Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bain & Company Reviews

Updated 3 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company Worldwide Managing Partner Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
610 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "working hours need to be adjusted(in 190 reviews)

  • "(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (583)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates and consultants are going to be tenacious in coming up with creative approaches. Those managers and partners are going to knock down barriers for you, connect you where you need to be connected, guide, support, direct and re-direct you. The office support staff is going to fix your computer after you spilled coffee on it for the third time, find you the unfindable data source, and smile and hand you a baked good after you ask for help re-doing dozens of slides. You are empowered and accountable but you are not alone. And the best part is you can't fail. Because after all, what all those people are reinforcing is that a Bainie never lets another Bainie fail.

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take a second to realize that it would be a lot less fun if the reverse were true. And isn't that precisely why you wanted this job in the first place anyway? It sure was for me.

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2015-10-06

    Bain & Company Response

    September 27, 2016Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    You have captured the essence of what it means to work here! Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Copenhagen

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, learning, people, compensation, impact

    Cons

    Long hours, a lot of travel

    Bain & Company2020-04-03
  3. "Clear bias between “Home Grown” and industry hires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, perks and people

    Cons

    Home growns get the opportunity to interview for front end role. Huge salary gap at same level. WFH option should be more flexible and not looked down upon. Home growns are preferred over industry hire in every aspect

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2020-04-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The best bar none (and yes I know McKInsey exists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    This is real consulting; not the fake pseudo-consulting that the rest of the Boston crowd do (Yes, I am talking about you Clearview Healthcare Partners and LEK)

    Cons

    You really need to work hard to stand out among the awesome group of geniuses one is proud to call colleagues

    Bain & Company2020-03-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Excellent environment to learn and grow

    Cons

    Unsustainable, work life balance is difficult to crack

    Bain & Company2020-03-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Knowledge Management Associate in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good policies and perks. Senior management is engaging and open to feedback.

    Cons

    Company culture might not percolate down to your boss. I came across a few who had a very typical Type A personality

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2020-03-30
  7. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai

    I worked at Bain & Company part-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot from different sectors

    Cons

    Not much indepth because we are not full-time.

    Bain & Company2020-03-16
  8. "Part-time Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Assistant 

    I have been working at Bain & Company part-time

    Pros

    Onsite or remotely working, especially during COVID-19

    Cons

    Unexpected hours, sometime your supervisor will distribute new case task around 10 pm

    Bain & Company2020-03-15
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Team Leader in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best people and mentorship you can find

    Cons

    Hours and travel can be tough but that is true of any consulting job

    Bain & Company2020-03-15
  10. "Great culture and lot of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Knowledge Management Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - agile ways of working - great leadership team, you can learn a lot, they offer great coaching - focus on work and not on personal opinions - great culture

    Cons

    - a bit fast and demanding work environment

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2020-03-10
Found 2693 reviews