Barry Callebaut Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Barry Callebaut Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
78%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Barry Callebaut CEO Antoine de Saint-Affrique
Antoine de Saint-Affrique
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fast growing/good products/HR & Talent Management needs to be strengthened."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belgium, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barry Callebaut part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -fast growing company with very entrepreneurial mindset providing lots of opportunities for growth if you just know how to grab them. -very warm and nice colleagues -flat hierarchy and you can talk to top managers with your opinions and suggestions -products are good and interesting; always on top of innovation

    Cons

    -overall HR and talentmanagement needs improvement -talents leave because of the lack of appreciation for internal talents -some senior managers are micromanagers which becomes demotivating for high performes. -career opportunities are normally available to go getters. Every promotion or change in position needs to be applied for which is understandable in general but demotivating for some.

    Advice to Management

    -strengthen the focus on right talent management especially with the internal talent pool -a 180 or 360 degree feedback would be great to implement so that employees and managers will have the same opportunity for growth

    Barry Callebaut2019-10-30
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barry Callebaut full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time to time we have sweet sample from the academy

    Cons

    Missing human dimension , is all and the exclusivelly money driven. Fair treattement is replaced by personal judgement . Job schedule and department view are silo .

    Advice to Management

    First care about people , they are already taking care of the business

    Barry Callebaut2019-11-21
  3. "Slow to promote, but good opportunities if willing to stick it out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D Technologist in Pennsauken, NJ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barry Callebaut full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth. Mid-range salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Slow to promote younger people, but if willing to wait it out the company can offer lots of great opportunities for experience and travel

    Barry Callebaut2019-10-14
  4. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Barry Callebaut full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and benefits

    Cons

    growth opportunities limited in the company

    Barry Callebaut2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with lots of opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Development Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barry Callebaut full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great company for someone looking to grow their career. Barry Callebaut invests in their talent and if an employees is dedicated, hardworking and willing to invest in themselves, the sky is the limit! Fun and engaging culture. International company that offers several avenues to give back to the community (both local and globally) through charitable, fundraising and volunteer events.

    Cons

    Similar to any other company, you will get busy from time to time. Employees who are able to multi-task and prioritize will do great here!

    Barry Callebaut2019-09-23
  6. "Love working for Chocolate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barry Callebaut full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A fast growing company and a place where you can have a big impact on the business - no matter your job. Positive culture and strong values. Plus, lots and lots of chocolate.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work due to the fast growth. If you enjoy a challenge, you will enjoy the ride.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on the promote from within culture. Continue to bring more learning and development opportunities.

    Barry Callebaut2019-09-25
  7. "big brother in the cocoa industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Barry Callebaut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good compensation and benefits, on time working hours

    Cons

    too short time given to catch up

    Advice to Management

    need to give more time for new staff to learn the ropes

    Barry Callebaut2019-10-09
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barry Callebaut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have great benefits and competitive compensation. There is good work/life balance and they offer flexible schedules. There is room for growth and it is a great company culture. They offer a chocolate treat every Friday afternoon and they offer summer hours.

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Barry Callebaut2019-09-23
  9. "My Dream Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chocolate Academy Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barry Callebaut full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, outstanding product and innovative brand!

    Cons

    No Cons to speak of

    Barry Callebaut2019-09-23
  10. "Fabulous (and delicious) place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Talent Acquisition in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barry Callebaut full-time

    Pros

    Awesome team spirit, integrity, and work ethic! Oh, and there's chocolate. I received an extremely warm welcome during my first week at BC and it's been a pleasure to work here since. I was surprised to have received calls from people around the globe simply to welcome me and introduce themselves. BC can be chaotic and extremely fast-paced, but at its core, the people are passionate, a blast to work with,... and treat each other well. We're on a mission to make our work environment collaborative and more process-driven - which in turn is a process, but we'll get there!

    Show More

    Cons

    Simplify! The leadership team has implemented efforts remove complexity from our work day by streamlining processes on a global level. We're not there yet, but chipping away at workng smarter, not harder.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to your employees and encouraging employee engagement. From an employee perspective, being heard goes a long way.

    Barry Callebaut2019-09-23
Found 235 reviews