BMC Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

BMC Software Reviews

Updated 24 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software CEO Ayman Sayed
Ayman Sayed
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Working with the best people in the IT industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work hard to gain hard. Great training provided supported by full documentation and team activities. It's a real sales environment that will prepare you to work as an A-player account executive. if you are not ready to work for your success this is not a place for you. The new office is a bit far from the city hower the view it's all worth it. Uncapped commissions make you smile every month.

    Cons

    same lunch for the past decade provided by BMC can become a bit boring over time, not that many "restaurants" around the new office so make sure you have yourself covered. It is a sales environment, once you are creative, motivated and sales oriented- you will be fine.

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2019-03-12
  2. "BMC Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Sales in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel, promotion, salary, office location

    Cons

    Management issues, staff morale, stress

    BMC Software2019-11-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great solutions, continuity of team and feeling of family.

    Cons

    No cons I can report

    BMC Software2019-05-30

    BMC Software Response

    July 8, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. It's great to see that you appreciate the company culture at BMC!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "I would not advice to work there to my friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of trainings Good products to sell Good salary

    Cons

    - Old way of management - Old office, lack of benefits - Not a good/ healthy lunch - Wrong focus and wrong way of motivating people - Lack of personal career growth - Not good management

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2019-02-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Boat is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, good benefits, only a couple of real leaders in the Dublin office

    Cons

    The company keeps downsizing and attrition numbers are on the roof. You'll find a lot of managers who've worked in there during their entire career or many years, so they do not have any clue how to manage millennials or manage and treat people. Sales processes used invalid for a rename cloud company and lack of internal development

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2018-10-10
  6. "Great Freedom to do what I do best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got a lot of freedom to try out things and approach my work as I see fit. I got a lot of support from peers and managers. Everybody is very approachable up to the highest Leaders. Straight forward and honest bonuses. If I am successful, I get what I am due and right away, not something maybe sometime later. Simple well supported admin, that takes out a lot of road blocks out of my way.

    Cons

    I have to be self sufficient, which is a double edged sword. There is a lot of Info out there, but I have to find much of it myself and ask for support. No place for people who like to get everything served bit size.

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2018-09-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDR in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can get lunch, play hours of ping pong and drinks are free.

    Cons

    People are bored out of their heads. As managers are of course irish only they have no clue who people are calling. Mist reps make money due to claiming opps their in country account people actually get them. Managers peactically advice to do so. There's an old friends club there. Office is out of date and wants to go back to the eighties. Noone is talking. Its cold as ice and once you get over the oh vegas thing ppl are leaving. Never been so bored in my entire life. All that could be done remotely as noone is speaking to you anyway. Lunch is every week the same and ppl just want to leave.

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2018-10-01
  8. Helpful (19)

    "A Titanic...without the Orchestra."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not too much "American business movie" culture Good pay and bonuses...if you reach the targets... Good benefits, pension and health scheme Good canteen Cordiality Many really good people Not too much pressure Efficient IT support team in India when you open a ticket.

    Cons

    Titanic Mode On: the company is loosing talents, money, reputation...everything. It's sinking with no chances. A lot of lies in order to keep there the minimum people for the business and to save money: all the promises will be not respected at the end. Excuses, many. Management doesn't really exist. You worth just the money you produce, nothing more nothing less. No career progression at all: they will tell you about some "fake" promotions but new roles (Team leaders for example) are just created in order to stop the complaint of a couple of whiny agents, indeed the position are usually already assigned... A couple of bully narcissistic individuals believe to be great but fortunately the majority don't care of them professionally and personally. Some countries have their personal "Gang Club" of employees whom act out of rules and procedures: no tracking, no record, lack of transparency, politics and dirty games...a dirty mess in a nutshell. In country account managers believe to be Gordon Gekko... The management reflect the company, totally: no ideas, no clear vision, no retention, no initiative at all. They promise training in USA: a lot of excuses for months and then they let some agents to lead the training to the new hired...just imagine the result. So no US training. They promise yearly meeting in Vegas: excuses, money, excuses... So no Vegas for many employees. People fired with no notice, for costs cut. Ambiguity in the air. Rude behaviour of one leader who demand rooms, places, screaming at the one to one and rude in comments. Everything smell like outdated and old, some people too: it's a 40yrs old company ready to be "retired"...and acquired by KKR. We are speaking about business archeology. A garage office with the moquette with no heating for weeks during the winter. The company preserve the Hawaii club party only for the ones who acted the best unfair play during the fiscal year: how many people make unusual numbers it's still an unsolved mystery. Fixed opportunities are covered for convenience... Very bad relationships between different roles of the same countries. Discrimination, rumours, dishonesty, unprofessional comments, sexism during monthly meetings in video conference with all the regional account managers. Old laptops and hardware. Impossible to receive new material and tools. Cheap is mandatory. The company is falling and many many people left in the last two years...what a mess guys. HR and the management misled regarding the company and the career progression. We are leaving with no hesitation.

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2018-07-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on role and Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension plan, Insurance, parking and subsidised meals.

    Cons

    -I was lucky to work under great management since the time I started at BMC but I was able to witness other teams and the management in some of the teams was very poor. - Company strives to have a culture by throwing up a low-level party only at special occasions like Xmas, Halloween etc, but in general it's typical monotone day-to-day office life. - Very limited promotion opportunities

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2018-07-06

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review today. Your comments and feedback are appreciated and we will definitely consider them as we look to the future. We are glad to hear that your management team was wonderful and that you enjoyed some of the many benefits of BMC Life. Thank you again for your advice.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Lead development representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, good salary, amazing management, free coffee tea and drinks, gym contribution, pension, healthcare, Excellent training

    Cons

    Hard career development, poor chances of changing department

    Continue reading
    BMC Software2018-04-30

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for your time today. and for your 4-Star review of BMC. we appreciate that you took the time to provide us this feedback today. We are pleased that you enjoyed many of the things that makes BMC a top employer such as our flexibility, compensation, amenities and benefits. We also appreciate your comments and advice and will consider these as we look to make meaningful changes int he future.

    Continue reading
Found 1327 reviews