BS Social Care Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
BS Social Care Managing Director Mark Cahill (no image)
Mark Cahill
0 Rating
  1. "Friendly and responsive staff team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BS Social Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay Staff are friendly and take an interest in you and try to match you up to the type of shifts you want Quick to resolve issues when they arise Good variety of work available

    Cons

    Some of the shifts are last minute so you can't always plan your work well in advance

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2019-11-18
  2. "Once was a good company, but having second thoughts."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Runcorn, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BS Social Care part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, always paid on time.

    Cons

    Been working for BS for a couple of years now and have been reasonable ok through the past years with work with me picking up a lot of shifts with a certain company. But now the company has taken on more staff and my shifts are none existant. Bs (Liverpool branch) is aware of this and just say "we'll find you something else" and that's the last you hear from them. They dont seem to care or look after the good workers anymore and the training seems none existant.

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2019-09-26
  3. "Recruitment.."

    4.0
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BS Social Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, every day is different which keeps it interesting! Good team and good SMT.

    Cons

    Basic maternity package which is a worry!

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2019-05-08

    BS Social Care Response

    July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

    Thank you for your comments - we really value your feedback. Our people are very important to us and we always want to make sure our employees feel recognised and rewarded for the work they deliver, so I will certainly take your comments on board.

  4. "Unprofessional"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BS Social Care full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Near to my home location

    Cons

    Unprofessional Director who played games with people to get what he wanted. Was I’ll equppied to do his job, had a lazy work ethic, dropped you if you didn’t agree with him and had many different personalities depending who he was talking to. Thankfully I hear has now left “to spend time with family”.

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2019-04-28

    BS Social Care Response

    July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

    Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I would welcome the opportunity to gather more details from you so that we might investigate. I can be contacted via contactus@brookstreet.co.uk. Many thanks.

  5. "Hammersmith branch - a total joke"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BS Social Care full-time

    Pros

    It’s no exaggeration when I say none. Such a negative experience.

    Cons

    Staff at Hammersmith were unorganised and used inappropriate language between each other in front of me and other agency workers, but the worst thing about this branch is trying to register with them. I’m a DBS checked, long standing worker in the social care industry with years of experience and qualifications. I wanted to work for BS social care while looking for a permanent role, but registering with them was a nightmare and took forever after they took weeks between e-mails to get back to me. When I sent over what they needed, they responded weeks later and advised they needed other documentation. Not further evidence of what i’d sent, just other basic ID. Why they didn’t ask for it all in the beginning I don’t know. They are huge time wasters. Other problems ensued such as rudely advising me that when I had sent my documents over, I hadn’t attached anything, but I clearly had, they just hadn’t looked! Again careless, non observant approaches. Other times, I’d scan something over and they’d say it needed to be in different sizes, sent in different formats. After this terrible start, I thought I’d come into branch to avoid this online mess, but they had no evidence of any meeting being arranged despite me calling beforehand to book it with them. Documents given to me with my name on it were misspelt even though I have a straight forward British name and so on. After 6 weeks of nonsense, I gave up and thankfully I now have a permanent job with a wonderful professional employer elsewhere. What a disaster and disgrace of a company. People have lives and commitments and want to work, but this branch is nothing short of an incompetent joke. Awful.

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2018-10-14

    BS Social Care Response

    December 17, 2018Operations Director, BS Social Care

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you've had such a disappointing experience. BS Social Care prides itself on the experience and commitment we offer to our candidates. If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to email me at contact.us@brookstreet.co.uk or via http://bit.ly/2KvLAnK.

  6. "Shocking!"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BS Social Care full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding job, great clients, good experience

    Cons

    Never enough hours, they allow you to go days, even weeks without work, poor communication, lack of understanding, total disregard for workers, always seems to be new staff in the office.

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2018-08-23

    BS Social Care Response

    October 11, 2018Operations Director, BS Social Care

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you feel disappointed after working with us. I would welcome the opportunity to investigate your issues further. If you would too, then please get in touch with me via contact.us@brookstreet.co.uk. Regards

  7. "could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BS Social Care full-time

    Pros

    great benefits, good work/life balance

    Cons

    rigid structure, no room for innovation, actively dismiss wider skill sets if its not your role, progression based on who you know not what you actually achieve, low basic salaries

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2018-05-24

    BS Social Care Response

    October 11, 2018Operations Director, BS Social Care

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I'm conscious that your experience of working for us is mixed and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you wish, on contact.us@brookstreet.co.uk. Regards

  8. "Not good"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Support Worker Bank in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BS Social Care for less than a year

    Pros

    Clients in need can make you day. Sometimes challenging but really motivating and rewarding.

    Cons

    Office recruiters are generally quite rude. A lot of the times they make you pay for a DBS, around £60 and they don't even hire you after. It happened to a lot of people that were with me at the interview. Also, they are not really interested in your skills, as they purely follow your cv and your references. Didn't have a great experience, not recommended. (Especially the Brighton branch)

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2018-06-09

    BS Social Care Response

    October 11, 2018Operations Director, BS Social Care

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you feel disappointed by your experience with us. I would be happy to discuss this matter further with you, if you wish. If so, I can be contacted via contact.us@brookstreet.co.uk.

  9. "Overall a good company but there is definately space for improvement!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Support Worker in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BS Social Care for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people at the office are nice and friendly; very flexible; good amount of hours and some regular work if you are doing well

    Cons

    some last minute cancellations and occasional mistakes(e.g. double bookings or incorrect bookings); pay is not that great compared to some other companies esp. for night and weekend shifts

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2018-02-20
  10. "Overall fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporaries Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BS Social Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. They actually care about you and how your day is going. They want to train and develop you and I couldn't rate it more

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Continue reading
    BS Social Care2017-07-27
Found 16 reviews