Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Bain & Company Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2407 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company CEO Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
393 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (538)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and promote the leadership that lives our operating principles.

    Bain & Company2015-10-06

    Bain & Company Response

    September 27, 2016Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    You have captured the essence of what it means to work here! Thanks for sharing your experience.

  2. "Best work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Very smart people -Clear performance management framework -Top of market compensation -Clear and rewarding career track -Many exit opportunities

    Cons

    -No life Mon to Thu -Unpredictable schedule

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on people retention

    Bain & Company2019-05-16
  3. "Great place for to work - a family experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sac 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    support and fun environment

    Cons

    career trajectory is restricted by preset requirements

    Bain & Company2019-05-13
  4. "Best place to work - it's true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bain & Company full-time

      Pros

      1st rate culture, challenging / interesting work, excellent clients - it's all true

      Cons

      Experiences vary by cases, but Bain helps you manage that

      Bain & Company2019-05-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Incredible launchpad for career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      World-class job training that's applicable to this job and many more; great culture and people; clear promotion track; transparent advancement / feedback culture

      Cons

      Generic consulting cons: Travel can be tiring, don't see solution through

      Bain & Company2019-05-09
    • "Challenging work; great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The work is fast-paced, and continuously challenges you to grow professionally. The teams are full of highly intelligent and personable people who make a great professional setting.

      Cons

      The business is built around insecure overachievers. There's a constant fear of not doing well enough, which is necessary to wring the maximum output for clients but can lead to burnout.

      Bain & Company2019-05-08
    • "Excellent team environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Consultant 

      I worked at Bain & Company full-time

      Pros

      - Good team collaboration - Support from experts

      Cons

      - Sometimes you get stuck on poor cases

      Bain & Company2019-05-07
    • "Wonderful company and culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Public Relations Specialist in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Bain is a fantastic company to work for. Great benefits, pay and mentorship opportunities. The firm also pays attention to social impact causes and tries to throw it's weight around to make change happen for the better. I'm proud to work here!

      Cons

      The divide between consulting staff and non-consulting staff is wide and ever-present. Management does not do much to rectify this.

      Bain & Company2019-05-07
    • "Incredible training, incredible people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Associate Consultant 

      I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

      Pros

      Truly the smartest, most thoughtful colleagues I could picture working with; incredibly steep learning curve; amazing opportunities to engage different topics

      Cons

      Hours, nothing unsurprising for the industry

      Bain & Company2019-05-06
    • "Awesome company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Bain & Company full-time

        Pros

        Good Benefits, Work Environment, Co-Workers

        Cons

        Long hours, management got in the way sometimes

        Bain & Company2019-05-15
      Found 2407 reviews