BlackBerry "blackberry" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

BlackBerry Employee Reviews about "blackberry"

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO & Executive Chair John Chen
John Chen
833 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "blackberry"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The best in mobile security products!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    First-class products! There are no better mobile security and productivity tools on the market, period.

    Cons

    Tough name recognition challenges. Prospective clients would require a lot of education about the "new" BlackBerry, before the conversation could progress.

    Continue reading
    BlackBerry2019-12-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great people and team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are wonderful, very welcoming. Very diverse set of skills and abilities within the organization. Never short from learning on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is very difficult. It may be unique to my role given I'm in security and monitoring. BlackBerry has a hard rule from working from home which has only gotten more extreme. Before it was casual and if you had a good reason, I'm thinking some people abused the freedom we had. Unfortunately this has stifled my family life and I feel like I'm always in the office.

    Continue reading
    BlackBerry2019-09-28
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Cylance is dying - caustic leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bagel Thursdays, free food every other Friday, snacks.

    Cons

    Terrible leadership and no product. Development has stalled for more than 2 years and the competition is destroying Cylance. BlackBerry has some great assets, but John Chen is stuck in turnaround mode, when he should be hitting the accelerator now...instead Cylance is the horsehead in the bed and will be an albatross for many more years.

    Continue reading
    BlackBerry2019-10-14
  4. "Great company to start career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Enterprise Technical Support Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping people and lots of resources for self development.

    Cons

    No negative working at BlackBerry.

    Continue reading
    BlackBerry2019-07-31
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation. Some inspiring leaders to work for . Opportunities to grow and learn if you seek for advancement

    Cons

    Communication is always challenging in big companies and BlackBerry is not the exception. Time of transition and restructuring were difficult years of uncertainty for employees but it feels as it is all in the past and the environment is much better now.

    BlackBerry2019-06-08
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry for less than a year

    Pros

    The workload for this position is not heavy. It's a good experience to learn web development.

    Cons

    Blackberry is declining. It's hard to get return offer.

    BlackBerry2019-04-15
  7. "software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice work culture, great team members, good learning experience.

    Cons

    None so far about Blackberry, Ottawa

    BlackBerry2019-03-19
  8. "Software Applications Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry

    Pros

    It was a good work experience

    Cons

    Blackberry was dying at the time

    BlackBerry2019-02-01
  9. "Global Sales Strategy Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at BlackBerry

    Pros

    Had a great time working here at BlackBerry! I got to do some very interesting, customer-facing work that had a part in bringing pipeline and value to the company, something you cannot easily get to do as an intern. The manager is also very supportive in providing students a comprehensive learning experience. Overall, it was a great experience and highly recommended for anyone looking to learn more about pre-sales and sales.

    Cons

    Excited to see what BlackBerry has to offer in the future.

    BlackBerry2018-12-21
  10. "Internship - Global Sales Strategy - Customer Discovery - Toronto Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Global Sales Strategy - Customer Discovery in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most people in the office are friendly and smart. You can make good professional connections

    Cons

    The structure of the internship program is inadequate. BlackBerry has 4 months internship terms happening 3 times each year, which means the company has interns filling roles for 12 months, instead of hiring full-time employees. Because of the high turn-over of interns, you will perform simple tasks, and the learning outcomes are practically inexistent This specific team has a manager who behaves in an extremely inappropriate manner. I can list a handful of repeated behaviours that are described by the Government of Canada as workplace harassment, such as: - preventing a student from expressing himself or herself interrupting that person - continually yelling, threatening and intimidating students and co-workers - making rude and degrading remarks about students work, with no guidance for improvement - discrediting current and former students and employees by spreading malicious gossip - making fun of people who previously complained about those behaviours to Human Resources

    Continue reading
    BlackBerry2018-09-20

    BlackBerry Response

    October 16, 2018HR Team

    BlackBerry has a very strong student co-op and internship program. We very much value the contributions of our students and we work hard with the senior leadership team, hiring managers and recruitment team to ensure that our student positions provide meaningful and challenging learning experiences. Feedback and role evaluations from students are solicited and welcomed throughout the student term, and are reviewed for insights to the continuous improvement of our student programs. An important policy at BlackBerry is our Anti-Workplace Harassment Policy. If BlackBerry receives a complaint of harassment at any level, we immediately initiate an investigation. Complaints can be submitted to an HR Business Partner, HR Employee Relations, directly to the EVP of Human Resources, or using EthicsLink. BlackBerry encourages all of its employees to raise issues regarding their working environment and we have a zero tolerance policy for retaliation against anyone who raises these kinds of issues. We thank you for providing the information in your review, and invite you to reach out to the Senior Director of HR Employee Relations or directly to the EVP of Human Resources, so that we can obtain additional insight to your student co-op experience and ensure that the matter is investigated.

    Continue reading
Found 125 reviews