Austin Industries Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Austin Industries Reviews

Updated 5 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
61%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Austin Industries President and CEO David B. Walls (no image)
David B. Walls
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "As an employee-owned company in a service focused industry the company truly invests in their people and wants employee-owners to succeed(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good pay as well as excellent upper management(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Insurance Cost: The insurance is outrageous, and upper management refuses to contribute more to the EO's(in 7 reviews)

  • "Sexist, racist, low pay, no respect for any employees(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A satisfying experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Laborer in Channelview, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits if you manage to stay on the maintenance crews.

    Cons

    The turnover rates can get really bad.

    Continue reading
    Austin Industries2020-01-04
  2. "Doesnt pay hourly employees holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Heavy Equipment Operator in Irving, TX

    I have been working at Austin Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ok company to work for except that they do not pay hourly employees for holidays. Supposedly its employee owned therefore all employees should be paid holidays not just the uppers and foreman's, superintendents.

    Cons

    Austin Bridge and Road does not pay holidays to hourly employees, even though they advertise paid time off that's not true.

    Continue reading
    Austin Industries2020-01-05
  3. "Small company with poor supervision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Pipefitter in Ashtabula, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treated hand good and with respect

    Cons

    Poor management lack of material

    Continue reading
    Austin Industries2019-11-28
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fleet Manager 

    I worked at Austin Industries full-time

    Pros

    had good pay fulfilling work

    Cons

    was hard work very intense

    Austin Industries2019-11-13
  5. "Good company to work for in my limited experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, TX

    I have been working at Austin Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work, assigned job same day. Pays for craft schooling. Hard work does impress supervision and up.

    Cons

    Only complaint is not having access to your employee ownership stock program.

    Austin Industries2019-10-27
  6. "Ironworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ironworker in Saint James, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Austin Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Pay was pretty good

    Cons

    Could have used more hours

    Continue reading
    Austin Industries2019-09-10
  7. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tech Writer 

    I worked at Austin Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment every day.

    Cons

    Standard repetitious and unappreciated industry.

    Austin Industries2019-08-11
  8. "Austin 100% employee owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work all across the United States and expanding

    Cons

    Upper mgmt not strong at all. Not involved on large projects enough . Jobs not bided correctly

    Continue reading
    Austin Industries2019-08-07
  9. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austin Industries

    Pros

    - Covered parking - Near West Village

    Cons

    - Full of low achievers - Bad business practices - Mean-spirited people/Want to see others fail - Low pay - Some managers are bullies and have meetings just to put others down - Very rarely speaks positively about performance/Always something to complain about/Broken record on various “issues”

    Continue reading
    Austin Industries2019-08-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Austin Industries full-time

    Pros

    great pay and great managment

    Cons

    nothing that i personally expeerienced

    Austin Industries2019-06-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 96 reviews