Allied Irish Banks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Allied Irish Banks Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Allied Irish Banks CEO Colin Hunt
Colin Hunt
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow career progression, stagnant pay(in 26 reviews)

  • "I worked in AIB between 2012 and 2015(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Luke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Official in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AIB have been very involved in my development over the last number of years.

    Cons

    I wouldnt have a negative word to say

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-21
  2. "relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working hours and flexible

    Cons

    Hard to move department or move up

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "AIB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Allied Irish Banks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great staff, pay for you to complete your QFA, very good maternity benefits.

    Cons

    Depending on area you work in can be very difficult to get promoted. Constant reviews and monitoring for little to no financial compensation. No reward for longevity. Very high targets to meet . Branch staff and call centre staff treated entirely different.

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting time paying for and training your staff to such a high level then losing them to competitors because they pay a reasonable salary unlike yourselves. Reward your staff for their diligence, patience and integrity, many have been there through the hard times and have nothing to show for it.

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-29
  4. "Great bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time

    Pros

    Good company with good work life balance Good work culture for employees

    Cons

    High work volumes which can at times impact work life balance

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-13
  5. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Allied Irish Banks full-time

    Pros

    Many locations so open to moving staff

    Cons

    Poor opportunities at the time

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-09
  6. "no title for this review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hrqmo in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    steady employment, pacy changing environment

    Cons

    constantly short staffed, board of management detached from challenges "at the coal face"

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-06
  7. "Securities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Allied Irish Banks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people who work there

    Cons

    Pay is very very low. No room to develop.

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff more

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-15
  8. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great experience, great culture, caring and knowledgable managers

    Cons

    Pay isn’t great, location is bad

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-13
  9. "Things have gotten worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are AIB's biggest pro. I've met friends for life and work with committed staff. AIB have forgotten how important good staff are and they think they are not worth listening to or investing in.

    Cons

    Senior management don't listen to staff issues. Moving out of Bankcentre was a huge mistake and has had a huge impact on staff and productivity. Staff are overworked and there are no incentives to stay.

    Advice to Management

    The culture had changed dramatically and not in a good way. You need to get back to listening to staff.

    Allied Irish Banks2019-10-03
  10. "Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allied Irish Banks full-time

    Pros

    Lovely team, passionate and creative. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to jump up in salary due to the banks overall career structure

    Allied Irish Banks2019-09-15
Found 379 reviews