Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "care staff"

Updated 30 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "care staff"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Caring but understaffed"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, good training, beautiful building and furnishings

    Cons

    Very short staffed and would not use agency nurses so care staff and nurses worked very hard to provide the best care possible, but too few of us and too little time.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    August 7, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be passed on for review.

  2. "pay rates are unfair and work load is madness"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in West Bromwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me

    Cons

    the company takes liberties , pay rates are unfair and varied across homes some are paid very very well others are expected to do the same job for half the money expectations are set way to high and support is next to none this company does not know the meaning of fair!!!

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear you feel this way. Please share your views in more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com


  3. Helpful (1)

    "AWFUL COMPANY"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Bognor Regis, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to this company

    Cons

    Everything is wrong at Westergate House Fontwell West Sussex. The latest is care staff now have to do 2 hours cleaning in the morning and 3 hours cleaning in the afternoon plus activities as the 3 activities staff are all off. Plus all the residents care ! How many hours do they think a care assistant has in a day. The management don't help at all .The residents won't get the care they deserve or pay for . Awful place to work as nobody cares about the staff . The role of the care assistant job has now changed as it means ......Care , laundry , kitchen duty , activities, hoovering and dusting. This is all because Barchester cannot keep their staff, nobody likes working for this company

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take feedback of this type very seriously so please give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Okay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Brackley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Residents are amazing Care staff and some of the nurses are there for you 100%

    Cons

    Management are money based They don’t really listen to you about some of the issues there are at the home Only seem to get negative feedback Not much support to care staff when you are struggling

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    May 28, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We know we can only care and support our residents if we care for our employees. We’re disappointed to hear your experience isn't what you want it to be. We’d like to know more so we can look for ways to improve things. Please give us as much detail as possible about your concerns by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Bullies"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Sevenoaks, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents and their families care staff work hard

    Cons

    Huge bullying culture. Right from the top conference calls are brutal . Directors have no idea and the divisional director is rude to all her staff

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    March 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor support structure"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Lancaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    lovely residents and relatives, care staff good but overworked

    Cons

    poor support, blame culture in place, make a mistake once and they don't support you, they get rid of you, bad message to send out to other staff,

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    March 11, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you feel negatively about working at Barchester. We continue to improve the support we offer our employees, so your feedback is important. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  7. Helpful (6)

    "A Joke of a company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

    Cons

    Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    August 2, 2018Social Media Exec

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Shame there isn’t a zero star rating!"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare

    Pros

    The Care staff on the front line are wonderful. They are the ones that care for the residents and do a great job.

    Cons

    This is a company that is For Sale. The company is led by a dreadful COO and Divisional Directors who do not care about the staff or the residents. They encourage and are bullies who are only interested in the amount of money they make. Steer clear if you value your self esteem and confidence to do your job. Don’t get sucked in by the offers of big money (for the managers only) you will have no life. The big bucks don’t roll down to the Care staff but the managers do well. When the CQC come in, a great front is put on, as soon as they’ve “blagged” there way through the CQC inspections everything reverts back to how it was. Just hideous. Why the CQC haven’t twigged is amazing. There are one or two managers who genuinely care, but only one or two. Steer clear.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    July 31, 2018Social Media Exec

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Barchester. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 82% saying they’d recommend us as an employer. It’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please let us know more about the experience you had by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  9. Helpful (4)

    "disappointed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Carer in Chacombe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    caring staff, residents, and family members are understanding.

    Cons

    poor staffing levels lack of continuous leadership and management. an air of fear towards raising concerns. poor induction process. not enough permanent nursing staff. no continuity.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    December 19, 2017Head of Social

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us to provide the best experience possible for our employees.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "All about money"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Health Care Assistant in Chichester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare

    Pros

    Nice environment and caring staff

    Cons

    All they want is money, don't really care about residents. Would rather put residents in other homes than accept local authority rates. General managers are chained to their computers reading emails about occupancy and budgets. And I thought Barchester cared, well I can tell you they don't . Bullying tactics are the norm.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    July 3, 2017Head of Social

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry you’re no longer at Barchester, but we wish you every success in your future career.

Found 20 reviews