Black & McDonald Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Black & McDonald Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
14 Ratings
  1. "Great Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Principles on which the company was founded are still valued today - Exciting diverse project portfolio - Opportunity to find best fit between divisions and trades - Personal and professional growth opportunities

    Cons

    - Lack of communication between divisions and regions - Sometimes lingering feeling of trepidation in the office

    Advice to Management

    They do a great job of connecting with people at all levels of the company. Most people are very nice and accommodating. Focus on the leadership, that's what has the biggest impact in workers daily lives.

    Black & McDonald2019-08-22
  2. "Professional, Fair, Fun and Engaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging and fun. Effort and accomplishments are well recognized.

    Cons

    Sometimes collaboration between departments could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep the lines of communication open both up and down in the organization.

    Black & McDonald2019-07-23
  3. "it was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Assistant Project Manager in Brossard, QC

    I worked at Black & McDonald for less than a year

    Pros

    good tools for an internship and after but i think we dont have acess to it

    Cons

    the Harvard was long, i was feeling like it was repetitive at some point in the same area .. The classes should be not as long

    Advice to Management

    none

    Black & McDonald2019-08-06
  4. "On site manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Great ppl

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from direct manager

    Black & McDonald2019-06-29
  5. "Friends only. Don’t get tricked into thinking stigmas change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good spin to make you feel important, but you’ll get kicked out and talked poorly about once you are out. Only “real family and friends” matter. I will be leaving along with many colleagues ASAP.

    Cons

    You are only a number. Really thought the ownership cared, but was sadly wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate and follow through on what you say. Actions speak volumes over empty words.

    Black & McDonald2019-07-12
  6. "Project Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Site Manager in Pickering, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very supportive and family orientated organization. Always encouraging innovation and participation at all levels of the organization.

    Cons

    None at the time of writing this review.

    Advice to Management

    Looking forward to celebrating our 100th year anniversary in 2021. Keep up the great work!

    Black & McDonald2019-05-13
  7. "Great place to learn and grow professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company that values its employees knowledge Lots of opportunities to grow professionally Team work it's valued Fair compensations Great safety culture and work environment Great leadership commitment

    Cons

    No cons for myself, but could be for others Fast paced Full days

    Black & McDonald2019-05-13
  8. "Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Site Manager, Large Facilities in Bowmanville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company Culture! One that values people, safety and doing it right.

    Cons

    Continue to implement new technologies to continue improving safety, quality and reduce costs.

    Advice to Management

    Continue living and promoting great company values and doing it right on every task, every day.

    Black & McDonald2019-05-13
  9. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The support of a large company with family owned company values Lots of autonomy to do your work and recognition for a job well done

    Cons

    Regions can be silo'd, more collaboration would be helpful

    Advice to Management

    Continue trusting your people and they will continue to do great things

    Black & McDonald2019-03-26
  10. "Hard work can pay off. Some frustrations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady company with opportunities to work on many varied types of projects.

    Cons

    Management do not always realize or appreciate how hard the employees work on a daily basis

    Black & McDonald2018-10-30
Found 20 reviews