Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "Residents and their families care staff work hard(in 14 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It is a company made only for money! Bathester Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Reg and Staff Nurse in Trim
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros... The pros are the residents! They have been lovely! They made me stay that long. Some of staff were nice too.

    Cons

    Now. Here are a lot. 1They were bullying me. Yes. I felt bullied and I was lots of time treat like garbage. 2 I came in december 2015 working as a pre reg nurse. In that time, until I recieved my PIN I was treated like no one there. One day working as a carrer and next day doing nothing as a pre reg. I understant the stupid law that not alows you give meds until you have your PIN, but still. Who the hell need in... 2016 a PIN number and a special signature for a stupid Paracetamol? 3 Management. They just have no ideea about what is the job. They need about a full month to finish a rooster. I have to mention that sometimes we recived the rooster only 2 days before to start. Stupid. Management doesn't give a crap on what you think or what you need. All they care about is what they need. 4 Lack of staff. The biggest turnover I've ever seen all my life. Over 30 staff leaving and comming in the last 6 months. 5 Management advised people to talk to "best nurses" when they were complaining. That came from us, not the best nurses when adviced people to think. Management makes huge differences between people there. 6 Lots of infection possibilities. Sometimes NO gloves. Don't have to mention that during a huge "bug" made the place close for quarantine about 3 weeks. That time the staff didn't have any protection, only the gloves. No masks or any clothes to keep yourself safe. 7 Salaries, I had 18.50 promised as full time nurse. The contract said that very clear. During my pre reg period I was paid with 12.50 euros. Way to much for what I've been doing. The carrers are paid by 9.88/h. During my pre reg period, I went on anual leave. Before to go, I recived my PIN. Guess what. They told me that my 18.50 is starting when I go back. Not the same as in contract. 8 The last thing, I gave them my resignation letter, with exactly the notice period of the time they asked. After that they were calling me, begging to do 2 more weeks. I said yes. After first week when I decided to work 3 days, only worked 2, I left. I had some problems and I had to leave. Now, because I had under a full year I still had to pay them back 28 hours. Worked those 2 days. The problem is that I did not recived any payments for them. Just because I did not went there for another week. That was so childish. I was laughing around about that. Now, I intent to sue them because of the payment during my A/L and for the bully I was reciving there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is nothing you can do. In your place mr, I would be ashamed. It is sad. Just because of those nice residents you have!

    Barchester Healthcare2016-09-13
  2. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Healthcare Assistant in Llanelli, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training & Plenty of shifts available

    Cons

    Difficult environment, Terrible bank pay

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-13
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent induction, good training opportunities and bonuses. Management have open door policy and pay for staff is better than other homes in sector

    Cons

    The care planning system still not electronic and paper based system.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-12
  4. "Great company, great boss, great ceo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Communication is slick, open, honest and timely. Company motivates staff and is fair in supporting with issues

    Cons

    None so far that I can think of

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-28
  5. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's big company and has financial stability.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, low salary no career opportunities for those non clinical.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-27
  6. "Working for Barchester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Practitioner in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free training, profit share scheme, supportive team.

    Cons

    Rate of pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    Be more visible and approachable

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-23
  7. "Working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    World class working conditions

    Cons

    Salary is very low and staff is always leaving

    Advice to Management

    They can appreciate the workers more and improve remuneration

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good at my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Sevenoaks, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Been training towards a recognised qualification.

    Cons

    The manager, and regional manager are bullying people to an extremely high level, making unreasonable demands, like working 13 hours without a brake because they don’t want you to have help from agency staff.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like humans not robots.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Assistant in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents ( only thing keeping me there )

    Cons

    Staff are back stabbers that lie and twist things

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-22
  10. "The Manor, Taunton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Under new management. Ongoing changes have been extremely positive and we are now working as a team! This is fantastic for us and our residents!

    Cons

    There are no cons now

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-23
Found 229 reviews