Black & McDonald Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
54 Ratings
  1. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    -Lots of opportunities; many projects to be involved in -Travel (if you like going to different places)

    Cons

    -Travel: many projects may be away from your main stay of residence; may potentially impact work life balance

    Black & McDonald2018-09-11
  2. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    I haven't been here that long, but so far it seems like a good place to work. The company and management are top notch.

    Cons

    My job position is unengaging and boring, but that is the nature of this kind of work. Doesn't seem like there is any room to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Engage with employees better

    Black & McDonald2018-09-13
  3. "Best Experience in Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing, friendly and helpful team, it is a pleasure working with them. Company provides the best environment to develop yourself, learn and show results.

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful, when all problems come at once, but at the end of the day problems are associated with development.

    Black & McDonald2018-08-17
  4. "Electrical Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good wages, good management ,great work enviroment

    Cons

    not always able to supply steady work

    Black & McDonald2018-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Utility worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Great guys to work with in the field Always safe and fun

    Cons

    The management was terrible, if you were from a certain location(Chester) then you got treated like dirt, favoritism runs hard in the company doesn't matter how long you spend working there your just a number at the end of the day

    Advice to Management

    Drop some people make a difference

    Black & McDonald2018-08-28
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Port Darlington, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment with peers.

    Cons

    Priority issues between departments. Not much room to progress further.

    Advice to Management

    Need a one vision idea and nourish/ invest to own people.

    Black & McDonald2018-07-12
  7. "project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    training, mentorship, development, people, work culture

    Cons

    lack of employee appreciation, lack of younger talent (company is trying to fix this)

    Black & McDonald2018-06-12
  8. "Good to be in a good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The group that I work with are good people, great environment and fun place.

    Cons

    Can be overworked at sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Company can take advantage of the new technology.

    Black & McDonald2018-06-06
  9. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Overall good place to work

    Cons

    Communication from management needs to improve, too decenterlized

    Black & McDonald2018-06-15
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Privately owned company. Great team Atmosphere. Management sticks to their word.

    Cons

    Benefits could be modernized. Great basic dental and medical however.

    Black & McDonald2018-05-23
Found 98 reviews