American Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

American Airlines Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
1,030 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The long hours and living out of your suitcase for days on end can be challenging(in 78 reviews)

  • "Company oversells flights, passengers get mad and scream at us(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "American airlines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free flights, career development, huge network

    Cons

    Because the company is so large consistency in different departments can be lacking

    American Airlines2018-05-13
  2. "Culture is not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best flight benefits in the aviation industry

    Cons

    Management Seems impossible to progress Horrible work culture

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees

    American Airlines2019-09-27
  3. "excelent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communication Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    excelcent place to work today

    Cons

    no cons in this company

    Advice to Management

    excelent job

    American Airlines2018-01-30
  4. "They're grand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing flights and health insurance

    Cons

    Pay isn't great limited opportunities in Dublin and bad working shifts

    American Airlines2017-01-05
  5. "Excellent training in cust services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    Fundamental grounding in soft skills that are very transferable.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for career development

    American Airlines2012-04-18
  6. "American Airlines offers awesome training and offer great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ACS Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    The flight benefits, the chance to swap shift/days, the respect and the colleagues! The training is very sufficient.

    Cons

    It can be a challenge to get promoted, it definitely takes some time. If you have a brain like a sponge then you will be successful during training the first few weeks.

    Advice to Management

    The career path could be more transparent to employees. Also employees should be awarded more often for their work (certificate etc.)

    American Airlines2010-04-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Unfortunately Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Assistant II in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing flight benefits - it was a great way to explore the world!

    Cons

    I worked for AA in the administration department in PHX & transferred to ORD 2 years ago. This transition was like night & day. When I first started with the company, I had every intention of retiring with them - that is how much I believed in the company’s mission “going for greAAt”. Everyone in PHX that I worked with displayed this mentality & it reflected in a collaborative team work environment.... Although the work expected didn’t align with the pay they offer, that aspect didn’t bother me so much since I always felt they offered AMAZING benefits. Unfortunately, the company morale from PHX isn’t consistent with how ORD is run. Fast forward to life at ORD - the only reason why I choose to leave the company. During my short 2 year career in Chicago, I’ve grown to realize how the Administration Management staff didn’t utilize their resources available, nor did they offer any career development/goals. There was no team collaboration, and most importantly no type of support in my current roll within the Admin department. Monthly meetings were cancelled for more than a year, innovational ideas weren’t entertained, nor was there any flexibility with our schedules. Although I was given a position I didn’t even apply for, I thrived in it. Management saw this & continued to delegate more & more tasks making my current workload biased & unreasonable. When I started to feel the “burn out” I asked for assistance. To my surprise, management wouldn’t provide any. I was laughed at & told that “I had everything under control & it didn’t seem like I needed any help”. So I continued to thrive & make the most of everyday. After-all, where could I find another job with such great benefits? Less than a month ago, we had a death in the family. I made the choice to separate from the company when I was told by management that my absences would be counted as unauthorized since I needed more than 3 days to grieve. This wasn’t the culture that I knew to be true at American & choose to no longer subject myself to these type of working conditions. I get this is how most major corporations function, but their motto “going for greAAt” should be instilled within their Management & displayed consistently regardless of which department/HUB they’re from.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To Management, Thank you for the opportunity to learn and grow; thank you for opening up my heart to things I never knew I could do. It’s unfortunate that due to “re-organization” you lost sight of what matters most - team work. Team work really does make the dream work & I genuinely hope that you can learn to foster a collaborative, unbiased work environment. Myself as well as my colleagues felt the burn out... & I know it would be greatly appreciated if the feedback provided to you annually was acted on. I wish you all the best of luck!

    Show More
    American Airlines2019-11-13
  8. "Great company to work for but not if you don't live in USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - American Airlines in Port-of-Spain

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great to work for if you're employed in the US, not in the Caribbean though.

    Cons

    No room for growth if you aren't working in the US

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified people not base promotions on length of service.

    American Airlines2019-11-13
  9. "Good company. Bureaucratic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Broad growth opportunities throughout the organization.

    Cons

    Too many corporate team members with their own agendas.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce or cancel the MBA program.

    American Airlines2019-11-08
  10. "Great company to work for! Everyone was extremely helpful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At American you are pushed to be the best you can be.

    Cons

    There are no cons in my short time there.

    American Airlines2019-11-07
Found 2674 reviews