Blackboard Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Blackboard Reviews

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Blackboard CEO Bill Ballhaus
Bill Ballhaus
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had a great work/life balance(in 49 reviews)

  • "The work life balance cannot be beat, most departments offer very flexible work situations(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "Meaning any work life balance you have is not allowed by this company to some degree(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper management were does not take care of their employees(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid engineers. Management getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great engineers. Learned a ton

    Cons

    - dizzying management in early days

    Advice to Management

    It’s getting better. Consistency is key

    Blackboard2020-01-05
  2. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time

    Pros

    Excellent team across several regions

    Cons

    Fast changing technology with big competition

    Blackboard2020-01-02
  3. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Info Systems Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with highly motivated and smart professionals.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership support, no work from home, low pay

    Blackboard2020-01-08
  4. "Blackboard update"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leading Edtech company. Your work impacts in the life and future of thousands of students and institutions.

    Cons

    Ongoing transformation. No benefits package (health insurance, car, pension plan, etc.)

    Blackboard2019-12-19
  5. "Bb's seen better days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pioneered the LMS space for online teaching and learning. One of the top recognizable brands in edtech.

    Cons

    Lost competitive edge after allowing products to become stagnant. Struggling to update and modernize offerings.

    Blackboard2019-12-09
  6. "Management causes call centers to have revolving doors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Killeen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The group of individuals that made up my team were great. Valuable skills and program handling assisted in boosting my resume to find a better job.

    Cons

    Upper management were does not take care of their employees. They do not advocate for the employees. I can’t say that the only care about the client because at times the client is as lied on to make it seem like they’re the ones making the employees feel like they are in a sweat shop. The clients are not always informed that the employees that work for them remotely are not dedicated to just their business but several other clients as well. Your days off are provided as hours to in a bucket system only after you’ve been there a year. The amount provided is only able to cover about 14 days paid for the year. You do not get paid for holidays unless you’ve worked there for 3 years. Working holidays is competitive and more tenured reps get first dibs. You are not allotted any sick days and must either use your bucketed paid or unpaid time off. (If you Have any)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Treat your employees as people and not numbers and money in your pocket.

    Blackboard2019-11-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    awesome people , I loved my job .

    Cons

    Sick time, Gossip. Drugs I wish they would something about the drug users

    Advice to Management

    Do drug test and check references more thoroughly.

    Blackboard2019-10-18
  8. "Associate software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent labor environment with highly skilled coworkers

    Cons

    No cons. Is a Dream job

    Advice to Management

    For new hires is good to have an excellent introduction to the product where he/she is going to work at: architecture, software design, technologies used, etc.

    Blackboard2019-10-19
  9. "Working with a passionate group that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everyone is collaborative, willing to help a colleague and customer out, good work / life balance.

    Cons

    Industry is moving quickly.

    Blackboard2019-10-09
  10. "Not so good for Junior positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Engineer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind treatment and great teamworking

    Cons

    Fewer opportunities to learn new stuff

    Blackboard2019-10-09
Found 573 reviews