BSH Home Appliances USA Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
BSH Home Appliances USA President and CEO  Christofer von Nagel (no image)
Christofer von Nagel
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Germans from Munich come before Germans, who come before sons of Germans who speak German, who come before sons of Germans who don't speak(in 9 reviews)

  • "Everything else especially the upper management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not worth it."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Bern, NC
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good. Not much else...

    Cons

    Be warned: they view the probationary employee status as a continuation of your interview. I should of sued after negative remarks regarding my disability and gender so closely predicated my termination, but I wanted absolutely nothing to do with this organization. It tries to show how noble it is, but you should run the other way.

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2020-05-20
  2. "Best places I have worked at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ME Intern in New Bern, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Supportive coworkers - As long you are eager to learn, it is a fun job. -Day to day activities vary, it all depends on what projects you are assisting with.

    Cons

    Long walks around the factory, good form of exercise

    BSH Home Appliances USA2020-03-17
  3. "Poor Old School Sales Dominated Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is on par with industry (if in sales). Good quiet office environment. Job security. Company Holiday Party. Freedom to plan your own day. Resources to learn if you are driven. Subsidiary of a larger company which gives a global feel. Great products and employee discounts.

    Cons

    Sales dominated culture breeds infighting and unhealthy competition. Middle management does not want to change and focused on defending their own positions. Senior sales management has a misogynistic and combative attitude. Inaction leads to resentment and team silos. Harassment has never been dealt with appropriately and hinders real company change. .HR is only there to protect the company. No growth available beyond first level management. No movement to senior roles which also lacks gender representation.

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2020-02-22
  4. "Excellent Employee Culture and Technical Experience for Co-op Positions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineering Co-Op in New Bern, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Broad range of tasks and tools, including soldering, CAD and circuit/hardware design.

    Cons

    Work comes in waves, so if you happen to be a Co-op during down-time, it might be difficult to find relevant technical projects.

    BSH Home Appliances USA2020-01-23
  5. "Great people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time

    Pros

    great people, work-life balance

    Cons

    not enough room for growth

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2020-01-22
  6. "Don't be afraid to ask temp agency for elsewhere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Representative in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - clean office - free coffee - large fridge space - they will feed you about once every two weeks

    Cons

    - your on boarding is through training with other temps - no clear idea ever on company values and practices - you might not even meet your manager on your first day - management expects a "yes" to every request - management isn't collaborative - timed bathroom breaks - frequent turnover - only hires temp

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2019-12-05
  7. "Loved my job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Final Test Technician in Jacksboro, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, paid holidays

    Cons

    Overtime announcef at last minute

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Racism and hierarchy."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Average compensation and benefits. Good bonus system.

    Cons

    I have been with BSH for over 5 years. Germans from Munich come before Germans, who come before sons of Germans who speak German, who come before sons of Germans who don't speak German, and so on. Those not from a German background have limited opportunities and are often discredited in public. Ideas are supposed to come from the top. Anyone else must keep head down and comply. The problem is so deep that once I had a VP coming to my office and measuring the office to make sure I was not 'above' him. Threats and intimidation is a constant and opportunities are only for those who 'belong' to the Motherland.

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2019-11-08
  9. "Life/work balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Bern, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, paid holidays , work/life balance is really good.

    Cons

    You usually have to come in as a temporary employee

    BSH Home Appliances USA2019-10-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Messy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSH Home Appliances USA full-time

    Pros

    The money is the only thing they have going for them but only if you can get the hours.

    Cons

    Everything else especially the upper management. Disorganized. It's not what you know it's who you blow. That is the only way you will get ahead.

    Continue reading
    BSH Home Appliances USA2019-08-24

    BSH Home Appliances USA Response

    August 26, 2019Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience during your employment with BSH Home Appliances. Human Resources is always available to receive and investigate complaints. Please feel free to reach out and make an appointment to discuss your concerns at 252.636.2400. It is our goal to provide a safe and respectful environment for all BSH employees. We look forward to hearing your suggestions for improvement. Thank you again for your review.

Found 91 reviews