BlackBerry "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

BlackBerry Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 17 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO & Executive Chair John Chen
John Chen
833 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent work life balance. Solid technology portfolio. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    Beyond unrealistic sales quotas equals constant revolving door in sales and channel teams.

    Advice to Management

    Set goals that are aggressive, yet attainable.

    BlackBerry2019-12-18
  2. "Average internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Student Software Developer in Kanata, ON

    I have been working at BlackBerry for less than a year

    Pros

    - free snacks everyday - nice work life balance

    Cons

    - location sucks if you don't have a car - low pay (they revealed the pay after I had already signed the contract which they gave me only 1 day to sign)

    BlackBerry2019-12-10
  3. "Working on a turn around."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Software Developer 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, benefit and work life balance.

    Cons

    Culture, work in silos, not much team building activity.

    BlackBerry2019-11-04
  4. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    work environment, nice building, nice co-workers

    Cons

    low salary, over time, bad work-life balance

    BlackBerry2019-11-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great people and team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are wonderful, very welcoming. Very diverse set of skills and abilities within the organization. Never short from learning on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is very difficult. It may be unique to my role given I'm in security and monitoring. BlackBerry has a hard rule from working from home which has only gotten more extreme. Before it was casual and if you had a good reason, I'm thinking some people abused the freedom we had. Unfortunately this has stifled my family life and I feel like I'm always in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Discuss hours of operation, work from home capability again. Competing organizations are well advanced in comparison.

    BlackBerry2019-09-28
  6. "Commodity Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and work-life balance

    Cons

    poor management and frequent changes in tasks

    BlackBerry2019-09-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great Staff, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Security Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above market pay Quality team members

    Cons

    Complete lack of leadership or vision Only management is micromanagement Sales staff are often management Poor work life balance No professional growth or development

    Advice to Management

    Articulate your vision Manage to the vision Put people in management that know how to translate and handle projects that can execute to the vision Keep sales away from management Treat your staff like professionals instead of school children Talk to your staff about what they want to do in their career and help them prepare for and achieve it

    BlackBerry2019-09-03
  8. "Great place to worl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Creative Services Manager 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries are generous and work/life balance is good.

    Cons

    Communication between departments can be disorganized.

    BlackBerry2019-08-16
  9. "Great culture, smart people, innovation hindered by process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, excellent work life balance, subsidized meals and free healthy snacks.

    Cons

    Senior management is unfortunately very reactive instead of proactive. Innovation is often crippled by excessive policy and lack of appropriate IT framework. My job (like most) is 85% process, 15% actuall work. Might as well be government.

    Advice to Management

    Create an environment where people can learn and innovate instead of being bogged down by process.

    BlackBerry2019-07-12
  10. "Good Place to Work Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good salary with bonus incentive. Good work-life balance with flexible hours. Strong leadership from CEO John Chen.

    Cons

    Go-to-market strategy not fully baked for new solutions. Limited career growth opportunities.

    BlackBerry2019-07-10
Found 192 reviews