Amnesty International Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amnesty International Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
39%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Amnesty International Secretary General Salil Shetty (no image)
Salil Shetty
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with passionate people with the same values & knowing that what you do day to day contributes to Human Rights Impact(in 52 reviews)

  • "great work environment, polite and open minded people(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Measuring human rights impact is difficult so a challenge for every(in 25 reviews)

  • "hard work, long hours, potential donors sometimes not willing to give(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Developed great communication skills. Very friendly group.

    Cons

    Can be difficult for introverted individuals

    Amnesty International2020-02-08
  2. "Face To Face Dialogue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time

    Pros

    Everyone working there was splendid to work with and encouraging, they fight for a good cause whilst also bolstering their relations with one another. People get along swell and one does n ot feel patronised by the staff.

    Cons

    Working in any and all weather conditions trying to get people on the street to sign up for a long term commitment is hard work. It is exhausting both physically and emotionally.

    Continue reading
    Amnesty International2019-09-15
  3. "Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Amnesty International part-time

    Pros

    Nice office, food provided, central location.

    Cons

    Bad management, told to lie to people on the streets, high stress.

    Amnesty International2019-06-05
  4. "Face to Face Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FACE to FACE FUNDRAISER in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An initially supportive work environment.

    Cons

    It is a very stressful goal-driven environment, where every sale is a cold start.

    Continue reading
    Amnesty International2019-04-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very committed group of people work here. It's a fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Very undemocratic organization. Bullying at senior level.

    Continue reading
    Amnesty International2016-03-26
  6. "as a Direct Dialogue Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Dialogue Fundraiser in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's one of the activities I've loved the most in my life. Knowing that you're part of something great that's actually working for global change is so satisfactory. There I met some of the most talented, passionate and admirable people I've met in my entire life and I'll always be thankful and proud for that experience

    Cons

    ... well, I don't think that there is a job wit a zero pressure level, but people with conscious pressure sensibility should think about this twice or three times

    Continue reading
    Amnesty International2014-10-23
  7. "Life affirming place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Organizational Change Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with passionate people with the same values & knowing that what you do day to day contributes to Human Rights Impact

    Cons

    Measuring human rights impact is difficult so a challenge for every human rights organisation is how to prioritise without clear metrics

    Amnesty International2020-02-19
  8. "A dedicated INGO, but a little damaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Director 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A truly dedicated workforce driving towards a globally recognised mission.

    Cons

    Often a culture of distrust between departments and amongst staff, resulting in it being an extremely difficult place to work, at times.

    Amnesty International2020-01-05
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nature of the work improves self esteem & confidence Great workplace

    Cons

    Repetitive nature of the role

    Amnesty International2019-12-17
  10. "Great people and work-culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Specialist in Adelaide
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, flexible work-culture, a great place to work.

    Cons

    Despite peers' support, human rights is a tough area to work, often stressful.

    Amnesty International2019-12-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 249 reviews