Bank of Ireland Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bank of Ireland Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Bank of Ireland Group Chief Executive Officer  Francesca McDonagh
Francesca McDonagh
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Model Validation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    no noticeable downsides to working here

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-13
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere. Good social club and great pension

    Cons

    Not much room for promotion outside of Dublin

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-17
  3. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, a decent pension plan and a fairly supportive company when it comes to part-time education.

    Cons

    The IT systems are atrocious.

    Advice to Management

    A massive overall of our IT is badly needed

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-13
  4. "Previous Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provides opportunity for progression and external training appropriate to the job. Nice atmosphere and office space with open-mindedness to improvements where possible

    Cons

    Some examples of nepotism within the office I was based in but may not be the case in other offices. The systems in place need quite an extensive over-hall to compete with existing and emerging banking systems.

    Advice to Management

    Review of current BOL and personal banking systems which would help alleviate the influx of customer care requests, staff and wait times and provide a better selling point for prospective customers.

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-06
  5. "Poor culture and no benefits, good flexible working on paper but not in practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Could work from home but depending on manager

    Cons

    Poor culture and working atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Be advocates for change

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-16
  6. "Ir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Culture and work ethic is great

    Cons

    Old and progression can be dependant on time there

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-01
  7. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Great pension, flexible working environment, friendly employees, opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Depending on the department, it can be difficult to progress and can be a slow paced working environment.

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-10
  8. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Great pension, salary, great people

    Cons

    slow paced environment, a lot of barriers and politics

    Bank of Ireland2020-01-07
  9. "Bank of Ireland review 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time

    Pros

    very friendly team and atmosphere

    Cons

    career opportunities - seems difficult/slow to progress

    Bank of Ireland2019-12-07
  10. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work Conditions Friendly environment Helpful Managers

    Cons

    Long hours at times but to be expected in the field of work

    Advice to Management

    Doing a good job

    Bank of Ireland2019-12-05
Found 434 reviews