Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bain & Company Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company Worldwide Managing Partner Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
579 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people & team: A Bainie never lets another Bainie fail(in 191 reviews)

  • "The firm's culture is one of constant learning - feedback sessions on my professional development occur 4-6 times a month with people of all tenures(in 182 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (577)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates and consultants are going to be tenacious in coming up with creative approaches. Those managers and partners are going to knock down barriers for you, connect you where you need to be connected, guide, support, direct and re-direct you. The office support staff is going to fix your computer after you spilled coffee on it for the third time, find you the unfindable data source, and smile and hand you a baked good after you ask for help re-doing dozens of slides. You are empowered and accountable but you are not alone. And the best part is you can't fail. Because after all, what all those people are reinforcing is that a Bainie never lets another Bainie fail.

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take a second to realize that it would be a lot less fun if the reverse were true. And isn't that precisely why you wanted this job in the first place anyway? It sure was for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and promote the leadership that lives our operating principles.

    Bain & Company2015-10-06
  2. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ACI 
    Recommends

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    salary, perspectives, nice people around, interesting projects

    Cons

    Work-life balance, projects are limited to retail, oil&gas, mining and aviation industries

    Bain & Company2020-01-16
  3. "Answer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Work Culture, work life balance

    Cons

    Not Available no extra information

    Bain & Company2020-01-17
  4. "Great Culture, Lots of Opportunity to Work & Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSR 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Positive and Supporting Culture Learning & Development Opportunities

    Cons

    Longer Hours due to nature of Consulting

    Bain & Company2020-01-13
  5. "Great learning, unparalleled culture and a very positive attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Exposure, learning, skill set development

    Cons

    Long hours at times (signed up for it!)

    Advice to Management

    Continue the momentum!

    Bain & Company2020-01-13
  6. "Bain Capability centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great Salary, Amazing people and perks

    Cons

    Work is monotonous after a while

    Bain & Company2020-01-08
  7. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTC Equity Derivatives Client Relationship Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People culture is truly amazing

    Cons

    Hours could be long some weeks

    Bain & Company2020-01-09
  8. "Associate consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in New Delhi

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diplomat and encourages to work on management

    Cons

    Diverse culture and flexibility

    Advice to Management

    First come first serve

    Bain & Company2020-01-18
  9. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    training, challenge, exposure, culture and people

    Cons

    working hours can be tough in some periods

    Bain & Company2020-01-01
  10. "Good learning experience, but tends to be all-encompassing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Consultant 

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Learning an effective problem solving toolkit Becoming highly proficient with Excel, PowerPoint, and a variety of other tools High-functioning team environment

    Cons

    Loss of work life balance, despite "Thriving at Bain" framework. Ultimately, you sacrifice your social life. The review system results in an underlying competitiveness between employees, which can foster ill-feelings They thrive off "insecure over achievers" trying to deliver Staffing opportunities often fall far short of promises

    Bain & Company2020-01-16
Found 2785 reviews