Appen Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Appen Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
501 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other jobs in the same industry- HR don't take this concern seriously(in 45 reviews)

  • "No benefits or insurance included(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "They don't seem to know what they're doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appen

    Pros

    None that would make the cons any easier to deal with.

    Cons

    I was invited to apply for a job in the country I am living in. No sign of it under all projects. I created a ticket, thinking they probably didn't realize the job wasn't posted. I received a stock answer email that wasn't in any way helpful. After checking that the job still isn't on the All Projects page I created a new ticket and received the identical answer as the first time.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making it so impossible for staff to get assistance when they need it. Stop replying to emails with bot-generated messages.

    Appen2019-09-04
  2. "Pretty Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Contractor - Independent Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible, work at home, different job opportunities, great supervisors, different projects

    Cons

    Pay once a month, Long wait for assignments

    Appen2019-12-04
  3. "Enjoyable experience if you put the time in and work to their standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Social Media Evaluator in Coal Township, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen for more than a year

    Pros

    Extra hours available a lot, great pay for a part-time/second job, steady work

    Cons

    Standards seems to change a lot during project, monotonous

    Advice to Management

    Possible change in projects once the standards start changing.

    Appen2019-11-22
  4. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Editor in Ciudad de México
    Recommends

    I have been working at Appen for more than a year

    Pros

    Creativity, diversity, flexibility and home office

    Cons

    Working under pressure in some seasons

    Appen2019-11-19
  5. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Social Media Evaluator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, able to work remotely, work is not difficult

    Cons

    Sometimes projects are inconsistent

    Appen2019-11-20
  6. "fast, easy way to get plus money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Agent in Istanbul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen for less than a year

    Pros

    able to work anytime, anywhere you are available

    Cons

    qualification processes are working slow

    Appen2019-11-20
  7. "Good Company but interface to be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Translator in Ko Phangan
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Efficient supervision, good feedback during job, possibility of evolution

    Cons

    Lots of unpaid tests, not enough visibility on qualification process

    Appen2019-12-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Support not available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Independent Contractor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of work available, multiple short-term projects to go along with crowdsource work, interesting tasks to complete

    Cons

    Support is nonexistant. I have been trying to contact support to have some issues resolved for over 3 weeks now and have received absolutely NO response. I hate that I have been driven to leave a negative review here, but as a contractor with Appen for over 3 years with a history of completing work that exceeds expectations, I am thoroughly disappointed that the company has gone downhill so dramatically and so... quickly. At this time, I no longer recommend Appen to anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be available to assist your contractors with problems! You are about to lose a contractor who has worked for you for over 3 years to complete a large volume of work that exceeds expectations. And you're losing me because support can't be bothered to answer an email to resolve a couple of problems.

    Appen2019-12-03
  9. "Decent pay, but a little frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Web Search Evaluator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Decent pay for what the job requires.

    Cons

    Not as flexible as they claim No possibility for advancement or pay increase Not always clear communication Currently difficult to request time off

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that workers have more flexibility. Don't back them into a corner by providing work only at the very end of the week, which makes for impossibly tight deadlines and constant uncertainty about the work week. Make it easier to communicate with the help team. Have a quicker response time to questions. Your technical writers are terrible. All instructions are overloaded with jargon and give useless examples... that don't really help on harder items

    Show More
    Appen2019-12-03
  10. "entertaining but no stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Social Media Evaluator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Appen for more than a year

    Pros

    good as part-time fixed paying times

    Cons

    very long time to qualify for projects

    Appen2019-11-17
Found 1570 reviews