Bank of Ireland Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bank of Ireland Reviews

Updated 21 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Bank of Ireland Group Chief Executive Officer  Francesca McDonagh
Francesca McDonagh
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, canteen does a decent brekkie too(in 43 reviews)

  • "Good people, a decent pension plan and a fairly supportive company when it comes to part-time education(in 23 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, allowed to make decsisions

    Cons

    You work hard! Some jobs mean working on Saturdays

    Bank of Ireland2020-02-03
  2. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Education, promotions and great environment

    Cons

    Low starting salary otherwise happy here.

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-21
  3. "Great support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very approachable and personable

    Cons

    None that I have experience yet

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-17
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Dealer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pension, Life insurance, critical illness cover, paid leave, maternity cover

    Cons

    No bonus, low annual leave,

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-16
  5. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Arrears Support Executive in Kilkenny
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits Ok salary It's a job

    Cons

    Too strict Too many policies Lots of going behind your back to report to management Too controlled

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-03
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Hours and a very friendly work environment

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times and training dies not sufficiently prepare yoyu for the role

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-10
  7. "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary, excellent benefits package; good opportunities to move roles within company; great colleagues;

    Cons

    Poor work life balance; non-transparent promotion practices; significant org change has led to loss of huge knowledge base; many of remaining staff keeping heads down, doing the job but no discretionary effort

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-06
  8. "Great people making up for old legacy systems and below average wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, Office environment. Free banking. Internal development and training courses.

    Cons

    Salary, Legacy systems.. Loss of expertise amoung senior management due to senior staff being offered VR. I.T outsourcing to a third-party caused a lot of issues with systems changes.

    Bank of Ireland2020-02-20
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, help with QFA exams

    Cons

    Hard to move up, lack of communication and understanding from management, old systems

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-04
  10. "Poor Management treat you as a disposible number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The People generally are nice

    Cons

    No career advancement / progression

    Bank of Ireland2020-03-20
Found 462 reviews