Bio-Techne Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Bio-Techne President & CEO Charles Kummeth (no image)
Charles Kummeth
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very high EPIC value in our company(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, Great people, Room for growth, love coming to work(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is a disconnect between upper management and the people(in 7 reviews)

  • "They are grateful that R&D Systems is as strong as ever and that we have not been gobbled up by a big company(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A company with meaning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room to invent in some areas of the business, company is seeking to more fully encompass EPIC values (empowerment, passion, innovation, collaboration), the work is interesting, the products that are being made are all being used in exciting, important work.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect between upper management and the people. Employees are often not heard if what they are saying disagrees with a corporate directive. For those who appreciate work from home or flexibility, this is not the company for you. Typically will not pay top of market - low to medium at best.

    Continue reading

    Bio-Techne Response

    June 12, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the advice you've provided and take this feedback seriously. Please feel free to contact us at hr@bio-techne.com to discuss any concerns further.

  2. "A place to Grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some great leaders at Bio-Techne that believe in their people and the mission. The EPIC values and the culture shift at this company in the recent past are really impacting the mindsets of the people here.

    Cons

    The organization still operates pretty lean.

    Continue reading

    Bio-Techne Response

    June 12, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback.

  3. "Its ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They gave us nice sweatshirts

    Cons

    No bonuses or equity for anyone below director level

    Continue reading

    Bio-Techne Response

    June 19, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed the sweatshirt and also thank you for your recommendations on how we can better improve.

  4. "Great place to get some experience, not a great place to stay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Located in Minneapolis Paid time off and holiday pay

    Cons

    Equipment is falling apart Expected to ignore the SOPs Went home with rashes and migraines Not given the tools necessary to complete your job Unsafe work environment Chemical hoods were not well maintained Raises were minimal/non existent Promotions without raises

    Continue reading

    Bio-Techne Response

    June 19, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience with Bio-Techne. We are disappointed and concerned to hear this feedback. Please email us at hr@bio-techne.com to discuss this further. Thank you!

  5. "Experiences can vary greatly"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time

    Pros

    Lots of different opportunities Headquarters in MN Stable Many great people

    Cons

    The company is very LEAN which can be good or bad depending on what you want Not very transparent especially about salary and salary potential

    Continue reading

    Bio-Techne Response

    June 12, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We appreciate you sharing some of the positive parts of your experience with us and also providing us with this feedback on how we can better improve. Please do not hesitate to contact us at hr@bio-techne.com if you'd like to discuss your feedback further.

  6. "I enjoy working at Bio-Techne"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Heavily involved with leaders and peers to achieve goals which in turn helps with learning and growth. There's always something new and challenging to do. Bio-Techne is also growing very fast so there's room for advancement.

    Cons

    Many things to do, but sometimes not enough time. Also new management so there is learning to do on their end, and patience needed on our end as well.

    Continue reading

    Bio-Techne Response

    May 29, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your kind words and also advice on how we can continue to improve.

  7. "Good place"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    The 401K match is on the lower side.

    Bio-Techne Response

    April 3, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feedback! We are always looking for feedback on how we can better improve.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Perks & Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love this job. My coworkers are great people. The benefits of the job are fantastic. Seriously, the subject matter seems dull, but it's really exciting. Despite being large, you don't feel like just another cog in the wheel. They're interested in you as a person. They take into account your career is one facet of your life and allow you leniency for sick days and childcare.

    Cons

    Bio-Techne is a BIG company. Each of the hubs (Denver, Minneapolis, San Jose, England, China, Canada) is sort of its own company, but they do try to bring everyone together. Also, sometimes it feels like deadlines are unrealistic.

    Bio-Techne Response

    March 18, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for your review of Bio-Techne!

  9. "Bio-Techne"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom and flexibility. No micro-managing.

    Cons

    Could use better management communication

    Bio-Techne Response

    March 18, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

  10. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, in a strong position, with opportunities to develop into.

    Cons

    Pay is below market.

    Bio-Techne Response

    March 18, 2020HR Representative

    Thank you! We appreciate you sharing your feedback about Bio-Techne.

Found 139 reviews