Black & McDonald Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Black & McDonald Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
16 Ratings
  1. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, great culture. Highly value employees.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company.

    Black & McDonald2020-01-15

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 17, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

    Continue reading
  2. "Responsible for all Labour and Employment matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Family owned, Canadian, and a long successful history of success.

    Cons

    None, great place to work and build a career.

    Black & McDonald2019-12-27

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Principles on which the company was founded are still valued today - Exciting diverse project portfolio - Opportunity to find best fit between divisions and trades - Personal and professional growth opportunities

    Cons

    - Lack of communication between divisions and regions - Sometimes lingering feeling of trepidation in the office

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-08-22

    Black & McDonald Response

    August 27, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

    Continue reading
  4. "Professional, Fair, Fun and Engaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging and fun. Effort and accomplishments are well recognized.

    Cons

    Sometimes collaboration between departments could be better.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-07-23

    Black & McDonald Response

    July 31, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

    Continue reading
  5. "it was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Assistant Project Manager in Brossard, QC

    I worked at Black & McDonald for less than a year

    Pros

    good tools for an internship and after but i think we dont have acess to it

    Cons

    the Harvard was long, i was feeling like it was repetitive at some point in the same area .. The classes should be not as long

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-08-06

    Black & McDonald Response

    August 8, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your review.

    Continue reading
  6. "On site manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Great ppl

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from direct manager

    Black & McDonald2019-06-29

    Black & McDonald Response

    July 2, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

    Continue reading
  7. "Friends only. Don’t get tricked into thinking stigmas change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good spin to make you feel important, but you’ll get kicked out and talked poorly about once you are out. Only “real family and friends” matter. I will be leaving along with many colleagues ASAP.

    Cons

    You are only a number. Really thought the ownership cared, but was sadly wrong.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-07-12

    Black & McDonald Response

    July 18, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review and provide us with this invaluable feedback. We are very concerned to hear of your negative experience as a current employee of Black & McDonald. As we are committed to providing a safe, positive and respectful environment for all our employees, we strongly encourage you to speak with your HR Representative so that may better understand and address your specific concerns.

    Continue reading
  8. "Project Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Site Manager in Pickering, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very supportive and family orientated organization. Always encouraging innovation and participation at all levels of the organization.

    Cons

    None at the time of writing this review.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-05-13

    Black & McDonald Response

    May 17, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    Thanks for the amazing review! We appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to learn and grow professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company that values its employees knowledge Lots of opportunities to grow professionally Team work it's valued Fair compensations Great safety culture and work environment Great leadership commitment

    Cons

    No cons for myself, but could be for others Fast paced Full days

    Black & McDonald2019-05-13

    Black & McDonald Response

    May 17, 2019Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. At Black & McDonald, We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your positive experience with us

    Continue reading
  10. "Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Site Manager, Large Facilities in Bowmanville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company Culture! One that values people, safety and doing it right.

    Cons

    Continue to implement new technologies to continue improving safety, quality and reduce costs.

    Continue reading
    Black & McDonald2019-05-13
Found 22 reviews