BP "oil prices" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

BP Employee Reviews about "oil prices"

Updated 27 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BP Group Chief Executive Bob Dudley
Bob Dudley
1,443 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "oil prices"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Coordinator in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, bonus, benefits, coworkers, overall culture and mindset

    Cons

    Big global company that at times is too top heavy to make decisions. Can be a large disconnect between local business units central teams (people in London and Houston don’t always know how oil and gas production works and the ramifications and effort it takes to deliver what is asked). Also BP likes to change, saying around here goes “if you don’t like something, wait two years, it’ll change.” Can’t learn from mistakes, constantly changing systems to new systems that don’t work properly, unsupported and don’t meet requirements. Have now started rolling out new enterprise systems that don’t work properly for weeks after launch and with no actual training on how they work. Employees are expected to just figure it for themselves. Lots debt and expenses from oil spill, oil price downturn and buying assets has led them to sell current assets.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    5-6 reorgs and asset sales in 8 years wears moral down.

    BP2019-08-28
  2. "Good salary & benefits, opportunities to move internationally, promotes from within, bureaucratic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Financial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and work life balance are all good (at least compared to consulting). Its competitive, but not nearly as competitive as consulting so easy to stand out if that's your background.

    Cons

    The industry is volatile with oil prices and goes through periodic reorganizations. Need to be strategic about the positions you select at the Company to make sure you remain valuable. Yearly average pay bumps are low unless you're a really good performer. This is pretty common for large corporations though.

    BP2019-08-03
  3. "Good work facilities and colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Sunbury-on-Thames, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Multi-national so diverse working environment and working across many time zones. Well paid. Good colleagues and a variety of work. Potential to progress (when oil price high). Work life balance respected. Values and behaviours enforced.

    Cons

    Uncertainty (oil price) with regular reorganisations / job cuts. Training not as good or available as it could be.

    BP2018-10-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Overall Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I worked at BP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good compensation and reward structure, Collaborative work environment

    Cons

    Organizational structuring changed at least twice during a five year period, layoffs due drop in oil prices, Nepotism

    Advice to Management

    Work to retain and professionally develop a diverse workforce.

    BP2017-12-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for but career progression is limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Sunbury-on-Thames, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great training development

    Cons

    Face-fit culture rather than choosing the best person for the job. Volatility of oil prices causes re-organisations and downsizing every two or three years so job security is uncertain

    Advice to Management

    Provide employees with clear structure for career advancement. Training alone is not sufficient. Secondment and mentoring should help.

    BP2017-12-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "CRT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best Oil Industry Company in the world

    Cons

    Oil prices went down and career opportunities reduced

    BP2017-10-18
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Use Caution Before Accepting An Offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BP offer excellent salary, benefits, and perks however none of that can makeup up for some of the things that need fixing at BP. Also in general BP top management is in general okay.

    Cons

    I worked for BP for 5.5 years until my boss decided he wants to let me go so he can bring in his own friend to take over my job despite the fact that I I took over the job of a person 2 level higher than me with much higher salary with absolutely no salary increase and a lot more workload and the workload kept adding up in the 3 years afterward with the same salary. During my time at BP I was on the receiving end of 3 cases of violation of what they call their code of conduct and although they say they investigate but they do nothing about it. I had many bosses during the 5.5 years ranging from the total manipulative one at the end to one that was a bully to one that only worried about his advancement. Issue at BP is not top management but the middle management and extreme case of corporate politics and advancement based on who you know and how well you can manipulate and bully people rather than merit. BP tends to move from one spending extreme to another spending all the time and money when time is good managing quality, performance, and cost and then cut everything when oil prices go down putting themselves in the same situation than DeepWaterHorizon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manage your middle management don't let them waste the talent and enthusiasm of a great workforce. Manage your money better and think more long term. Be closer to the people who do the actual work and for God sake get ride of all these levels of management. Management does not get work done and does not find the oil, drill the well, and produce it regular employees do. Why does an engineer need to count 15 people to get to the CEO?

    Show More
    BP2017-09-13
  8. "Reservoir Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Reservoir Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BP

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on very interesting projects and rotate across different teams/projects every few years. Great place to gain solid reservoir engineering knowledge/experience and operational experiences.

    Cons

    Huge company and difficult to get anything done as there are so many processes to follow, management bureaucracy and opaque communication channels. Senior management does not value talents in the low-oil price environment and have gone through many rounds of redundancies laying off many experienced staff. Progression to senior levels extremely slow

    Advice to Management

    Management should do better to retain talents, improve communication channels between senior management and staff, and improve transparency of promotions.

    BP2017-06-08
  9. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BP

    Pros

    Genuinely lovely people and so helpful. I got to experience a wide range of the business, enjoyed my work and made great friends with the other interns.

    Cons

    Was and is still suffering from the impacts post-macondo oil spill as well as from current oil prices - I got the impression that there is not much move towards greener energy sources unlike other oil and gas...

    BP2017-04-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Upstream oil & gas major"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservoir Engineer/GoM Reserves Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    BP is an excellent company to work for, offering competitive salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Job security is highly sensible to oil price having constant layoffs than its competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Plan project financials at lower oil prices so you can retain talented employees. It is not clever to let talented and higly trained employees leave the company after having invested in them a lot of time and money in training.

    BP2016-12-21
Found 64 reviews
</>Embed