Appen Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Appen Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
255 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other jobs in the same industry- HR don't take this concern seriously(in 46 reviews)

  • "No benefits or insurance included(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "social media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customs Rater in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, part-time, home-based work that requires a computer and/or mobile device

    Cons

    late reply of support answers

    Appen2020-01-09
  2. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Ho Chi Minh City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional working place Friendly working environment

    Cons

    High quality product compare with competitors Best products for the good jobs

    Advice to Management

    Do more marketing in Vietnam market Organize the product seminar directly at end-user workshop

    Appen2020-01-06
  3. "I didn't know the appen company so closely yet, but I was sure working there gave me a different experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator in Kayuagung, South Sumatra

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    my status is still a high school student. Appen gives freedom to the work time of its employees, so that I can make money while school

    Cons

    maybe I have to compete for work with a lot of other people who apply

    Advice to Management

    please provide leeway for high school students who want to find job openings. like not requiring to use a resident identification card until he gets it

    Appen2020-01-05
  4. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Positive work-life balance, positive team

    Cons

    No chance to grew and to carrer

    Appen2019-12-31
  5. "Flexible but in the end depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Appen

    Pros

    Pay was above minimum wage, job was very flexible.

    Cons

    There is no job security. I got let go without any warning or explanation due to California's AB5 law and it really created a financial hardship for my family. Never ever depend on the money you make from Appen. Use it for savings or to reduce debt.

    Appen2020-01-06
  6. "Appen Internet Search evaluator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internet Search Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Low pay rate, communication with support is difficult

    Appen2020-01-06
  7. "At Home Ad Reviewer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facebook Ads Reviewer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work at Home, Can work at your own pace

    Cons

    Cannot work over 20 hrs a week, some weeks there is no work at all, instructions are inconsistent, jobs are not steady, in other words, not a steady income.

    Advice to Management

    Create a steady work flow. Have some quality control when writing instructions in how to do the job.

    Appen2020-01-04
  8. "Equal opportunity for homebased job seekers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Know more about AI and an opportunity to work from home.

    Cons

    They have a lot of projects yet no tasks to do. You need to wait without knowing how long.

    Advice to Management

    More tasks and projects to deliver to their workers.

    Appen2020-01-03
  9. "Important work if they would let you do it right."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rater in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Appen part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reliable secure payment, regular tasks, good platform, helpful staff, flexible hrs. Important work if they would let you do it right.

    Cons

    Constantly changing guidelines. Shifting standards and motives to appease the client. Previously, the aim of this operation was to assist users with search results. This has now largely become an operation to show users what the client wants them to see. Some of the work here is now verging on censorship. Must work between 10 and 25 hrs a week .

    Advice to Management

    Be open and transparent to the raters on the motives of their work.

    Appen2019-12-31
  10. "New"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Evaluator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it's from home which is handy

    Cons

    None so far but I'm only in first week

    Appen2019-12-14
Found 815 reviews