Amazon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amazon Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
22,583 Ratings
Pros
  • "Challenging work environment that will push you to learn and grow(in 1767 reviews)

  • "Fast paced, so time goes by quickly(in 1456 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and team spirit

    Cons

    Tight deadlines And long hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Amazon2019-11-15
  2. "Worst work environment in 30 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Delivery in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its nice to get your RSUs (BONUSES) alot of great people Some excellent teams but unfortunately some of the worse people I have ever encountered

    Cons

    Long hours expected without being paid, Toxic managers and peers ruin great teams No training provided Alot of politics and back stabbing Alot of people shirking responsibility and getting rewarded for it, as it's not what you know its who you know. Leadership principles that sound good but are often twisted, Everything is run to a metric, very little common sense used about metrics as long as the metric target is hit. You are told that you need to do more for your career in your own time Extreme micro management Mind numbing repetition Everything is done on the cheap Vendors badly treated Direct employees treated like robots High stress levels due to not being resourced properly

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like humans Be more truthful with people at the interview stage of how repetitive the job will be, and that there will be no work life balance if they want to progress Get hr involved more in teams that have had good people leave as there is obviously a problem

    Amazon2019-12-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not suitable for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, nice colleagues & reasonable benefits

    Cons

    Culture of fear Ridiculously long hours Awful processes

    Amazon2019-06-10
  4. "Project manager salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, great career path, opportunities, able to work from home,

    Cons

    Long hours, high expectations, poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Value your people and talent

    Amazon2019-04-26
  5. "business analst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    good working culture , good people

    Cons

    long hours. no bonus

    Amazon2019-03-12
  6. "Hard but upward mobility is second to non"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Upward Mobility Compensation after 2 years becomes significant

    Cons

    Long hours and very high expectations

    Amazon2019-02-05
  7. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    great people to manage and collaborate with

    Cons

    long hours, over worked and under paid and its a numbers job, not the innovative environment they say it is.

    Advice to Management

    focus on the people and policies and fix rather than patch over and wait for the big collapse to happen

    Amazon2019-01-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Too much pressure - One of the worst positions in Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Center Technician in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    They pay well and their brand name is solid. If you manage to get a desk job you will manage to have a somewhat acceptable work-life balance

    Cons

    - Immense focus on numbers, very little regarding quality of work - Employees tend to form certain cliques with their specific nationality, pretentious teamwork that does not help and it's only for the show - Very long hours, work-life balance is non-existant, on top of that they are understaffed (and they're always going to be ) and there are frequent requests for overtime - Their ticketing system is a mess and counter-intuitive - DCO tech is really the closest thing to the blue collar working at their warehouses; Nobody cares about you. - Training is a joke.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Chill of a little with the numbers, and focus on proper training and employee needs

    Amazon2018-11-08
  9. "Seller Support Associate FR and VAT Support FR and ESP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a very good manager who was listening to every query and was there if needed. This manager also supported me in any way he could (by recommending me for te positions I wanted) in order to get the job of my dreams.

    Cons

    Very poor communication between managements, and when I left few months later they downgraded my manager to a team lead position, when in fact he just tried to make things better by improving and creating a VAT team inside our offices... that wasn't very appreciated by the then director and my former manager left (thank god he did) his position towards another one in Germany, where he is still working and is happy. Highest command in Amazon, Cork was awful at that time. Another one would be the shifts... they were horrible! one day I have worked 11hours after I ended my shifts which was the legally limit you could have! Awful! no rest at all and long hours of extremely stressing times...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to focus on what the workers need in order to make them happy, not only the customers/sellers... as the workers are very important for your daily support towards customers!

    Amazon2018-07-31
  10. "AVM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    good learning opportunities and nice team

    Cons

    long hours and systems don't always work

    Amazon2018-03-09
Found 1762 reviews