Amazon Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amazon Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33271 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
18,925 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good & Challenging work environment(in 1462 reviews)

  • "You learn a lot; Fast paced; Low bureaucracy; High scale to deliver big things(in 1315 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance - this is not the place to work if you're expecting a strict 9-to-5 schedule(in 2837 reviews)

  • "Long hours of standing at workstation(in 1528 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (11)

    "Network Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Development Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent balance between life and work culture. Offers a fair salary/benefit/stocks package. For the very first time I'm working for a company which has employee recognition on its DNA, and have opportunities for career progression without necessarily going to a way of management level.

    Cons

    Perhaps the company could provide support for gym or at least encourage the practice of any other sports / healthy habits before / after office hours. Indeed, this is not a 'cons', just a suggestion which potentially could impact employee's way of life (and as a side effect keep improving company's productivity). Other than that, I have not had any bad experience so far and I hope things continue running smoothly.

    Amazon2018-12-24
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Development Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for training, lots of autonomy, great colleagues, excellent management

    Cons

    The pace here is quite intense, it's really easy to get overwhelmed

    Amazon2019-09-13
  3. "Amazon doesn't like tenure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workflow Analyst in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and progression opportunities.

    Cons

    It's frowned upon to stay static and if you are tenured it's seen as failure and that's when things take a turn, I've seen several long standing employees forced out by making life difficult for them giving them no choice but to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Cherish experience and tenure as those are the people that mentor and develop the rest of your people. Just because somebody is happy doing their role for sometime doesn't mean they're plodding along and it's the end of the line for them. Because of this moto I've seen you lose so much experience and skill and have to start from scratch again just to suit the unspoken moto. Support staff are treated like 2nd class... and the focus is on associates because they score your connections, that needs to change.

    Show More
    Amazon2019-09-06
  4. "Seller support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time off, holiday and sickleave, fair salary

    Cons

    need to do shift work from 11PM to 7AM sometimes

    Advice to Management

    All supervisors are good and friendly and they are keen to help you

    Amazon2019-09-04
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Huge freedom to manage your own work life balance

    Cons

    A lot of legacy systems and code Friction to make changes

    Amazon2019-08-31
  6. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    good condition and thayt it

    Cons

    low salary compare to similar position in the area

    Amazon2019-09-12
  7. "I have been working on Amazon for 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seller Support Associate in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Employee are treated with respect. Multicultural environment

    Cons

    Some working weekends. Salaries are not very high.

    Amazon2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Really good and competitive salary * Health-care benefits for me & my partner (Laya) * Very generous relocation lump payment * Surrounded by people who are very proficient at their field

    Cons

    * Food is not included, although there is a little store where you can buy * Relax/play rooms do not offer many options * Transportation is not included.

    Amazon2019-08-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Seller Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seller Support Associate in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working time Good working environment

    Cons

    Early shift Busy sometimes Personal development

    Amazon2019-08-26
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and great employees make for an excellent working environment

    Cons

    targets can sometimes exceed reasonable metrics

    Amazon2019-08-27
Found 33271 reviews