Alzheimer's Society Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Alzheimer's Society Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
60%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Alzheimer's Society CEO Jeremy Hughes
Jeremy Hughes
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "people really care about the Society and put people affected by dementia at the heart of everything they do(in 12 reviews)

  • "The work we do for people affected by dementia(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wouldn't give a penny to this so-called charity(in 8 reviews)

  • "Senior management pay lip service to junior members of the team but complaints are never dealt with by HR(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Experience and work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter Volunteer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work culture and the environment is good given that people would think it would be intense or negative but not here, staff are friendly and flexible schedule means you can come at ease and perform at the best with great support and management.

    Cons

    I can't find any to mention.

    Alzheimer's Society2019-12-05
  2. "Very warm and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Side By Side Volunteer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You feel welcomed and comfortable. You are not judged and can always be yourself. There are many different opportunities for you to take part in.

    Cons

    It may take a long time to be matched to a patient

    Alzheimer's Society2019-10-20
  3. "Good place to work with lots of ways to get involved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great staff who are passionate for the cause they work with - Lots of ways to give back through volunteering & campaigning - The ambition that the organisation has for raising awareness & funds in the fight against Dementia - Flexible working - Good focus on well-being especially within fundraising

    Cons

    - Sometimes communications between directorates is not great - There can sometimes be too many working groups that are slow to take action

    Alzheimer's Society2019-09-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Worse charity - unethical use of donations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Resources for these living with dementia Genuine passion from staff

    Cons

    I’ve never been so ashamed to work for a charity, seeing donations go to waste. It felt like the charity lacked any structure and some truly awful people were left running departments with no knowledge or training. Quick to blame people and make assumptions.

    Continue reading
    Alzheimer's Society2019-10-07
  5. "Over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your work helps those in need

    Cons

    Work life balance not there: over worked for sub-average pay. Next to no appreciation for o es effort.

    Continue reading
    Alzheimer's Society2019-10-11
  6. "Great opportunities for development and learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Partnerships Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had lots of opportunities to learn from a large, dynamic team who were eager to nurture talent. I progressed through a number of roles and felt valued and supported. There was a strong direction and focus for the organisation and exciting projects to get involved with. The culture was positive and fun. Everyone was expected to achieve to high standards, but also to enjoy work and have a good social side to their working life.

    Cons

    At times it could feel a little slow moving and inagile due to the size of the organisation. While the cause was strong and clearly communicated to staff it could be hard to feel a strong connection to the charity’s work “in the field” due to lack of exposure

    Alzheimer's Society2019-09-02
  7. "Younger people with dementia day centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Day and Community Support Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of training available

    Cons

    Not a permanent job due to having to apply for funding

    Continue reading
    Alzheimer's Society2019-07-30
  8. "Exciting times for the charity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PR Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of exciting projects, encourages creativity and flexible working

    Cons

    There is a lot going on, which can feel overwhelming.

    Alzheimer's Society2019-08-01
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, good pay for charity, lots of progression opportunities

    Cons

    Communication in teams is difficult, ideas can sometimes be ignored

    Alzheimer's Society2019-07-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Management practices poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location and staff are friendly

    Cons

    Management is very lax. Left to lone work in remote places. More interested in getting donations then delivering services to people with dementia and their families. No HR support as branches run by volunteers who receive no training

    Alzheimer's Society2019-07-05

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    July 9, 2019HR Operations Manager

    Thank you for taking time to post a review of your experiences working with the Society. Whilst all of our volunteers undertake training specific to the role that they are carrying out and we don’t have branches, we do aim to ensure that people affected by dementia are at the heart of everything we do. We’re sorry that you didn’t feel this during your time with us so we’d really to hear more about your experience lone working and supporting those with dementia. Please contact us on recruitment@alzheimers.org.uk to let us know more.

    Continue reading
Found 85 reviews