff, results overly based on metrics and calling numbers, outdated sales techniques. A lot of people in this division missed out in late rounds of bank interviews and will jump ship as soon as they get the chance. Skills are not as transferable as they make you think

    Bloomberg L.P.2014-03-13
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous benefits, offices around the world and understanding bosses

    Cons

    Hierarchical, old-fashioned and not very diverse

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-14
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Good work life balance

    Cons

    Some of the work is boring

    Advice to Management

    none

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-12
  9. "Sotware Engineer role in Bloomberg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Bloomberg L.P. full-time

    Pros

    Dealing with challenging problems day to day in Software infrastructure team, and having broad ways of learning. Training classes are always available at the company.

    Cons

    The formality and pieocracy of the company culture. The complexity of the code structure of some of the legacy code that has been sitting there for a while.

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-12
  10. "Great company and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Editor in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at Bloomberg L.P. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a great 4 years at Bloomberg News and would recommend anyone to work there. I particularly liked my team and keep in touch with some of them.

    Cons

    It's been four years since I've worked there but growth seems to have stalled a bit, limiting upside opportunities for talented people.

    Bloomberg L.P.2019-11-12
Found 3337 reviews