Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bain & Company Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company CEO Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
553 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (569)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates... and consultants are going to be tenacious in coming up with creative approaches. Those managers and partners are going to knock down barriers for you, connect you where you need to be connected, guide, support, direct and re-direct you. The office support staff is going to fix your computer after you spilled coffee on it for the third time, find you the unfindable data source, and smile and hand you a baked good after you ask for help re-doing dozens of slides. You are empowered and accountable but you are not alone. And the best part is you can't fail. Because after all, what all those people are reinforcing is that a Bainie never lets another Bainie fail.

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take... a second to realize that it would be a lot less fun if the reverse were true. And isn't that precisely why you wanted this job in the first place anyway? It sure was for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and promote the leadership that lives our operating principles.

    Bain & Company2015-10-06
  2. "CTL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Good Learning opportunity Senior Executive Exposure

    Cons

    Highly political environment Work/life balance quite poor

    Bain & Company2019-11-21
  3. "Best Career for Young Professionsal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Variety of Work Assignment, Access to Learning Opportunities, Flexibility between Projects, Global Mobility, Quality of People, Salary

    Cons

    Hard Work Required, Client-Facing Work can mean inflexible deadlines or commitments, Some Travel Required generally

    Bain & Company2019-11-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    People, culture, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Travel, long hours, high stress environment

    Bain & Company2019-11-14
  5. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work! You drive business decisions and learn a lot, and I had a lot of fun in the process. My colleagues became friends.

    Cons

    As with any strategy consultancy, the hours can be tough sometimes.

    Bain & Company2019-11-16
  6. "Strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of strong culture and benefits to working at Bain

    Cons

    Long hours and can be very tiring and exhausting

    Bain & Company2019-11-16
  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very people and results oriented

    Cons

    The size makes the organization somewhat less flexible

    Bain & Company2019-11-13
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant 

    I worked at Bain & Company part-time

    Pros

    Great culture and professional exposure

    Cons

    No specific cons, overall good

    Bain & Company2019-11-12
  9. "Engaging & Impactful work from the start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone you work with at Bain is fantastic. I have loved the opportunity to work with high powered teams on interesting and challenging problems.

    Cons

    The hours are frequently long.

    Bain & Company2019-11-11
  10. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Positive attitude, can-do spirit, new office, joining the global Bain officesi

    Cons

    Working ihours , pressure, industry specialization

    Bain & Company2019-11-08
Found 2729 reviews