BMC Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

BMC Software Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1235 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software CEO Peter Leav
Peter Leav
166 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working with the best people in the IT industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work hard to gain hard. Great training provided supported by full documentation and team activities. It's a real sales environment that will prepare you to work as an A-player account executive. if you are not ready to work for your success this is not a place for you. The new office is a bit far from the city hower the view it's all worth it. Uncapped commissions make you smile every month.

    Cons

    same lunch for the past decade provided by BMC can become a bit boring over time, not that many "restaurants" around the new office so make sure you have yourself covered. It is a sales environment, once you are creative, motivated and sales oriented- you will be fine.

    Advice to Management

    Be brutally honest with your employees about what's working and what isn't. Address it immediately when an employee isn't meeting a high bar so they can improve and raise for promotion.

    BMC Software2019-03-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I would not advice to work there to my friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of trainings Good products to sell Good salary

    Cons

    - Old way of management - Old office, lack of benefits - Not a good/ healthy lunch - Wrong focus and wrong way of motivating people - Lack of personal career growth - Not good management

    Advice to Management

    - More open minded - More modern way - More listening than talking

    BMC Software2019-02-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Boat is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, good benefits, only a couple of real leaders in the Dublin office

    Cons

    The company keeps downsizing and attrition numbers are on the roof. You'll find a lot of managers who've worked in there during their entire career or many years, so they do not have any clue how to manage millennials or manage and treat people. Sales processes used invalid for a rename cloud company and lack of internal development

    Advice to Management

    If you want to be a top player in the market, you have to invest like such and get rid of legacy managers

    BMC Software2018-10-10
  4. "Great Freedom to do what I do best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I got a lot of freedom to try out things and approach my work as I see fit. I got a lot of support from peers and managers. Everybody is very approachable up to the highest Leaders. Straight forward and honest bonuses. If I am successful, I get what I am due and right away, not something maybe sometime later. Simple well supported admin, that takes out a lot of road blocks out of my way.

    Cons

    I have to be self sufficient, which is a double edged sword. There is a lot of Info out there, but I have to find much of it myself and ask for support. No place for people who like to get everything served bit size.

    Advice to Management

    Not much they can do better.

    BMC Software2018-09-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDR in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can get lunch, play hours of ping pong and drinks are free.

    Cons

    People are bored out of their heads. As managers are of course irish only they have no clue who people are calling. Mist reps make money due to claiming opps their in country account people actually get them. Managers peactically advice to do so. There's an old friends club there. Office is out of date and wants to go back to the eighties. Noone is talking. Its cold as ice and once you get over the oh vegas thing ppl...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advertise as remote jobs. You dont need to pay for all that as no new business will come. Stop the three boys one wiman club there.

    BMC Software2018-10-01
  6. Helpful (17)

    "A Titanic...without the Orchestra."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not too much "American business movie" culture Good pay and bonuses...if you reach the targets... Good benefits, pension and health scheme Good canteen Cordiality Many really good people Not too much pressure Efficient IT support team in India when you open a ticket.

    Cons

    Titanic Mode On: the company is loosing talents, money, reputation...everything. It's sinking with no chances. A lot of lies in order to keep there the minimum people for the business and to save money: all the promises will be not respected at the end. Excuses, many. Management doesn't really exist. You worth just the money you produce, nothing more nothing less. No career progression at all: they will tell you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No chance for the future I guess, maybe try to check inside the management and the dust hidden by each country director: you will find the real reason of numbers, pipeline and revenue. Please don't reply with one of the standard sentences like in the previous comments: "...Thank you for taking the time to complete a review today. Your comments and feedback are appreciated and we will definitely consider them as we...

    Show More
    BMC Software2018-07-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on role and Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension plan, Insurance, parking and subsidised meals.

    Cons

    -I was lucky to work under great management since the time I started at BMC but I was able to witness other teams and the management in some of the teams was very poor. - Company strives to have a culture by throwing up a low-level party only at special occasions like Xmas, Halloween etc, but in general it's typical monotone day-to-day office life. - Very limited promotion opportunities

    Advice to Management

    This advise goes to Leaders and not the management. Leaders please make sure your management works along with employees "more like a friend & less like a manager". This way employees with turn into successful employees for the management and for the company in general.

    BMC Software2018-07-06

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review today. Your comments and feedback are appreciated and we will definitely consider them as we look to the future. We are glad to hear that your management team was wonderful and that you enjoyed some of the many benefits of BMC ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Lead development representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, good salary, amazing management, free coffee tea and drinks, gym contribution, pension, healthcare, Excellent training

    Cons

    Hard career development, poor chances of changing department

    Advice to Management

    Before laying off people by department check their performances

    BMC Software2018-04-30

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for your time today. and for your 4-Star review of BMC. we appreciate that you took the time to provide us this feedback today. We are pleased that you enjoyed many of the things that makes BMC a top employer such as our flexibility, compensation, amenities and benefits. ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Bring More Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent package, pension bonus health care

    Cons

    unrealistic targets, no development path, lacking direction education and support.

    Advice to Management

    Start to create a positive atmosphere, don't think you know best! Ask your staff for direction to gain trust with your staff. Please listen to your staff if you care!

    BMC Software2018-04-25

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you fro your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and will take your advice under consideration as we look to improve .

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Cool People - Getting Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working here over a year and seen alot of good changes, some great people here too that have made me feel really welcome. Benefits are good and you can see more change on the horizon it just needs the right people to drive it

    Cons

    Office needs a revamp, need to put further development plans in place

    Advice to Management

    Management need to pay attention to whats going on around them

    BMC Software2016-09-22
Found 1235 reviews