Amnesty International Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amnesty International Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
33%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Amnesty International CEO Salil Shetty (no image)
Salil Shetty
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "very demeaning and hypocritical of their support for human rights(in 23 reviews)

  • "Absolute shark tank with minimal to no job security, operating in a top-down pressure cooker of stress(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "as a Direct Dialogue Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Dialogue Fundraiser in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's one of the activities I've loved the most in my life. Knowing that you're part of something great that's actually working for global change is so satisfactory. There I met some of the most talented, passionate and admirable people I've met in my entire life and I'll always be thankful and proud for that experience

    Cons

    ... well, I don't think that there is a job wit a zero pressure level, but people with conscious pressure sensibility should think about this twice or three times

    Advice to Management

    I think the procedure for under-performance fundraisers should go first to more training and specifically strengthening the weak areas and not only evaluating and firing someone after immediate bad results in evaluation

    Amnesty International2014-10-23
  2. "Face To Face Dialogue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time

    Pros

    Everyone working there was splendid to work with and encouraging, they fight for a good cause whilst also bolstering their relations with one another. People get along swell and one does n ot feel patronised by the staff.

    Cons

    Working in any and all weather conditions trying to get people on the street to sign up for a long term commitment is hard work. It is exhausting both physically and emotionally.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work and always support your employees. Keep that welcoming environment.

    Amnesty International2019-09-15
  3. "Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Amnesty International part-time

    Pros

    Nice office, food provided, central location.

    Cons

    Bad management, told to lie to people on the streets, high stress.

    Amnesty International2019-06-05
  4. "Face to Face Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FACE to FACE FUNDRAISER in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An initially supportive work environment.

    Cons

    It is a very stressful goal-driven environment, where every sale is a cold start.

    Advice to Management

    Extensive and inexpensive train producers need to be introduced.

    Amnesty International2019-04-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very committed group of people work here. It's a fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Very undemocratic organization. Bullying at senior level.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the Director.

    Amnesty International2016-03-26
  6. "Great training and team, uneven management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Street Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training, encouraging teams and great colleagues living wage

    Cons

    When I worked there the line manager was a little unclear and changed his mind often. He overhired.

    Amnesty International2019-11-19
  7. "humantarian tasks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amnesty International part-time

    Pros

    sociability, assistance, care, youth, sympathy

    Cons

    harshness, poverty, discrimination, insecurity, instability

    Amnesty International2019-10-18
  8. "Sadly, it is truly a toxic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amnesty International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very important mission that has people's trust - if you are in the right team you can get things done - but thats a big IF.

    Cons

    Sadly, people who want to get things done are stuck between, on the one hand, amateurish leaders with no vision, who tend to fall back on bullying behaviour and dont take responsibility for decisions or problems within their teams, and on the other, staff who have worked there a long time and get viciously aggressive to anyone they feel is on their turf or challenges them. It makes it a miserable place to work. It... is tragic because so many people want to work there, but I really could not recommend it to anyone. Most of the good staff either leave or burn out very quickly. While there need to be big changes at leadership level, including the board, it is the way staff treat EACH OTHER that is the biggest problem, and that seems deeply built into the culture. One wonders if that can ever change. Its a particularly hard place to work if you belong to a minority.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good behaviour starts with you. Instead of talking about it, you need to actually do it.

    Amnesty International2019-10-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great human rights work and colleagues, but bad management and toxic environment from management,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaigner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amnesty International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great human rights work and colleague. Everything you do, you know you are helping against human rights violations.

    Cons

    Bad management and toxic environment from management. There is no accountability for them.

    Advice to Management

    Get new fresh management. Amnesty is a NGO no a corporation.

    Amnesty International2019-10-04
  10. "Fundraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Amnesty International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some employees are nice. Liberal politics.

    Cons

    Management is super unprofessional. Regular harassment of workers. Toxic work culture. Some worker suicides and mental issues.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect. Give them room to grow. Provide health insurance from day 1. Increase the salary range. Stop hating on those who aren't liberal politically and socially. Huge bias and antagonism towards the current US administration.

    Amnesty International2019-10-25
Found 243 reviews