Amec Foster Wheeler Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amec Foster Wheeler Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Amec Foster Wheeler Chief Executive Officer  Jonathan Lewis (no image)
Jonathan Lewis
114 Ratings
  1. "Smooth systematic approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler for less than a year

    Pros

    Structure of work is well designed and management is thoughtful

    Cons

    Office politics can seem like a distraction at times

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-01-15
  2. "Pay is alright and the culture is better than average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Pay is alright. Culture is less malevolent than other engineering consulting companies like Jacobs Engineering. Very similar to Parsons Engineering.

    Cons

    As with any engineering consulting company, you need to be an engineer. If you're in a supporting profession, no matter what it is, you are second class with no chance of advancement.

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-01-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Environmental Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Our office had an amazing team dynamic. Loved my coworkers and immediate boss/manager.

    Cons

    Micromanaged by regional office at times, and they often seemed disconnected from the work we were actually doing. Never allowed to get project manager training though it was promised multiple times, most likely forgotten about.

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-12-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support for educational and professional advancement; friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Department manager will not relieve employee even when the director select for a higher position within the company that the client approved and even mobilised.

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-12-09
  5. "Good place to work, very proffesional and ethical work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Design Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have a very technically sound manager to guide you in a best way for project. v

    Cons

    cant stay there if they dont have much work or projects

    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-12-13
  6. "stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler

    Pros

    only contract job available, at least you have a job

    Cons

    no career growth, lowly paid, terrible culture. You might be axe anytime ...

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-01-08
  7. "Solar EPC electrical engineer & manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Electrical Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amec Foster Wheeler

    Pros

    PV Solar is new market in the world

    Cons

    Lead company with new innovation

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-11-21
  8. "Materials Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours and opportunities for overtime

    Cons

    During the offseason there isn't as much work

    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-11-19
  9. "Technical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Specialist in Bangkok

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employees, excellent reputation in CFB boilers, strong technical and engineering department

    Cons

    Not so flexible for different career roles

    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-11-03
  10. "full time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment and professional work

    Cons

    Failed to win new contracts

    Amec Foster Wheeler2018-10-30
Found 1100 reviews