American Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

American Red Cross Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
1,165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Mission, easy to advance if you work hard(in 131 reviews)

  • "Helping people in their time of need is amazing work(in 121 reviews)

Cons
  • "As a volunteer screener making sure that new volunteers could be placed in locations that need help(in 120 reviews)

  • "Upper management spread across country(in 118 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Doing Whats Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    every day you can go into the office knowing you are doing good

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    American Red Cross2019-12-06
  2. "Good experience for first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - AmeriCorps Member in Chicago, IL

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -lots of autonomy -caring and fun people

    Cons

    -lack of support and guidance

    American Red Cross2019-11-25
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Phlebotomist in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel all over the statw

    Cons

    Crazy hours. No set shifts

    American Red Cross2019-11-23
  4. "American Red Cross"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Great healthcare system and good payment

    Cons

    No significatn disadvantages in the Red cross

    American Red Cross2019-11-18
  5. "Helping Others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructor 

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Helping others, through assistance after disasters and providing a safe blood supply.

    Cons

    Better career opportunities for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Career opportunities.

    American Red Cross2019-11-17
  6. "Great Organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of training opportunities; management is supportive; organization is constantly evolving

    Cons

    Territories are expanding and getting to be unmanageable

    American Red Cross2019-11-13
  7. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disaster Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission Interesting Work Team Collaboration Working with Volunteers Ability to Move upward in positions

    Cons

    Constant change, not always for the best interests of clients and service delivery Difficult work life balance

    American Red Cross2019-11-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Certain people are decent there.

    Cons

    Everything..they are a bunch of liars!! And make sure not to get hurt on the job!!!! They will fire you for missing working because you are hurt! The reviews on indeed, and the people there speaks for it's self.

    Advice to Management

    Have more compassion!!!!! You are terrible!! I recommended 4 people to apply and then after they did what they did and certain people told me things, those people i recommended changed their minds

    American Red Cross2019-12-06
  9. "I worked at ARC for 19 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Associate in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging career in an ever changing industry of blood services where one can make a difference and save lives.

    Cons

    The organization has not turned a profit in a very long time and the future of the organization is uncertain.

    Advice to Management

    Find a solid business model and stick to it.

    American Red Cross2019-11-15
  10. "Amazing Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Donor Counselor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thorough paid training period as a new employees

    Cons

    Rotating weekend shifts Placating angry donors Inconsistent supervisor

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees

    American Red Cross2019-11-14
Found 2519 reviews