Baker & Taylor Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Baker & Taylor Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Baker & Taylor President and CEO 	George Coe
George Coe
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, good communication, allowed to do your job without micro-management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Free books, movies, access to media trends, great customers(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Some Bad Decisions Aside, Still A Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company, friendly coworkers, supportive staff

    Cons

    Division was dissolved...customers were happy so were more than shocked when the decision was made

    Baker & Taylor2019-12-11
  2. "Good for stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgewater, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stability, even after merge with Follett and recentlay-off's

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for growth. Salaries have remained stagnant in my 10+ years

    Advice to Management

    Improve development plans for your employees

    Baker & Taylor2019-10-28
  3. "Average overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Clerk in Bridgewater, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, friendly environment, overtime available

    Cons

    You're nothing more than an employee there, can feel very replaceable

    Baker & Taylor2019-09-23
  4. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vas Department in Momence, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Right now they are paying double time if you work over 46 hrs. a week

    Cons

    We have been on overtime for a few years, 10 hrs a day and Saturday.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what is going wrong. You can't get people to stay and the ones that are left are getting burned. We can't keep going like this.

    Baker & Taylor2019-10-22
  5. "Experienced Senior Merchandise/Purchasing Manager with a history of working in the wholesale industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Buyer in Bridgewater, NJ

    I worked at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional work environment by management

    Cons

    Industry changes effected changes at corporate level

    Baker & Taylor2019-08-10
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Order Picker in Bridgewater, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker & Taylor for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People management easy clean laid back

    Cons

    None closing no a/c no heat love it

    Baker & Taylor2019-05-24
  7. "Closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dont have to take work home and management is flexible with work/life balance

    Cons

    company is closing suddenly ..

    Baker & Taylor2019-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Entertainment Division to competitor, Ingram Entertainment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Bridgewater, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Uninvolved boss who has a narrow skill set

    Cons

    low pay, expensive benefits, disorganized and vague focus under new owners. George Coe, Pres & CEO left company after a few months under new owners

    Advice to Management

    loading more onto sales staff will result in lack of focus. Replace current President

    Baker & Taylor2019-03-09
  9. "order picker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker & Taylor full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff and workers

    Cons

    nice work nice hours

    Advice to Management

    i like there work

    Baker & Taylor2019-01-08
  10. "Great jobs, if you're in the office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baker & Taylor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love my supervisor and managers; they really look out for their employees.

    Cons

    No ability to work from home on days with dangerous weather despite the fact that all work is easily done remotely. Not much room for advancement. Office jobs are in a much better environment than the warehouse.

    Baker & Taylor2018-12-16
Found 145 reviews