Bain & Company "professional development" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bain & Company Employee Reviews about "professional development"

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company Worldwide Managing Partner Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
601 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people & team: A Bainie never lets another Bainie fail(in 191 reviews)

  • "The firm's culture is one of constant learning - feedback sessions on my professional development occur 4-6 times a month with people of all tenures(in 182 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "professional development"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constant investment in professional development. Surrounded by really smart, hard working people who are committed to making working there a great experience.

    Cons

    Hours can be long and highly variable depending on the type of case

    Bain & Company2019-12-09
  2. Helpful (5)

    "There's a reason Bain is glassdoor's best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, professional development opportunities, mentorship

    Cons

    As is the case in management consulting, the hours can be long. But Bain is better than competing firms.

    Bain & Company2019-10-24
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bain cares so much about its people and invests so much in professional development and the overall culture.

    Cons

    There is nothing major from a cons perspective.

    Bain & Company2019-10-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible culture, awesome people, interesting problems to solve, great personal growth and professional development, minimal weekend work

    Cons

    Slower career trajectory than McKinsey or BCG, hours are getting longer

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow star performers to get promoted quicker - limit project scopes to make more sustainable experience for teams

    Bain & Company2019-10-06
  5. "Best job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - focus on professional development - supportive mentorship culture - brilliant, diverse, and fun colleagues make going into the office something I look forward to every week

    Cons

    - long hours can make finding time for social activities difficult Mon-Thurs

    Bain & Company2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Superb company culture, dedication to professional development through mentorship, excellent learning tools and outstanding health benefits

    Cons

    Some departments offer little opportunities for growth

    Bain & Company2019-09-25
  7. "Amazing and rewarding place to learn and grow; best company culture I've encountered hands down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -The best place to learn and grow professionally if you're interested in business - you're always being stretched to learn and grown and try new things -Extremely rewarding at each stage of the career from a compensation and benefits perspective -High touch professional development team helps you feel like you're not just a cog-in-the-wheel, I feel like I've had a very personalized journey through Bain over 6 years -Best culture and combination of high performance people that actually treat each other well -I feel prepared to go do so many different things, and at the same time I've continually opted into the role and the path here

    Show More

    Cons

    The two things the firm is working to address are consistent with what I would observe: -Sustainability - this is a hard job. A really hard job. The culture is super high performing and the problems we solve are not easy. This means that it's hard to turn your brain off of the work even if you leave for home at a reasonable hour. The upside is that relative to other consulting firms, the home office staffing model does very materially make this more of a sustainable place to build a long-term career in consulting. I've been here 6 years and could not have possibly done that if traveling 4 days/week as at many other firms. -Diversity and inclusion - consistent with many aspects of the corporate world, Bain is behind where it wants to / needs to be on the dimension of consulting staff diversity. I've been encouraged by how

    Show More
    Bain & Company2019-09-26
  8. "Inspiring client missions and the world's best people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    fascinating problems; work that has an impact; constant learning and professional development; meritocracy; talented colleagues who truly care and know how to have fun

    Cons

    nothing that isn't the realities of the Consulting industry

    Bain & Company2019-09-26
  9. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong focus on professional development, great flexible career models (including for men), and exciting projects for top clients

    Cons

    Can be long hours - as expected in the industry

    Bain & Company2019-09-25
  10. "Amazing place to develop while working on impactful problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Outstanding opportunities for professional development and learning, consistent exposure to the our clients' most important (and challenging) problems, results-focused work, amazing culture with high-caliber and supportive colleagues, generous compensation with upside as you progress

    Cons

    Hours and travel can be challenging at times

    Bain & Company2019-09-24
Found 182 reviews